Mega Infrastructure Projects: Political Implications
#11 Posted : Wednesday, December 04, 2013 8:57:39 AM

InnovateGuy wrote:
Let me not forget reviving the city of mombasa esp the pathetic roads. What became of the dongo kundu bypass project? Any chances of dualling malindi highway up to mtwapa? We need to make this foxhole more attractive to tourists. The road to Moi Intl airport .....if I flew thousands of miles only to be welcomed with such dust right outside the airport, siwezi rudi walahi. sirikali tafadhali.....

Whatever you smokeLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Dude, that town is in terrible shape. kwanza estate roads n main highways damn! I rate it the worst in kenya...its a wonder tourists keep coming back, though chartered flights have dropped from a high of 30 to circa 7 per week. Regular flights have also dwindled to a mere trickle. .....ok let me safely blame the Euro zone crisis

huh? Fact check - 88 weekly flights to Mombasa this December alone is not 'a trickle'.
#12 Posted : Wednesday, December 04, 2013 9:04:23 AM

InnovateGuy wrote:
Let me not forget reviving the city of mombasa esp the pathetic roads. What became of the dongo kundu bypass project? Any chances of dualling malindi highway up to mtwapa? We need to make this foxhole more attractive to tourists. The road to Moi Intl airport .....if I flew thousands of miles only to be welcomed with such dust right outside the airport, siwezi rudi walahi. sirikali tafadhali.....

Dude, that town is in terrible shape. kwanza estate roads n main highways damn! I rate it the worst in kenya...its a wonder tourists keep coming back, though chartered flights have dropped from a high of 30 to circa 7 per week. Regular flights have also dwindled to a mere trickle. .....ok let me safely blame the Euro zone crisis

Something seriously need to be done...For a town of that calibre, we cant really do with garbage all over, even in CBD, disorganised traffic flow with tuk tuks and motorbikes at every spot of the way, ugly buildings(when were they painted last?), pot holes all over the roads,aarggh!!! By the way I think driving there is the worst experience...its not funny at all.
#13 Posted : Wednesday, December 04, 2013 9:10:05 AM

YoungMulla wrote:
Not to forget the major expansion of outer-ring rd. also slated for next year.

By the way its also planned to end around 2017 or there aboutsmile

The tender for the interested parties
#14 Posted : Wednesday, December 04, 2013 9:19:13 AM

The grand projects are good for the country, just hope the loans are well managed so that they don't overburden the common mwananchi. Infact I liked the JKIA epansion one where it is KAA and not the garment that will guarantee the loan!!!!
YoungMulla
#15 Posted : Wednesday, December 04, 2013 9:31:52 AM

YoungMulla wrote:
Not to forget the major expansion of outer-ring rd. also slated for next year.

By the way its also planned to end around 2017 or there aboutsmile

The tender for the interested parties

yeah, 2017. But if the projects are handled well they will drive the Vision 2030 and of course give much milleage to UhuRuto which I dont mind
Before I die - i will touch the sky!!
#16 Posted : Wednesday, December 04, 2013 9:42:54 AM

tassia wrote:
Uhuruto continues to launch mega projects n others r lined up early next year eg railway, airport, Uhuru highway expansion, laptops, irrigation projects, energy projects etc. Interestingly, most of them r expected to end at or around 2017.

Now, if they all go on according to plan, wont that be an automatic 2nd ticket for Uhuruto? They wud gladly do "before" n "after" adverts all over the media showing why they r a great team...

->Uhuruto wud do whatever it takes to ensure they succeed...

->Opposition wud do whatever it takes to ensure they fail...

Who will carry the day? Time will tell...

These Project were actually planned under under President Kibaki. By letting professionals work and taking their advice, Kibaki was able to help the country plan for the many years to come.

ditto! The country would be so far ahead were it not for _ _ _ _ _ . now the dude is all over the place dying for recognition on projects he is known to have opposed NKT!!

If you cant beat them..........smile But their unity is good for the country. These projects are about the country, not individuals, thus everybody shud support.
#17 Posted : Wednesday, December 04, 2013 9:51:19 AM

Let the projects be done and completed hopefully by 2017 as they are good for the country. But come election time it will be unfortunately back to our tribal Goggles irrespective of the UhuRuto performance.Pray Pray Pray
#18 Posted : Wednesday, December 04, 2013 9:51:45 AM

InnovateGuy wrote:

Something seriously need to be done...For a town of that calibre, we cant really do with garbage all over, even in CBD, disorganised traffic flow with tuk tuks and motorbikes at every spot of the way, ugly buildings(when were they painted last?), pot holes all over the roads,aarggh!!! By the way I think driving there is the worst experience...its not funny at all.

Add the madmen who for some strange/funny unknown reason do not change "base" and do not seem to die.I can clearly identify 5 madmen who have been on the same spot for the last 10 years.Every time I visit Msa, they are there.

Yes Msa needs a facelift.
#19 Posted : Wednesday, December 04, 2013 11:08:02 AM

The grand projects are good for the country, just hope the loans are well managed so that they don't overburden the common mwananchi. Infact I liked the JKIA epansion one where it is KAA and not the garment that will guarantee the loan!!!!

Yeah, I liked what Kamaa said in the Greenfields Terminal....funding is strictly based on the KAA balance sheet. ...and their ability to pay.
#20 Posted : Wednesday, December 04, 2013 11:14:44 AM

InnovateGuy wrote:

huh? Fact check - 88 weekly flights to Mombasa this December alone is not 'a trickle'.

Fact yes. But I'm talking of LOW SEASON, regular season. Saa hii ni rush hour. That airport is so so idle after march, unlike in the past. Hotels have done so badly this year. For DEC, we might also be harvesting from the egyptian crisis.