wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

A Business degree Graduate available anytime
techboy
#1 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2009 9:34:00 AM

I am a business administration degree graduate .I would like to avail myself for any job that's business related/oriented.The pay is highly negotiable and i will also do overtime if dimmed necessary so as to fit well in the organization.I have excellent grades and i am full of ideas and energy.I can be contacted on 0714056912 or email me at ericnyamu@yahoo.com.
#2 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2009 11:03:00 AM

The pay is highly negotiable - haaaaahahahahahahaaaaa,oh so very familiar!!

What do you mean with this bit? pay highly negotiable - it still rings in my mind and i will tell you why????

there was all this rumor of scarcity of jobs (may be true) and when this interview came up,i wasnt going to loose the chance - at all costs - literally! the interview went well,very well,I knew i cracked it until the pay package issue came up. I was asked how much i expected - remember i wasnt loosing this chance - so i said '8 thousand',the HR asked casually,'80?' and i clarified '8 thousand' - i almost wrote it down for her. she was in shock and i could read it in her face. Not wanting to loose the job,i even offered 'its negotiable' (maybe i even said it is HIGHLY negotiable)..... the HR asked 'upwards or downwards' - and confidently said 'downwards'...... the HR did not pursue that line of communication. I was qualified so they hired me.

two weeks later,i got to learn that the person i was replacing was earning a cool 70k!!!! daaaamn!! the person was being promoted to take up a job of a lady leaving for states..... that lady was earning 150k... when they looked at my papers,i was more qualified than the person i was to replace and was in a better position to take the job of lady who was leaving so i ended up doing the job - 150k worth of position for 8k!! Needless to say,I did feel short changed but whose fault was it? Mine!!! if someone had told me not to 'undersell' myself,may be i would be Kirubi's rival!!!! hehehehehe Good thing is,i did learn alot!!! alot..................... Well,i didnt even finish my 3rd month there!!

I doubt there is anyone who has ever goofed on their first job the way i did!!!!! This is not @Danny6's noval writing aspiration...... true story!!!......

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
The General
#3 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2009 11:22:00 AM

@ wendz,

i assure you this is better than when you bought a stock coz the guy in the advert was handsome...... ROTFLMAO

The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie.
#4 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2009 11:42:00 AM

One guy was so desperate that when asked how much he expected,he asks the panel,........'Nyinyi mutanipatia ngapi?'....or the Ero whose ten cows were killed by two lions.He hunted them down and killed them.He was arrested,arraigned in court and fined kshs 14,000.00......He asks,'14,000 only?....Kumbe hii simba hata haina bei'.

Yombo dhier....!!
Goals
#5 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2009 11:50:00 AM

Wendz thats familiar. A guy asked for 8k but the minimum starting was 70k. He got the job but could not pick a mathree to town. The receptionist called to inquiry what had happended to him coz this guy shed tears after getting the letter.

Dont underestimate yourself.

'Build your own dreams,
or someone else will hire you to build their's!'

- Author Unknown

#6 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2009 11:57:00 AM

Wendz..that was you!!!!! a small world i say..really small.

why keep one fish in a glass aquarium while you can have all the fish in the ocean?
xtina
#7 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2009 12:07:00 PM

Why don't u start a small business?

Men who are occupied in the restoration of health to other men,by the joint exertion of skill and humanity,are above all the great of the earth. They even partake of divinity,since to preserve and renew is almost as noble as to create.VOLTAIRE.
eli
#8 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2009 2:13:00 PM

Doxa Is looking for a marketer! An experienced sales person! Able to drive sales through the roof! If your sales curve,can behave like the NSE over the last 7 business days,then please apply in confidence!

There is no salo though,in the first month! You have to prove that you can sell/market. In the second month! You will get a salo! Better than what @ Wendz was given!

In the third month,the salo can double,if for sure,your sales curve continue to head north!

peter@thedoxa.net and www.thedoxa.net for more information! Good luck dude! Be sure you can sell! Thank You!

But you shall remember the LORD your God,for it is He who is giving you power to make wealth,that He may confirm His covenant which He swore to your fathers,as it is this day. Deu 8:18
Alchemist
#9 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2009 3:28:00 PM

Eric/Techboy,

I do not want to sound harsh,but employers look for the slightest of excuses not to invite applicants for interviews. A graduate who cannot tell the difference between 'deemed' and 'dimmed' will have a very low chance of getting that 1 job that has attracted 5,000 applicants.

Chances are that your CV has spelling mistakes and also looks like the other 4,980 CVs submitted by the 5,000 looking for the 1 position (statitistics show that 20/5000 will stand out).

As someone who has gone through the agony of jobhunting for months,I advise the following;

(1) Tailor your CV to answer the one question all employers are asking,why should I hire you out of the 5,000 applicants. Summarise you key competencies as the opening selling line. All employers want candidates who have excellent numeracy and written skills,analytical thinkers,good communicators,team players,self motivated and detail oriented,innovators.

(2) Sex and religion are no longer relevant. remove these from your CV. Imagine you CV indicating that you are a born again christian in an organization whose HR manager is a devout Muslim. Chances are you wouldnt get called for an interview.

(3) Make sure that the format of your CV is unlike the normal final year student CV format. As a rule,yours should look better than that of your peers.

(4) Prioritise work experience over academic qualifications. Remember the employer wants to know whether you can apply the theories learnt in school.

(4) Imagine a basketball in Nairobi Sports house. How much is it worth? Ksh 7,000? Now imagine a mere picture of a basketball in the hands of Michael Jordan,how much is that worth? Millions of Dollars. Eric you are a brand,now go out there and sell yourself.

PS: @Wendz,I was once asked how much I wanted during an interview. I gave my figure,when they asked whether it was negotiable,I said yes,upwards. I got the job,later on the departmental manager told me that they were torn between me and another candidate,but that the remark about negotiating pay upwards had broken the tie in my favour,because they had realized that I had a sense of humour.

@Eric,you can email me a copy of you CV duetcapital@gmail.com and I will review it for you.

#10 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2009 4:01:00 PM

@Al,

Good points!!

I can believe you on that... i was called for another interview last year and after telling them what i expected,the finance director couldnt control her laughter! she said 'at this rate,you will be coming for my job before the year end if i hire you'... I told her 'for sure i will,if you dont move!' and they still offered me the job but well,i declined the offer though but we are buddies with the lady todate.

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
#11 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2009 4:12:00 PM

Wendz..u must be one lady who knows the benefits of education..my relatives still insist that papers take you places.. not that i dont hear..but.

why keep one fish in a glass aquarium while you can have all the fish in the ocean?
faa
#12 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 2:53:00 AM

@techboy,Good luck man,You will get a job man dont worry.

@ wendz,i guess you are a very good and mature lady.Your post speaks for themselves..

Experiences in life teach us a lot for sure

yayo
Marty
#13 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 7:19:00 AM

Indeed presenting oneself as a great brand is extremely important. I once attended an interview and had done serious research about the organization and the position to an extent the chair of the panel said it before me that 'Indeed this is the kind of guy we are looking for' and asked me how soon I can join them before they were done with interviewing others...strange...unfortunately I had attended another one the previous day and received the two offers on the same day...so went to the other organization....the guy was really disappointed

..wise as a serpent,humble as a dove
When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty
of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.
Goals
#14 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 1:53:00 PM

BTW techboy,employers do not contact people unless if you have applied. send your applications out first. Also check websites for jobs eg UN,KCB,Safcom,KQ,EABL and auditing firms among others.

Employers will only poach you if you have value addition experience.

'Build your own dreams,
or someone else will hire you to build their's!'

- Author Unknown