New Kempinski Hotel (Villa Rosa).
#21 Posted : Wednesday, August 28, 2013 9:47:26 PM

Am wrote:
Intelligentsia wrote:
webish wrote:
Habari ndiyo hii sasa.

Anyone ever been to the one in Dar?.... photos i see for that place are just excellent.

Bin there coupla times...very good n vry high class.
But hii Nbi Kempinski the other day had to take their wagenis to Hilton after rain maji started leaking in some rooms...er @Mawinder umesema uliwafanyia roofing ama...smile

And maybe Bima X series or not, is not a big deal by German (which the Kempinski is) standards - si hata Polizei wa huko wanatumia shindes bila waswas?

Njungus are Coming and saying they Must stay there. Right now they have a group of 150 who are paying an arm and leg, have had to sign a disclaimer that Hoteli haijaisha na wakiangukiwa na mawe hakuna kesi. In other words, they are not yet open but doing trials.

Been looking for a 5 star hotel room to book for one night to celebrate my wifey's birthday. Seems Kemplenski is out of the question. Seems I should take her to Sankara or Tribe.....or Boma.
#22 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 9:53:42 AM

Am wrote:
Intelligentsia wrote:
webish wrote:
Habari ndiyo hii sasa.

Anyone ever been to the one in Dar?.... photos i see for that place are just excellent.

Bin there coupla times...very good n vry high class.
But hii Nbi Kempinski the other day had to take their wagenis to Hilton after rain maji started leaking in some rooms...er @Mawinder umesema uliwafanyia roofing ama...smile

And maybe Bima X series or not, is not a big deal by German (which the Kempinski is) standards - si hata Polizei wa huko wanatumia shindes bila waswas?

Njungus are Coming and saying they Must stay there. Right now they have a group of 150 who are paying an arm and leg, have had to sign a disclaimer that Hoteli haijaisha na wakiangukiwa na mawe hakuna kesi. In other words, they are not yet open but doing trials.

Been looking for a 5 star hotel room to book for one night to celebrate my wifey's birthday. Seems Kemplenski is out of the question. Seems I should take her to Sankara or Tribe.....or Boma.

@Jagger. Washana na Mboma if you are the Bull you have always wanted to believe that you are. Do tribe, Do Sankara and you wont regret. Have them serve the same wine that you described the other day. The rest is history.
webish
#23 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 10:04:34 AM

Am wrote:

@Jagger. Washana na Mboma if you are the Bull you have always wanted to believe that you are. Do tribe, Do Sankara and you wont regret. Have them serve the same wine that you described the other day. The rest is history.

Sankara = Good ambience and service, but not sure about food, compared to Tribe.

Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
#24 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 5:25:49 PM

Reviwed kwa gazetti fulani

rink : Luxury at its best comes to nyairovi

"πŸ˜–πŸ˜‘KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
webish
#25 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 6:21:03 PM

Siringi wrote:

I'm surprised this review is coming weeks after opening. They didn't pick this up earlier?

This comment caught my eye

"Each room in the hotel is estimated to have cost approximately USD300,000 (Sh26.1 million) to complete."

hmmm.

Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
#26 Posted : Monday, December 02, 2013 1:22:14 PM

Siringi wrote:

Radisson Blu is coming up in Upperhill courtesy of kickbacks from Thika higway project and will be opened in August next year.It will beat VillaRosa hands down.
josimar
#27 Posted : Monday, December 02, 2013 1:29:48 PM

Radisson Blu is coming up in Upperhill courtesy of kickbacks from Thika higway project and will be opened in August next year.It will beat VillaRosa hands down.

Who own this?
#28 Posted : Monday, December 02, 2013 1:42:28 PM

josimar wrote:

Who own this?

Michael Kamau
#29 Posted : Monday, December 02, 2013 2:23:57 PM

josimar wrote:

Who own this?

Michael Kamau

Are you serious? The CS for Transport?

#30 Posted : Monday, December 02, 2013 2:52:00 PM

josimar wrote:

Who own this?

Michael Kamau

Are you serious? The CS for Transport?

