wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

Tragedy of Kenyan stars: Henry Motego
#1 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 1:11:25 PM

I'm so sad to see in today's Daily Nation that Henry Motego at his age and all the trophies is a casual laborer at construction sites. For those of you my age ore thereabout, you knew this man to be a great footballer.
What's with us Kenyans and disrespecting our heros. I'm sad.

#2 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 1:17:36 PM

I'm so sad to see in today's Daily Nation that Henry Motego at his age and all the trophies is a casual laborer at construction sites. For those of you my age ore thereabout, you knew this man to be a great footballer.

Thats life. Immense talent comes with a flip side, a tragedy of some sort or misery and destitution after the crowd is done being entertained by you. Its a great irony.
Few talented individuals are able to have a comfortable retired life after raking millions and living on the fast lane.
Examples abound ...Tyson, Holyfield ..
segemia
#3 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 1:28:15 PM

quicksand wrote:

Thats life. Immense talent comes with a flip side, a tragedy of some sort or misery and destitution after the crowd is done being entertained by you. Its a great irony.
Few talented individuals are able to have a comfortable retired life after raking millions and living on the fast lane.

Include MC Hammer,
#4 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 1:31:23 PM

Remember watching him on tv, during a match against algeria
#5 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 1:35:58 PM

segemia wrote:
quicksand wrote:

Include MC Hammer,

But how are others able to make it eg. Muhammed Ali? We can't say he invested better, he's been ill for a long time and still going strong yet he didn't even make a 1/4 of what Tyson and Holyfield made. Or is the US govt. taking care of Ali as a national hero?

#6 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 1:46:12 PM

There is a HUGE difference here!!!

Henry Motego never made millions. Not even close!!! There was no money in the game then. There is hardly any even now - In the Kenyan context. This guys were hardly making ends meet at the height of their "careers" let alone after! So the issues of investing (wisely or otherwise) or wasting money does not even arise.

People are seriously comparing Henry Motego to Tyson, Holyfield, MC Hammer etc.? Are you guys serious??? Are facts important anymore or some just says what comes to mind???
#7 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 1:46:24 PM

I saw Peter Dawo on Ketwende foo jana and almost cried, I actually cried by the way.
The guy lives in a single mabati house in Kisumu slum and is a single parent of two.
He looks so low just like Osuofia when acting a poor man in Nigeria movies.
He coaches some low key village football team in Kisumu and cant even afford 30 bob for matatu so uses bodaboda and pays 10 bob.
This is the guy who score 99% of all his goal by the header and ensured Gor winning the 1987 Mandela cup!

#8 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 1:56:12 PM

segemia wrote:
quicksand wrote:

Include MC Hammer,

But how are others able to make it eg. Muhammed Ali? We can't say he invested better, he's been ill for a long time and still going strong yet he didn't even make a 1/4 of what Tyson and Holyfield made. Or is the US govt. taking care of Ali as a national hero?

There are some who have a wise head on their shoulders. ..they know talent fades so they save, invest, avoid the fast lane...some have spouses and advisors who ground them.
Ali is not living on the lap of luxury. But in places like the US its possible to have a decent retired life with just either little effort or charity, esp if you were an icon. Also, professional sports associations pay a stipend (like a royalty) to retired stars. O.J Simpson gets paid one such, actually his daughter (is 25K USD per month or something like that. .not bad huh) and that money is causing friction in his family as she doesnt help the othe members. Its quite possible a similar arangement is in place for Ali as well.
http://www.dailymail.co....on-fall-foreclosure.html
#9 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 2:04:58 PM

quicksand wrote:
segemia wrote:
quicksand wrote:
[quote=2012]I'm so sad to see in today's Daily Nation that Henry Motego at his age and all the trophies is a casual laborer at construction sites. For those of you my age ore thereabout, you knew this man to be a great footballer.

