wazua Fri, Jul 3, 2026

9 Pages<12345>»
NSSF Bill
#21 Posted : Thursday, December 05, 2013 10:16:07 AM

Those worried about the funds management should find comfort in the cabinet secretary for labour and social security. Bwana kazungu kambi is one of the most educated and competent ministers in the jubilee govt. His eloquence and ability to articulate complex matters is unmatched.

We are indeed lucky that the fund will be under the supervision of this genius of a minister.

hindi ni riu
#22 Posted : Thursday, December 05, 2013 10:24:13 AM

Plus, within a short time there'll be no death, so pension schemes will be faced out.

d'oh! d'oh! Is there something that you know that mankind doesn't?

“Once the last tree is cut and the last river poisoned,you will find you cannot eat your money" Traditional saying.
Pedes
#23 Posted : Thursday, December 05, 2013 11:02:27 AM

kimiri
#24 Posted : Thursday, December 05, 2013 11:35:13 AM

Ole Lenku wrote:
I want to thank the PORK for signing that bill. Workers should not complain about paying 6% of their gross salary to NSSF. Your advisers must be proud of themselves. If we continue at this pace, Kenya will trult be a great country. Long live PORK.

I do not share your happiness about this bill and for a number of reasons. First, against your wish, the new scheme is not optional. As a result, many employers who have private schemes for their workers are likely going to drop these in favor of NSSF so as to save on labor costs. Note that there are workers who already have superior schemes and many of these are likely going to lose out. Already, this is happening at my place of work. Worse still, I do not think the rampant corruption at NSSF is going to end overnight and I therefore totally dislike the idea of being forced to deposit 12% of my earnings as savings with them. I also pity many employers because of the sudden increase in labor costs if the bill is implemented. Also, a good section of employees in Kenya live from hand to mouth and deducting 6% of their pay will certainly condemn them to more misery. In fact, we may experience a clamor for salary increments by workers to cover for the deductions thus further pushing up labor costs.
#25 Posted : Thursday, December 05, 2013 11:43:03 AM

Mayooooooo.....eti all retirees will earn the same????....please don't tell me this is the case!!!

Yaani middle class retirees will earn the same amount as mid-level team retirees?

#26 Posted : Thursday, December 05, 2013 11:59:33 AM

Mayooooooo.....eti all retirees will earn the same????....please don't tell me this is the case!!!

Yaani middle class retirees will earn the same amount as mid-level team retirees?

Just imagini!!!!
#27 Posted : Thursday, December 05, 2013 12:04:08 PM

The problem has never been the concept, it's the transparency in management and investment strategy for the fund to increase the interest earned for the retiree to get a better cheque than he would from the private pension funds. Don't forget that this fund will increase three-fold when we start contributing.

The increase probably means more money to eat...but as you have said transparency is key they should work on that...detailed reporting on how the money is managed is a must.

Most importantly to me is they should give better returns than private firms because private firms are in business to make profits while NSSF are in for the good of the mwananchi. With the huge pool of money they control, I don't get how they can't give retirees 5% more no matter how much they steal.

#28 Posted : Thursday, December 05, 2013 12:05:05 PM

Just imagini!!!!

Does it mean despite contributing 18k monthly,I will earn the same as the housegirl who contributes 600 bob.It is bure kabisa.Which Mps voted for this useless legislation and where was the CORD coalition?
#29 Posted : Thursday, December 05, 2013 12:09:24 PM

Just imagini!!!!

How now while contributions are different
#30 Posted : Thursday, December 05, 2013 12:23:54 PM

Just imagini!!!!

How now while contributions are different

Am also trying to understand this...
9 Pages<12345>»