wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

6 Pages<1234>»
July deadline for ban on cash for bus fare
#21 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 5:30:41 PM

So now the gov't can tell you what mode of payment you must use?

This is a tax and spend gov't. they will tax anything that is walking if they have to, to get those raptops.

Can't even come up with an idea of what happens to the people who don't like phones or even use them.

Honestly this is worse than the imagination can reach.

It's ok to move a society to move towards a cashless society, but it is criminal to force someone to become digital by a particular date and also force business owners to pay tax to a bank of 1%

This is another of those fake jubilee decrees that are going nowhere very fast.

Hold your guns...look at it keenly, its one way of encouraging ticketing so that some form of tax is collected by the gov. Sincerely the Matatu industry is lucrative and huge enough to be a contributor to the economy..

MPESA is not the only payment platform there are others but Mats prefer it. I think the system used by Tea room matatus is fair enough, well documented may be what remains is to make it electronic. We need more education in this unfortunately the media wont

Even if its supporting the government, not this way. Hii nimekataa. Let Uhuru concentrate on sealing the holes that drain the public coffers before he add more tax burden on me meager earnings.

- They are saying that this electronic fare system will reduce police bribery, yes roadside bribes but not corruption in the traffic department. Not at all.
- Ati KRA will collect more taxes, yes they will, but at the expense of the Kibera/Korogocho commuter. What is this KRA doing with what they are already collecting. 100s of billions are stolen by U#πR√£o and their buddies annually.

- Ati it will attract more investors by reducing theft by employees, again true, but the small time operators will be kicked out of the business by the big boys (most probably a Chinese bus company) due to this choking unfair taxes and levies.

#22 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 5:38:29 PM

How do those nice red buses going to Rongai operate?
#23 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 5:49:15 PM

When does one pay his/ her fare using this system? How is the payment verified and who verifies the payment?

Is it true that such a system is incorruptible? I can imagine a situation where passengers can be charged at a discount for under the radar deals.

The government has really to change its perception and role if it's to have any revenues in a digital world. And the idea that digital transactions can reduce corruption is also not true.

Maybe the question to ask is why is it that the more things change the more they remain the same?
#24 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 6:00:29 PM

the lies this njumbiree gov't will tell.

somewhere in the usa is a town more ndigital than kenya. but the bus fare is paid by cash. In fact if you don't have exact change, the bus driver would tell us not to board his bus.

the same goes for using the train.
#25 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 6:11:39 PM

somewhere in the usa is a town more ndigital than kenya. but the bus fare is paid by cash. In fact if you don't have exact change, the bus driver would tell us not to board his bus.

Wacha kudanganya watu...in the US you go to the "BRT" office or "stage" get a route ticket that will last upto midnight of that day. No cash transactions take place in mbuses or trains thats why I think we dont have enough or the right information on what is in plan here
Ole Lenku
#26 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 6:16:00 PM

Wacha kudanganya watu...in the US you go to the "BRT" office or "stage" get a route ticket that will last upto midnight of that day. No cash transactions take place in mbuses or trains thats why I think we dont have enough or the right information on what is in plan here

Can the ticket be bought using cash at the BRT office or stage?
#27 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 6:19:27 PM

murchr ulikuwa wapi america? you know the place is big.

Ati route ticket. That's in Greyhound.

My gishagi, unapanda basi, there's a ka machine you drop your money in. And its otongolos only. No beba pay, no mpesa, just tongolo.

Even greyhound allows you to pay cash.

But because njumbiree is made up of TAXATION Hogs WILL LIE even on the internet, here's a bit to help you out.

Cashless society only exists in terminator movies. and the minds of njumbiree
#28 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 6:20:43 PM

Ole Lenku wrote:

Yes they even have coin boxes which dispense tickets just incase you are in a hurry, those who get in are those with no change. Just like the train system they have now
#29 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 6:24:17 PM

murchr ulikuwa wapi america? you know the place is big.

Ati route ticket. That's in Greyhound.

My gishagi, unapanda basi, there's a ka machine you drop your money in. And its otongolos only. No beba pay, no mpesa, just tongolo.

Even greyhound allows you to pay cash.

But because njumbiree is made up of TAXATION Hogs WILL LIE even on the internet, here's a bit to help you out.

Cashless society only exists in terminator movies. and the minds of njumbiree

Si ati nilikuwa wapi...i use them during my wkds
#30 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 6:27:04 PM

which part of the pictures above murchr, don't you understand. The rectangle thing with a 1 printed on it is CASH.

We are trying to copy ideas that don't even exist. Even the google card being touted by the gov't is a beta test that has not passed google engineers yet.

Cashless matatus my foot. Ati digital. Hii ni Taxation. Let's just accept and move on.
#31 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 6:32:49 PM

which part of the pictures above murchr, don't you understand. The rectangle thing with a 1 printed on it is CASH.