Include MC Hammer,

There are some who have a wise head on their shoulders. ..they know talent fades so they save, invest, avoid the fast lane...some have spouses and advisors who ground them.
Ali is not living on the lap of luxury. But in places like the US its possible to have a decent retired life with just either little effort or charity, esp if you were an icon. Also, professional sports associations pay a stipend (like a royalty) to retired stars. O.J Simpson gets paid one such, actually his daughter (is 25K USD per month or something like that. .not bad huh) and that money is causing friction in his family as she doesnt help the othe members. Its quite possible a similar arangement is in place for Ali as well.
http://www.dailymail.co....n-fall-foreclosure.html[/quote]

I was going to say that that is the only way out for most. Force the teams and associations they were playing for do something like that.

It's also not fair to judge akina Motego with Tyson. Motego had nothing to squander. He played for Kenya without getting a cent. So Kenyans owe him

Make every ticket have a percentage going towards the upkeep of former players alive or dead. Every team paying a percentage of their gate collections towards players on retirement etc. Just like NSSF.

mdudu
#10 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 2:10:54 PM

quicksand wrote:
segemia wrote:
quicksand wrote:
[quote=2012]I'm so sad to see in today's Daily Nation that Henry Motego at his age and all the trophies is a casual laborer at construction sites. For those of you my age ore thereabout, you knew this man to be a great footballer.

Include MC Hammer,

http://www.dailymail.co....n-fall-foreclosure.html[/quote]

I was going to say that that is the only way out for most. Force the teams and associations they were playing for do something like that.

It's also not fair to judge akina Motego with Tyson. Motego had nothing to squander. He played for Kenya without getting a cent. So Kenyans owe him

Make every ticket have a percentage going towards the upkeep of former players alive or dead. Every team paying a percentage of their gate collections towards players on retirement etc. Just like NSSF.

Recently read an article by Roy Gachuhi on the immediate aftermath of Gor winning the Mandela Cup.If it was not so sad it would have made a very funny story.
http://mobile.nation.co..../-/dx9dciz/-/index.html
#11 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 2:20:29 PM

quicksand wrote:
segemia wrote:
quicksand wrote:

Include MC Hammer,

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2125194/O-J-Simpson-furious-daughter-squandering-pension-sits-jail-letting-mansion-fall-foreclosure.html

Racist media!!!
But documents revealed it hasn't been paid since 2010 - despite the fact the acquitted murderer trusted Arnelle to look after his interests and assets after he was jailed for 33 years on kidnapping, armed robbery and assault offenses in 2008.

Acquitted murderer??? I read/watch western media and they are very careful with labeling people. It's only that O.J. is BLACK. That is why they can call him a murderer even after he was acquitted. They know he can't sue because no court would rule in his favour. Call any other person [preferably white] by a label of something he was acquitted of and be ready to pay a couple of millions!!!

NB: It's not about whether you believe he did it or not, it's what the court ruled [in the criminal case].
#12 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 2:37:24 PM

I love this!

The unsuspecting officials of our good neighbours were ushered in the President’s office where they found him seated in the company of the Army commander, the Air Force Commander and the Police chief, all in full military uniform and wearing looks that could bring down a brick wall. The President calmly told the shaken officials that he had decided to accept their resignations and all they needed to do was to sign their already drafted letters on the dotted line.

None hesitated for half a second. That was the beginning of the clean-up of the game in that country. The government had not interfered with the running of the game seeing as it was that the officials had resigned ‘on their own free will.’ It is possible for a government with will to effect the changes it desires in football and still avoid a confrontation with Fifa.

http://mobile.nation.co.ke/sports/Kenyan-football-still-dealing-with-an-old-curse/-/1951244/2120628/-/format/xhtml/-/dx9dciz/-/index.html
#13 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 3:10:56 PM

I saw Peter Dawo on Ketwende foo jana and almost cried, I actually cried by the way.
The guy lives in a single mabati house in Kisumu slum and is a single parent of two.
He coaches some low key village football team in Kisumu and cant even afford 30 bob for matatu so uses bodaboda and pays 10 bob.
This is the guy who score 99% of all his goal by the header and ensured Gor winning the 1987 Mandela cup!

