civil service retrenchment ?
jaggernaut wrote:In the past 2 weeks, thousands of young people have graduated from the universities. These are lawyers, doctors, vets, engineers, teachers, accountants, etc etc. And now the govt, the biggest employer, has frozen employment, telling them there are no jobs. Did i hear during the campaigns Uhuruto saying that 'Hakuna kazi' signs will be replaced by 'Kuna kazi' once these young people elect the jubilee team? What future do all these young people have under the jubilee govt? Isn't this a return of the dark Nyayo days when retrenchments and hakuna kazi was the norm? It was WSR not UKIf Obiero did it, Who Am I?
jaggernaut wrote:Nandwa wrote: Scaling down of Government wage bill is a welcome move.
This can be achieved through down sizing the pay roll and scaling down on perks.
I support.
Is raising the pay of kanjoras from 79k to 283k pm part of the scaling down and downsizing? Of course not. As we encourage the Government to downsize, we should also point out such ironies to them and demand righting of the wrongs Just as absolute power corrupts leaders, so does absolute fanaticism blind the people from logic
Impunity wrote:Lolest! wrote:choices have consequences. We made this choice in 2010 when we voted in the constitution that @impunity calls activist katiba. We could attempt to change it, if media and civil society will allow us. But still, most structural changes will have to wait for 2018! Lord help us!! I emphatically voted NO for the populist katiba and I'm yet to see any regret,if any! When I see RAO rallying a bunch of nincompoops to vote enmasse for a populist katiba,a document he himself didnt believe in fully;I pitied my fellow countrymen. Those old enough and went past two years of schooling will remember that RAO wanted a parliamentary system of gaament, but he decided to play "smart" by accepting the presidential system so that he could win the masses and be the PORK...ole wake!!! @Magigi ona sasa umefunza watu nini hii? If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
jaggernaut wrote:In the past 2 weeks, thousands of young people have graduated from the universities. These are lawyers, doctors, vets, engineers, teachers, accountants, etc etc. And now the govt, the biggest employer, has frozen employment, telling them there are no jobs. Did i hear during the campaigns Uhuruto saying that 'Hakuna kazi' signs will be replaced by 'Kuna kazi' once these young people elect the jubilee team? What future do all these young people have under the jubilee govt? Isn't this a return of the dark Nyayo days when retrenchments and hakuna kazi was the norm? graduates should not be employed by the government, in fact the retrenchment should target graduates - all that education should prepare one to create something.
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,335 Location: Masada
Swenani wrote:Impunity wrote:Lolest! wrote:choices have consequences. We made this choice in 2010 when we voted in the constitution that @impunity calls activist katiba. We could attempt to change it, if media and civil society will allow us. But still, most structural changes will have to wait for 2018! Lord help us!! I emphatically voted NO for the populist katiba and I'm yet to see any regret,if any! When I see RAO rallying a bunch of nincompoops to vote enmasse for a populist katiba,a document he himself didnt believe in fully;I pitied my fellow countrymen. Those old enough and went past two years of schooling will remember that RAO wanted a parliamentary system of gaament, but he decided to play "smart" by accepting the presidential system so that he could win the masses and be the PORK...ole wake!!! @Magigi ona sasa umefunza watu nini hii? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Notwithstanding how anyone voted, devolution is the BEST thing to have happened to us. People should take responsibility for the Democratic choice on the new Katiba. What i find bizzare in relation to devolution is the 'them' mentality wazuans here peddle. Everyone now talks of Governments whether National or County as 'Them'. We do no see ourselves as Actors, especially in the county Governments. We want them to do great stuff, then we can praise them on social media. We want to criticize/castigate them when they err. Trouble, is we belong to counties. Like them or hate them. And they will gobble 40% of your Gov't Revenue by June!!! So the best you could do is take part in developing the counties. Use your intellect to push them to efficiency and delivery of services...After all it's you and your people who needs those services..
nakujua wrote:jaggernaut wrote:In the past 2 weeks, thousands of young people have graduated from the universities. These are lawyers, doctors, vets, engineers, teachers, accountants, etc etc. And now the govt, the biggest employer, has frozen employment, telling them there are no jobs. Did i hear during the campaigns Uhuruto saying that 'Hakuna kazi' signs will be replaced by 'Kuna kazi' once these young people elect the jubilee team? What future do all these young people have under the jubilee govt? Isn't this a return of the dark Nyayo days when retrenchments and hakuna kazi was the norm? graduates should not be employed by the government, in fact the retrenchment should target graduates - all that education should prepare one to create something.  Graduates of life too. You have received enough salary for capital to do something. Our education system has created fools who all yearn to camp in employment, till they die. Bure kabisa.