We are trying to copy ideas that don't even exist. Even the google card being touted by the gov't is a beta test that has not passed google engineers yet.

Cashless matatus my foot. Ati digital. Hii ni Taxation. Let's just accept and move on.

U are showing pictures of the 90s these days there are apps that can be downloaded from App store or google play for ticketing eg https://play.google.com/...dk.unwire.projects.dart

Very few of those buses remain these days mainly because many people park and ride so where you park ...you buy your ticket and go to work using train or bus.
#32 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 6:42:30 PM

U are showing pictures of the 90s these days there are apps that can be downloaded from App store or google play for ticketing eg https://play.google.com/...dk.unwire.projects.dart

Very few of those buses remain these days mainly because many people park and ride so where you park ...you buy your ticket and go to work using train or bus.

Wah wah. murchr, please quit while behind.

Understand the American mentality first about the use of cash, before you even start thinking that the gov't can force citizens to use cash or not for anything.

You guys are so drunk with the word digital you have refused to think. Even with evidence you have to use the words like apps. I don't even know what that means.

Even when I tell you that I use the kadollar and 75cts tongolos in my gishagi, you still want to say that I'm downloading an app.

Let me give you some advice to give your people.

Whoever came up with the idea of forcing people to use any mode of payment for anything should be fired. It is illegal and against the constitution.

And as long as Kenyans earn less than 30k a month, it will never work. Ati unapanda boda boda na mpesa. Hiyo sahau. Not on July 2014. Another Bitange Ndemo flop.
#33 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 6:53:13 PM

Wah wah. murchr, please quit while behind.

Understand the American mentality first about the use of cash, before you even start thinking that the gov't can force citizens to use cash or not for anything.

You guys are so drunk with the word digital you have refused to think. Even with evidence you have to use the words like apps. I don't even know what that means.

Even when I tell you that I use the kadollar and 75cts tongolos in my gishagi, you still want to say that I'm downloading an app.

Let me give you some advice to give your people.

Whoever came up with the idea of forcing people to use any mode of payment for anything should be fired. It is illegal and against the constitution.

And as long as Kenyans earn less than 30k a month, it will never work. Ati unapanda boda boda na mpesa. Hiyo sahau. Not on July 2014. Another Bitange Ndemo flop.

The problem with you is you try to argue even where there are no arguments, you brought up the US issue i put it forward to you if there's any country that doesn't care for cash its the US. Heard of Bitcoins? Its almost a tradition here to have a plastic card credit/debit more so credit. Apps are the in thing now there's an app for almost anything even for depositing checks so please forget that cash story in the US. Infact if you walk with cash in a shop the attendant will give it 4 r 5 looks before he accepts it. Give us another one.

My view remains, this could be a ticketing ploy the media is not giving us the full story I dont think the Mat industry would comply just like that
Ole Lenku
#34 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 6:54:32 PM

Ole Lenku wrote:

Yes they even have coin boxes which dispense tickets just incase you are in a hurry, those who get in are those with no change. Just like the train system they have now

So in the states coins and coin boxes are used but sisi hapa Kenya are too digital for coins and notes?
#35 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 7:04:48 PM

Ole Lenku wrote:

So in the states coins and coin boxes are used but sisi hapa Kenya are too digital for coins and notes?

They even believe bitcoins has something to do with cashless society.

The problem with Kenya is too much theory especially from the people claiming to be digital.

Cash is widely used in the developed countries. No gov't other than a njumbiree gov't can ever issue a decree that its citizens cannot use cash.

That is tantamount to saying that your cash currency is useless.

No country can give undue business advantage to one company over another. So all matatus must now pay for the pleasure of banking at Equetee even if they hate equetee or even suspect equietee of going under. Do we now shut down airtel money since mpesa is king?

No gov't can allow its citizens to be used as a testing ground for the benefit of a multinational called google. Google doesn't even talk about this product just incase it flops. But some gov't fellows have decided to make it law.

And lastly you can't force me to pay for my debt in a particular way. That is a no no. What if the matatu owner is happy with a goat, will gov't say no way?

Ndigital doesn't mean wisdom, of this the njumbiree gov't has proof.
#36 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 7:30:14 PM

You know this reminds me of the parking fee and Kidero, I can't fid the thread. Increasing parking or introducing technology without thinking about proper public transport is just but gibberish.

If you increase parking, the mat will pass the cost to the public. You're only increasing the money for your Council revenue. There is need for proper Garment transport like Nyayo bus. Nyayo bus were not competing. Govt should think about this. We need govt transport.