Dawo is the chair of the Muthaura jua Kali artisans on jogoo rd next to Gikomba. I know KURA is negotiating with him to move those guys so that they can implement the Eastern ring roads...
#14 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 3:12:28 PM

Dawo is the chair of the Muthaura jua Kali artisans on jogoo rd next to Gikomba. I know KURA is negotiating with him to move those guys so that they can implement the Eastern ring roads...

Thsts your own @Dawo, the one talked about here is in Kisumu.

#15 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 3:25:57 PM

It is not true that Julius "Awilo" Owino Collects used water bottles for recycling. Those are Pure lies. What is soo hard in media people researching and Investigating a story Proper before they publish. The other day I read In the nation that George "Jojo" Waweru, former Tusker and Harambee stars centre back is seriously into liqueur cheaper than Changaa. Lies again!! Very sad..
#16 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 3:39:53 PM

Am wrote:

It is not true that Julius "Awilo" Owino Collects used water bottles for recycling. Those are Pure lies. What is soo hard in media people researching and Investigating a story Proper before they publish. The other day I read In the nation that George "Jojo" Waweru, former Tusker and Harambee stars centre back is seriously into liqueur cheaper than Changaa. Lies again!! Very sad..

Am, blame the messenger?

What is the true story please.

All I know from the bottom of my heart and soul is Kenyan football will never go anywhere in my lifetime.

When foolish people are elected by equally foolish fans who go around stoning people, there is no hope whatsoever.

I feel very bad because I know I was brought up in a generation of the best footballers in Africa. Yet, we treated them as rubbish.

Then we want to blame Moi for all our problems.

FKF or whatever its called now will never go anywhere.

I mean today there's another story

http://www.nation.co.ke/...88/-/9lci3/-/index.html

If I was a Kenyan footballer, I'd go play in another country and never play for the national team.

Did you know there's a Kenyan footballer in the MLS team that won the MLS cup? Lucky bastard coz he's never been called upon to serve his "sovereign" country.
#17 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 3:46:37 PM

Am wrote:

Am, blame the messenger?

What is the true story please.

All I know from the bottom of my heart and soul is Kenyan football will never go anywhere in my lifetime.

When foolish people are elected by equally foolish fans who go around stoning people, there is no hope whatsoever.

I feel very bad because I know I was brought up in a generation of the best footballers in Africa. Yet, we treated them as rubbish.

Then we want to blame Moi for all our problems.

FKF or whatever its called now will never go anywhere.

I mean today there's another story

http://www.nation.co.ke/...88/-/9lci3/-/index.html

If I was a Kenyan footballer, I'd go play in another country and never play for the national team.

Did you know there's a Kenyan footballer in the MLS team that won the MLS cup? Lucky bastard coz he's never been called upon to serve his "sovereign" country.

FIFA itself cannot go blameless in the circus that Kenya football finds itself in. It prevents the Government from running any intervention, yet it does nothing to keep FK in proper order.
#18 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 3:48:42 PM

Am wrote:

Boss, you strongly say 'lies, lies', yet you don't state your facts. So, what does Jojo and Awilo do nowadays?

#19 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 3:58:56 PM

Am wrote:

Boss, you strongly say 'lies, lies', yet you don't state your facts. So, what does Jojo and Awilo do nowadays?

Sorry, the Story about the two Pissed me off. But Still, I wont dwell on the two Individuals who yes, are not doing too well Wanyama way - but don't do what the story said they do. I do not have to expose them here. George waweru is not into cheap liquor and Julius Owino doesn't collect used bottles from the streets for recycling. They are working hard each and every day to make their lives better, like you and I.
#20 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 4:01:44 PM

Am wrote:
Am wrote:

Sorry, the Story about the two Pissed me off. But Still, I wont dwell on the two Individuals who yes, are not doing too well Wanyama way - but don't do what the story said they do. I do not have to expose them here. George waweru is not into cheap liquor and Julius Owino doesn't collect used bottles from the streets for recycling. They are working hard each and every day to make their lives better, like you and I.

Whats wrong with collecting used bottles and selling to make money? I do that everyday yet I'm in middle class.

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you