Tanzanians really like football --Why dont Kenyans
Alba
#1 Posted : Sunday, December 22, 2013 5:30:36 PM

These are images of a pre-season friendly between Yanga & Simba.. Yaani in kenya even Harambee stars cannot draw such crowds even when they play a big team in a crucial game.

#2 Posted : Sunday, December 22, 2013 6:25:26 PM

We love drinking...but the marketing is also poorly done...security huko stadi ni shida like I personally vowed never to go watch any gor or AFC game am sure many mo have taken the same stand...a myriad of issues are behind the lack of spectators...
Alba
#3 Posted : Monday, December 23, 2013 6:01:36 PM

We love drinking...but the marketing is also poorly done...security huko stadi ni shida like I personally vowed never to go watch any gor or AFC game am sure many mo have taken the same stand...a myriad of issues are behind the lack of spectators...

Some of that is true. But culture is the primary reason Tanzanians can fill stadia even for friendlies whereas a crucial Harambee stars game struggles to fill Nyayo. With or without marketing, football is very important in Bongo Land. No wonder East Africa Breweries, a Kenyan company, spends a lot more money sponsoring football in Tanzania than they do in Kenya.

In Kenya, there are many parts of the country where football is not even on the radar. I was watching a youtube video of some former Harambee stars players trying to introduce football to Maasai youth. The adults stood by asking "Why are these kids making themselves dirty to kick a piece of leather ?".

And yes Musonye was right when he said Nairobians would rather just drink.
#4 Posted : Monday, December 23, 2013 6:33:10 PM

Maybe entry was free.........
#5 Posted : Monday, December 23, 2013 6:50:56 PM

kenyan's are no good at football!!
#6 Posted : Monday, December 23, 2013 6:53:34 PM

si huyu ni yule coach wa gor wa zamani
#7 Posted : Monday, December 23, 2013 7:06:59 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:

I doubt wanapenda team zao sana....
wazuaguest
#8 Posted : Monday, December 23, 2013 7:13:22 PM

si huyu ni yule coach wa gor wa zamani

yes.Logarusic moved to Simba
Africa belongs to Africans.
#9 Posted : Monday, December 23, 2013 8:37:45 PM

Who can dare go watch a match especially when gormawe is playing against your team? This people have done a really good job of destroying the game the same way they have destroyed everything they touch.Sad Sad
Alba
#10 Posted : Monday, December 23, 2013 9:16:54 PM

kenyan's are no good at football!!

They are better than Tanzanians
#11 Posted : Monday, December 23, 2013 9:21:50 PM

An opinion as to why.
Alba
#12 Posted : Monday, December 23, 2013 9:23:52 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:

Simba-Yanga matches typically net around Tsh 420 million which is about Ksh 24 million.

A few years back , Tusker and Sofapaka met in a top of the table clash and 72 fans showed up at Nyayo stadium.

72 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
urstill1
#13 Posted : Monday, December 23, 2013 10:06:14 PM

Alba wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:

Simba-Yanga matches typically net around Tsh 420 million which is about Ksh 24 million.

A few years back , Tusker and Sofapaka met in a top of the table clash and 72 fans showed up at Nyayo stadium.

72 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I maade google my friend and confirmed that here. Come to think of it, VIP tickets went for less than Ksh. 120. Here in Kenya the terraces go for 100 bob for Gor or AFC games. Yet when Nyayo is full, they report Ksh. 4m or less for gate collections.
kiash
#14 Posted : Monday, December 23, 2013 10:26:10 PM

I think its like it has been said before .Kenyans do not like their own , its like the show off thing. Check even on churchill show kila mtu Arsenal and Man Uni as if they owned shares of the club.You go drown few pints of beer cheering a foreign squad. I do not say people should not watch EPL but actually at least a little support to hpme guys.

2. Gor/ Afc hooligans have made it that Kenyans would rather stick at home and watch the matches if they do @ home

3. Mismanagement: Until when they move this gooogle wearing chairman who has mismanaged KFF for years, we shall never see a full stadium.At the same time, those askalis we saw receiving money from guys so that they can get in we have a long way to go.
Alba
#15 Posted : Monday, December 23, 2013 10:37:33 PM

Hooligansm does not explain the poor attendance at Harambee stars matches. So often they play to empty stadia.

One thing they should do is host Harambee stars matches outside Nairobi, especially in Machakos and Afraha.
#16 Posted : Monday, December 23, 2013 11:00:14 PM

for football to be popular in kenya we need teams like kikuyu united, kalenjin all stars, luo united, abaluhya ballers, kisii fc, somali blasters, pokot shooters, maasai jumpers.
all this coupled with team manager/owners like raia, samei, ntimam, nyats ...

then we would see some real passion in the game, sold out stadia and a general improvement in the game.

Lakini as long as we have teams named - ulinzi, tusker, kra, bunge fc, oserian, sony sugar, chemelil sugar, nzoia sugar, mumias sugar (afc), bandari, congo, kenya commercial bank, home boyz ...
those name do not inspire much zest.
#17 Posted : Monday, December 23, 2013 11:09:52 PM

for football to be popular in kenya we need teams like kikuyu united, kalenjin all stars, luo united, abaluhya ballers, kisii fc, somali blasters, pokot shooters, maasai jumpers.

then we would see some real passion in the game, sold out stadia and a general improvement in the game.

Lakini as long as we have teams named - ulinzi, tusker, kra, bunge fc, oserian, sony sugar, chemelil sugar, nzoia sugar, mumias sugar (afc), bandari, congo, kenya commercial bank, home boyz ...

Similar sentimemts. Ethnic blocks would outdo each other at the gates.
Alba
#18 Posted : Tuesday, December 24, 2013 12:10:11 AM

Kenya just needs a team in every county. Even a match between Bungoma county vs Kakamega county will engender fierce rivalry based on what I saw in the past.

Good to see Sofapaka moving their home base to Machakos and Meru respectively. Now Tusker should heed Nyamweya and change their name to Meru Bombers.smile smile Sofapaka should become Machawood FC.
#19 Posted : Tuesday, December 24, 2013 1:00:27 PM

TZ really have passion for football....

Alba
#20 Posted : Friday, January 03, 2014 4:22:30 AM

This is the team bus of AZAM football club of Dar es salaam