Same for this digital ultimatum. Even in developed countries, they introduce digital, but you keep cash system to run in parallel. What will you do when the digital system fails? People will not travel? What about the old mama who forgot to renew or topup her card, at that juncture will you deny her to travel, what if it's at risky place?
#37 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 7:37:26 PM

Parking fees will rise to 300/- keep watching. If 300/- is too much then you ought to use the Public transport. Many here and that inludes @alma were of the opinion that no one will use the rail, only to see a few months later people saying that the parking lot is not enough mtazoea tu, change is the only constant in this world and yes it always comes with resistance.

Alma wacha nikusaidie kidogo hii hapa ndio explanation ya bitcoin http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bitcoin

Na b4 i forget that paper book you call a driving license will also be a thing of the past...drivers will get a digital card that stores your data (including offenses) once swiped smile. Dont throw stones at me, we live in the digital age
#38 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 8:02:31 PM

Parking fees will rise to 300/- keep watching. If 300/- is too much then you ought to use the Public transport. Many here and that inludes @alma were of the opinion that no one will use the rail, only to see a few months later people saying that the parking lot is not enough mtazoea tu, change is the only constant in this world and yes it always comes with resistance.

Alma wacha nikusaidie kidogo hii hapa ndio explanation ya bitcoin http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bitcoin

Na b4 i forget that paper book you call a driving license will also be a thing of the past...drivers will get a digital card that stores your data (including offenses) once swiped smile. Dont throw stones at me, we live in the digital age

murchr, what's happening this year. uwongo umeanza mapema sana.

Bitcoin is not a gov't issued currency. It's like egold etc. I don't understand where it comes into this conversation. It was started by people who hate gov't currency.Nothing to do with gov't forcing people to use digital when there's nothing wrong with cash.

As for digital cards, please, these things have been around for ages. Just because kenya is behind doesn't mean they haven't been there.

All I want to ask you is the following:

1. If in a country where digital Id's is common place, why aren't they coming up with laws to ban cash?

2. Kweli how sharp are njumbiree economists that they have decided that if we withdraw cash ONLY from matatus, kenya will have 20% growth?

3. Why is this gov't forcing people like me who don't like safaricom, equity and most especially google to use their company currencies to transact my private business?

4. Why not ban cash all together if its going to save on transaction costs and stop people from stealing in business?

The more you talk murchr, the more I realise that you think bitcoin is digital and in america, coins were thrown in the toilet. How wrong you are.

This is not change, this is taxation and corruption mambo leo.
#39 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 8:12:14 PM

murchr, what's happening this year. uwongo umeanza mapema sana.

Bitcoin is not a gov't issued currency. It's like egold etc. I don't understand where it comes into this conversation. It was started by people who hate gov't currency.Nothing to do with gov't forcing people to use digital when there's nothing wrong with cash.

As for digital cards, please, these things have been around for ages. Just because kenya is behind doesn't mean they haven't been there.

All I want to ask you is the following:

1. If in a country where digital Id's is common place, why aren't they coming up with laws to ban cash?

2. Kweli how sharp are njumbiree economists that they have decided that if we withdraw cash ONLY from matatus, kenya will have 20% growth?

3. Why is this gov't forcing people like me who don't like safaricom, equity and most especially google to use their company currencies to transact my private business?

4. Why not ban cash all together if its going to save on transaction costs and stop people from stealing in business?

The more you talk murchr, the more I realise that you think bitcoin is digital and in america, coins were thrown in the toilet. How wrong you are.

This is not change, this is taxation and corruption mambo leo.

Bitcoin is not a govt issued currency yes but so is Mpesa beba pay, banglapesa.. etc etc right??? smile

What is wrong with withdrawing cash transactions in Matatus?? What is the value of cash transactions in a mat? Explain maybe i shall understand.

If yu dont like and use safcom who says that u have to use it read the article again.

Hio comment ya mwisho, wikipedia itasaidia tu.

Any mat owner will tell you they know that their touts and drivers steal from them...so believe me they will work hand in hand with GOK to make this possible.
#40 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 8:20:39 PM

murchr lets tell Kenyans the truth shall we.

There are only 3 ways that the matatu guys know about

1. bebapay
2. lipa na mpesa

Do you have another way? Please advice on this thread. Even I would like to know

This is like the gov't coming up with a law that says, ALL kenyans must use Mash Poa, because they have never had an accident.

Sure its a good way to help matatu owners, but don't you think that they should concentrate on hiring honest employees? Who told them that now they will not be stolen from.

It like now saying that you won't die from a bus accident since you pay with Bebapay or only travel during the night.

I know i've confused you. But honestly, you can't force me to use a private companies mode of payments. It's illegal and this law will go nowhere.

The way to make people use digital is to ensure that there are policies that support that. Not telling people that Jesus is coming on 24th July so you must all throw away your tungotores and use bebapay. That is silly to be honest.