#161 Posted : Sunday, December 08, 2013 6:54:53 PM

ati kenya @50 Laughing out loudly waaa
#162 Posted : Sunday, December 08, 2013 7:17:48 PM

Alba wrote:
Alba wrote:
And how much are the coaching staff and players being paid again ?

usilete siasa ya football hapa!!

Wacha upuuzi. How is that siasa ya football ?

wewe haujui watu wa rugby ni college graduates wote, hapa we talk roi, presenting budget estimates and future projections on the team to sponsors - and that needs a 'ka westernized' technical bench to sell. smile
#163 Posted : Sunday, December 08, 2013 7:50:44 PM

even France does better!!
#164 Posted : Sunday, December 08, 2013 8:37:47 PM

hiyo score against fiji is 'unpostable'....
Alba
#165 Posted : Sunday, December 08, 2013 9:57:48 PM

Alba wrote:
Alba wrote:

wewe haujui watu wa rugby ni college graduates wote, hapa we talk roi, presenting budget estimates and future projections on the team to sponsors - and that needs a 'ka westernized' technical bench to sell. smile

Speaking of ROI, Kenya Airways are not gonna keep sponsoring this team if Kenyans start to see them as also runs. Because at that point, KQ will not be getting any ROI.

Treu and his staff are being paid much better than Mike Friday and his staff. Therefore the performance of the team should be markedly better. If not, KQ will be justified in pulling their sponsorship.
#166 Posted : Sunday, December 08, 2013 10:31:42 PM

Alba wrote:
Alba wrote:
Alba wrote:

Speaking of ROI, Kenya Airways are not gonna keep sponsoring this team if Kenyans start to see them as also runs. Because at that point, KQ will not be getting any ROI.

Treu and his staff are being paid much better than Mike Friday and his staff. Therefore the performance of the team should be markedly better. If not, KQ will be justified in pulling their sponsorship.

lets throw some money at a problem and hope it goes away!! coaches are not miracle workers. if a player fails to tackle the problem is with the player!!
Alba
#167 Posted : Monday, December 09, 2013 6:43:18 AM

Alba wrote:
Alba wrote:
Alba wrote:

lets throw some money at a problem and hope it goes away!! coaches are not miracle workers. if a player fails to tackle the problem is with the player!!

So back in 2009 Kenya was getting good results against NZ, SA and Fiji and now four years later they need miracles to do basic things like tackle ? Really ?

And if the problem is with the player, dont you think its incumbent on the coach to remedy the problem ? If Benja could get players to commit to better tackling in 2009 then why are you making excuses for Treu ?

If it really requires a miracle to get Kenya players to tackle then should they should not be paid professional salaries. Better to spend that money on youth development. Why pay players professional salaries if they cant do the basics ?

You also made a comment about Horace Otieno's weight. Why cant the coaching staff address that if it is really a problem.

Clearly not all Kenya's problems are due to basic tackling. It not as simple as you claim. I see some schoolboy errors as well as poor defensive formations. When a coach is being paid good money, he must be accountable.

#168 Posted : Monday, December 09, 2013 9:56:24 AM

Some people cheer rugby thinking any Kenyan can play rugby, Paul Treu does not have the luxury of fielding upto 4 of our best players, namely; Humphrey Khayange, Oscar Ouma, Willy Ambaka,Sidney Ashioya.

Khayange is our best ever sevens player, Ambaka was in world best last year, Oscar is the most consisten player currently and Ashioya is a world class game breaker. Introduce any 2 of these players into the team and the results will be different.

It will take time to replace this guys, so for me getting to the quarter finals is good enough for now.

Also bear in mind that Fiji thrashed NZ 44-0 in Dubai, so we are not in unchrted waters.

theman192000
#169 Posted : Monday, December 09, 2013 2:39:54 PM

Paul Treu is the David Moyes of rugby.

Previous Kenyan 7s teams with the likes of Injera, Khayange, Ambaka, etc were good because the players had individual brilliance which came together on the pitch.

Like Moyes, these guys have aged or left and therefore Treu will need to either skill up and tighten what he has or go down one layer to club and school level and identify raw talent and mold it to his liking.

KRFU should take a long term view and create development sides at club levels like all the major football clubs in European to identify and nurture talent if we are to be successful at 7s rugby as we are at athletics.
#170 Posted : Monday, December 09, 2013 4:23:44 PM

Thus far I can't fault Treu!
#171 Posted : Wednesday, January 01, 2014 4:13:36 PM

Kenya Sevens Rugby addicts will be glad to hear that Humprey Kayange, Denis Ombachi and Oscar Ouma have made a return to the team and will be in Las Vegas later this month. That is very very good news, and now we can look forward to a good run, especially now that the draw is such that we cannot meet New Zealand before the Semi Final!!!
#172 Posted : Wednesday, January 01, 2014 4:44:28 PM

@Mc Reggae.....Same time last year Kayange, Asego, Injera, Adongo, Oscar Ouma and Horace Otieno were recalled to the squad for the Las Vegas leg......i'm beginning to feel as if it has more to do with location than anything else. The big shots need to be committed to the team si mambo ya kukuja na kwenda whenever they feel like.
#173 Posted : Wednesday, January 01, 2014 5:09:47 PM

@Mc Reggae.....Same time last year Kayange, Asego, Injera, Adongo, Oscar Ouma and Horace Otieno were recalled to the squad for the Las Vegas leg......i'm beginning to feel as if it has more to do with location than anything else. The big shots need to be committed to the team si mambo ya kukuja na kwenda whenever they feel like.

These young men are semi-pro and have to mix rugby with studies, you don't want them ending up like Motegosmile smile
Baraza
#174 Posted : Wednesday, January 01, 2014 8:52:33 PM

"Not this weekend and not the next, not this season either: Patience." Paul Treu
#175 Posted : Thursday, January 02, 2014 12:33:12 AM

we need at least 2 ball carriers (Oscar Ouma and maybe Tall if he is available). We seriously need a good good play maker - Biko is not cutting it. finally everyone needs to know how to ensure that the call 'one man - one tackle' is not a cliche, go low and take off your mark. if ubodi worked in the league or 7s circuit... it will not work huko!
#176 Posted : Thursday, January 09, 2014 9:38:54 AM

I don't think so, many at times the coaches think the can hack it with the young blood only to realize as the season progresses that the old dawgs are still required!
Kibunda
#177 Posted : Monday, January 13, 2014 8:13:03 AM

Did anyone catch the 7s Premier league this weekend? Did Ombachi The Ghostworker get a chance to make a come-back?
Proprietor, Ngamia Holdings Limited
#178 Posted : Monday, January 13, 2014 8:34:41 AM

Kibunda wrote:
Did anyone catch the 7s Premier league this weekend? Did Ombachi The Ghostworker get a chance to make a come-back?

What were you in your former life? Newbies don't know shit about IRB 7s
#179 Posted : Monday, January 13, 2014 8:51:58 AM

Kibunda wrote:

Kibunda
#180 Posted : Monday, January 13, 2014 12:06:13 PM

Kibunda wrote:

Proprietor, Ngamia Holdings Limited