wazua Wed, Jul 1, 2026

I SUPPORT THE NEW PRESS LAWS.
#21 Posted : Saturday, December 07, 2013 4:22:44 PM

"If this law passes, he'll go down on wikipedia as the worst tikteta on earth. Worse than Azabaijan. Probably the reason he copy pasted their website."

@Alma, si huyo ni wewe once again I ask what's the difference between UK and Kenya?
#22 Posted : Saturday, December 07, 2013 4:25:56 PM

I suggested this in a related thread: if this law is so draconian, the papers should carry a spread detailing what is wrong with the bill and what they would propose to be reasonable regulation - minus dramatics.

Honestly all we have heard is domo about how heavy the fines are. Let them educate the masses on what the real issues are. Many Kenyans feel that some form of regulation is overdue.

In any event it seems the face of the protest has build the editors' 'girod', dn and sub-standard. hao wengine wanasema nini?
#23 Posted : Saturday, December 07, 2013 4:33:06 PM

"If this law passes, he'll go down on wikipedia as the worst tikteta on earth. Worse than Azabaijan. Probably the reason he copy pasted their website."

@Alma, si huyo ni wewe once again I ask what's the difference between UK and Kenya?

No you tell me why you want to judge yourself based on what you call "mbeberu"

There are some laws that will never work.

Anything to do with immorality is a useless law. As the prostitutes at Koinange.

Any law that is punitive. Ask the matatus that would be charged 50k for overlaping or passing through a petrol station. Matatus still do it.

Any law that tells me not to say something only breeds animosity. That is how gov'ts are ovethrown.

In a case like Kenya where the army is even being deployed internally, its even more dangerous to tell me not to say what I want.

Crazy people will always exist. Stupid journalists will always exist. Law or no law. Telling the media which basically already reports what uhuru wants that they'd be fined 20m for saying his a bad guy is not the way for this country.

Freedom means accepting what we hate and what we like. Ask Kibaki. Someone on this forum posted a link about kalucy recently.

Muache ujinga na kuwa kubaff.

Let the media report.

We have wazua to tell a truth from a lie.

But when gov't is insisting on controlling what we read and hear in 2014.....then hii apana digital hiyo ni ujinga.
#24 Posted : Saturday, December 07, 2013 4:39:31 PM

butterflyke wrote:
I suggested this in a related thread: if this law is so draconian, the papers should carry a spread detailing what is wrong with the bill and what they would propose to be reasonable regulation - minus dramatics.

Honestly all we have heard is domo about how heavy the fines are. Let them educate the masses on what the real issues are. Many Kenyans feel that some form of regulation is overdue.

In any event it seems the face of the protest has build the editors' 'girod', dn and sub-standard. hao wengine wanasema nini?

Any law that says that saying kajwang as a lawyer used to steal his clients money is a bad law.

This law says that romours are lies and anyone reporting a romour should have his shamba taken by serekali.

So butterfly, it means you can't say that Raira has no nuggets. They will come for your oh so nice shares portfolio.

It means you can't post on wazua that the turkana governor is a war monger (very popular thread by the way.) They will jail you and take your kaplot.

It means that you can't be who you are. We all have to conform to the gov't of the day.

It means we report only what muthamaki wants/

It's a bad law. And bad laws have a habit f killing their proposers.
#25 Posted : Saturday, December 07, 2013 4:42:22 PM

@Alma....Surprisingly I agree with but if you could just quote specific sections of that bill which you feel need to be amended! The problem with Kenyans (unlike the West or even in the East) is that we trust the media and treat everything they report as the gospel truth. The Kenyan media has proved to be irresponsible and I do not think I need to give examples to support my point, I do not think I would support the idea of self regulation because so far they've failed in doing that.
#26 Posted : Saturday, December 07, 2013 4:44:17 PM

@Alma,

Hey!!.....too much bile man.
#27 Posted : Saturday, December 07, 2013 4:52:55 PM

@Alma....Surprisingly I agree with but if you could just quote specific sections of that bill which you feel need to be amended! The problem with Kenyans (unlike the West or even in the East) is that we trust the media and treat everything they report as the gospel truth. The Kenyan media has proved to be irresponsible and I do not think I need to give examples to support my point, I do not think I would support the idea of self regulation because so far they've failed in doing that.

my point exactly. chapisheni vipengele tusome na tukishindwa kuinterpret, kina @maka wako. Minus the dramatics please
#28 Posted : Saturday, December 07, 2013 5:00:23 PM

@Alma,

Hey!!.....too much bile man.

No Njunge mzee its not bile

If this law was brought by Raira, you would be waxing lyrical over here.

Any law that purports to tell me that saying something bad about rulers is a bad law.

You cannot and cannot support it.

When gov't decides that they can head a commission to check the media, that is what we call imperialsim by the house nigger.

The gov't has no role in media. None!

Once you give them that right Ghafla is dead, so is Kenyan list and harrydre's rag

Gov't should never have a say in what media reports. That's what the constitution says.

Fine Uhuru might be a nice chap. So after he goes and Fidel Raira becomes president what will you say then?

Hii media bill was made in China.

It's against the constitution. PERIOD.

It's against free alma posting on wazua when I'm annoyed. It cannot be allowed to pass.

If a media guy abuses you, please take him to court and sue his ass off.

Apana telling them that they can't work. Hiyo ni ujinga za Kanu.
#29 Posted : Saturday, December 07, 2013 5:28:52 PM

#30 Posted : Saturday, December 07, 2013 6:03:05 PM

I totally support the laws. Hata ingekuwa na referendum ningepigia debe!! A few points to note:

1. Those against the laws are not pinpointing what the problem with the laws is, they're busy attacking those in support (Luckily, hii tumezoea).
2. If the media is all that clean what are they worried about. They know falsehoods sell more than the truth.
3. Sasa UK anaingilia wapi, kwani he elected for us the MP's who came up with the bill in the first place? Guys need to learn about separation of powers under the constitution. In any case this time i support them (mps) and they represent my views.
4. Laws are also there to act as a deterrent.
5. For those who maybe bit mentally challenged here... you need to know the media in any country has and will never be free!! The media owners drive the agenda of their networks and have a price. For those who have ever watched FOX network will see how they bash Obama and the democrats at every available opportunity etc...
6. If the media want us to believe they're being muzzled they should come up with precise examples of how exactly this has been done.

These are my views and like anyone else am entitled to them, my opinions are neither superior nor inferior. Of late some wazuans have a tendency to behave like they have monopoly of thought and opinion and the that the world revolves around them.