wazua Fri, May 17, 2024
Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

What kind of employee are you?
#1 Posted : Monday, December 02, 2013 9:53:15 AM

I have studied the job market for a while now mostly in Kenya but not limited to Kenya. I've mainly concentrated this study on the high intensity field of communication & marketing but I've looked at other industries too.

Disclaimer: I'm not a professional researcher or psychologist but a businessman with an opinion and one looking to make better informed recruitments after being disappointed by rosy CVs that end up in disappointing employees.

So I found there are mainly 4 categories of employees in any organization:

Politician: These are the people who the employer wishes could go away but they never do. They never get any job done on time and frustrate the processes put in place. They do a lot of talking and their way is the best by them. Most of them have been on the job for long and are expensive to get rid of. Most employers also fear the legal litigation implications of firing them so the wait for them to retire or frustrate them to resign which will never happen as the employee knows he/she is not marketable. The good thing is that you can ignore them since no one takes them seriously.

People pleaser: These are indecisive people who think by pleasing others they gain marks of being good reliable employees. They are underachievers and underperform and eventually end up dropping all the balls. Most of these employees are in the wrong jobs and operate on fear. This is a dangerous employee to have.