Yes.Variations and kickbacks.the guy is behind Elgon Road Development which owns the local Radisson Blu that is coming up.The CEO who will be employed may end up earning a salary more than the owner who is employed elsewhere.
#31 Posted : Tuesday, December 03, 2013 8:16:23 AM

josimar wrote:

Who own this?

Michael Kamau

@Mawinder. What? Can you Confirm tat this is true and not your usual prank?
#32 Posted : Tuesday, December 03, 2013 10:36:12 AM

webish wrote:
Siringi wrote:

I'm surprised this review is coming weeks after opening. They didn't pick this up earlier?

"Each room in the hotel is estimated to have cost approximately USD300,000 (Sh26.1 million) to complete."

hmmm.

I am finding that hard to believe. While the room looks well appointed, 26 million KShs is not pocket change, there is nothing extra-ordinary I can see in the photo (like persian rugs, costly paintings etc). Can you imagine the mansion you can build with 26M excluding land costs? ...these local journos, swallowing any old bullshit from marketers and PR people without doing some basic fact checking/research .....Sad Sad
#33 Posted : Tuesday, December 03, 2013 11:45:05 AM

Am wrote:
josimar wrote:

Who own this?

Michael Kamau

He is the chairman of Elgon Road Development Ltd and is seen at the site occasionally.The other shareholder is a Mr.Kunyiha although with little shareholding.You will confirm when it will be opened next year.
#34 Posted : Tuesday, December 03, 2013 12:57:19 PM

Am wrote:
josimar wrote:

Who own this?

Michael Kamau

He is the chairman of Elgon Road Development Ltd and is seen at the site occasionally.The other shareholder is a Mr.Kunyiha although with little shareholding.You will confirm when it will be opened next year.

So what is wrong with a kenyan building a hotel......whether he works for the private sector or public sector?
#35 Posted : Tuesday, December 03, 2013 12:59:45 PM

Siringi wrote:

This room can't have cost 26m! Maybe 2m at most, including the en suite.
#36 Posted : Tuesday, December 03, 2013 1:02:50 PM

Am wrote:
josimar wrote:

Who own this?

Michael Kamau

So what is wrong with a kenyan building a hotel......whether he works for the private sector or public sector?

The Problem here is not a Kenyan Building a hotel. It is that People know what the Kenyan earns, and that it can't build the kind of hotel our Investigator is talking about.
#37 Posted : Tuesday, December 03, 2013 1:15:58 PM

Am wrote:
Am wrote:
josimar wrote:

Who own this?

Michael Kamau

The Problem here is not a Kenyan Building a hotel. It is that People know what the Kenyan earns, and that it can't build the kind of hotel our Investigator is talking about.

The guy has been PS nearly all his life and earns >1m a month. Add travel allowances, imprests, sitting allowances, responsibility allowances, plots hapa na pale westlands, upperhill etc etc. He can easily raise 700m (300m from own assets and 400m loan) to put up a hotel.
#38 Posted : Tuesday, December 03, 2013 2:36:09 PM

Am wrote:
Am wrote:
josimar wrote:

Who own this?

Michael Kamau

The guy has been PS nearly all his life and earns >1m a month. Add travel allowances, imprests, sitting allowances, responsibility allowances, plots hapa na pale westlands, upperhill etc etc. He can easily raise 700m (300m from own assets and 400m loan) to put up a hotel.

I am sure the cost of Raddison Blue (as planned) is not 700M. But anyway, this is Kenya, kama ni yake, congrats to him. Splitting hairs on how he raised the money to put up the project is neither here nor there.
#39 Posted : Tuesday, December 03, 2013 2:38:58 PM

webish wrote:
Siringi wrote:

hmmm.

sirkal ingeomba huyu anunue laptops....
timuka
#40 Posted : Thursday, December 05, 2013 8:25:44 PM

Am wrote:
josimar wrote:

Who own this?

Michael Kamau

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you, probably a local minority shareholder in line with statutory requirements.

@Mawinder..heard of IFU of Denmark, Finnfund of Finland, Norfund of Norway and SAS Group? Do some research

700M? Seriously?, that hotel is worth far more than that!!