Mukiri wrote:nakujua wrote:jaggernaut wrote:In the past 2 weeks, thousands of young people have graduated from the universities. These are lawyers, doctors, vets, engineers, teachers, accountants, etc etc. And now the govt, the biggest employer, has frozen employment, telling them there are no jobs. Did i hear during the campaigns Uhuruto saying that 'Hakuna kazi' signs will be replaced by 'Kuna kazi' once these young people elect the jubilee team? What future do all these young people have under the jubilee govt? Isn't this a return of the dark Nyayo days when retrenchments and hakuna kazi was the norm? graduates should not be employed by the government, in fact the retrenchment should target graduates - all that education should prepare one to create something.  Graduates of life too. You have received enough salary for capital to do something. Our education system has created fools who all yearn to camp in employment, till they die. Bure kabisa. So all the graduate employees in govt from CBK governor Prof Ndungu, to Kimemia, Esipisu etc etc, to the junior officers, the whole lot of them are lost and don't know what they are doing?
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
jaggernaut wrote:Mukiri wrote:nakujua wrote:jaggernaut wrote:In the past 2 weeks, thousands of young people have graduated from the universities. These are lawyers, doctors, vets, engineers, teachers, accountants, etc etc. And now the govt, the biggest employer, has frozen employment, telling them there are no jobs. Did i hear during the campaigns Uhuruto saying that 'Hakuna kazi' signs will be replaced by 'Kuna kazi' once these young people elect the jubilee team? What future do all these young people have under the jubilee govt? Isn't this a return of the dark Nyayo days when retrenchments and hakuna kazi was the norm? graduates should not be employed by the government, in fact the retrenchment should target graduates - all that education should prepare one to create something.  Graduates of life too. You have received enough salary for capital to do something. Our education system has created fools who all yearn to camp in employment, till they die. Bure kabisa. So all the graduate employees in govt from CBK governor Prof Ndungu, to Kimemia, Esipisu etc etc, to the junior officers, the whole lot of them are lost and don't know what they are doing? yaps, especially those junior graduate officers, they should be dismissed and replaced with form four graduates -  I would even dare say that banks and other private employers should stop employing university graduates as clerks and for other rudimentary jobs.
nakujua wrote:jaggernaut wrote:Mukiri wrote:nakujua wrote:jaggernaut wrote:In the past 2 weeks, thousands of young people have graduated from the universities. These are lawyers, doctors, vets, engineers, teachers, accountants, etc etc. And now the govt, the biggest employer, has frozen employment, telling them there are no jobs. Did i hear during the campaigns Uhuruto saying that 'Hakuna kazi' signs will be replaced by 'Kuna kazi' once these young people elect the jubilee team? What future do all these young people have under the jubilee govt? Isn't this a return of the dark Nyayo days when retrenchments and hakuna kazi was the norm? graduates should not be employed by the government, in fact the retrenchment should target graduates - all that education should prepare one to create something.  Graduates of life too. You have received enough salary for capital to do something. Our education system has created fools who all yearn to camp in employment, till they die. Bure kabisa. So all the graduate employees in govt from CBK governor Prof Ndungu, to Kimemia, Esipisu etc etc, to the junior officers, the whole lot of them are lost and don't know what they are doing? yaps, especially those junior graduate officers, they should be dismissed and replaced with form four graduates -  I would even dare say that banks and other private employers should stop employing university graduates as clerks and for other rudimentary jobs. Seconded!! 50 years down the line and we are yet to attain food security, poverty levels are at an all time high, unemployment is becoming an excuse for insecurity et al Why? Skewed mentality of job security. Go husband quails or something
civil service retrenchment ?