wazua Fri, Nov 29, 2024

5 Pages<1234>»
This man Mwai Kibaki
#21 Posted : Sunday, August 18, 2013 12:20:02 PM

I was an ardent supporter of this man but testimonies of those who knew or worked with him paint him in very negative light. Wanyiri Kihoro says Kibaki is 'heartless and mean. He does not have friends in the lower classes'. The Kihoros contributed 16m for the 2002 campaigs yet Kibaki did not even once go to see Mrs Kihoro at the hospital. Muite says he viewd Kibaki as a man living in denial. A man who thinks the poor will spread their poverty to him. Ntimama says Kibaki has few friends. He never even spoke with his ministers!

Question Is whether the 16m was to be refunded. Was It a loan or a Contribution. Loans are refunded, Contributions arent'. Depends on the agreement the two had.Wanyiri Sounded bitter about something he could not divulge.

Let the old man retire in piece.
#22 Posted : Sunday, August 18, 2013 12:59:00 PM

radio wrote:
The late Njenga Karume also had a description for him in 2002......a very mean and thankless old man.

..people who strive for popularity tend to lack the strength inside to be themselves.

Applause
True this.

These are the people who will go to any length to remain popular and prove how relevant they are among the unthankful masses, because they derive energy to act from people's opinion of them.
If the masses disappear, their flame extinguishes as well and all that is left of them is history of their noise making.
Meet them alone and you will feel great pity, as they are unable to think or initiate anything by themselves without the applause and attention of the world.

A great leader/person imho, does a lot in the background.His work is evident through actions not promises,He is not out to please friends or foe, but to accomplish what he set out to do and that means stepping on a toe or two without apologies.

If one decide to help such,then let them do it on their own volition, but they shouldn't expect favors in return as the leaders are not 'crowd pleasers'.
I think the rotteness we witness daily in our society, is as a result of this 'nipe nikupe'mentality started by our former leaders and we got used to the extent that if one declined to do the same, thy were deemed as mean and selfish.

Heard one politician remark; 'In days of baba we used to eat ugali, but now with kibs around,the taps have run dry.'
The crop of leaders produced as a result of running taps, got so used to breasfeeding at statehouse,they couldn't leave their cradles to walk and work.
It's no wonder that delegation and accountability became a mountain task, since the adult babies had a tune to dance to, after each breastfeeding session.

Kibs tried to eliminate the insurmountable levels of greed, where no one would perform his work without nyonyo.
He kicked them out as an Eagle does to it's young ones, which is the perfect way to make them soar high.
Is that selfish? I like people who kick my butt for my own good.Character is built and performance enhanced as a result.
Pride on the other hand fights back and calls it selfish.

His success is seen because he is compared to a dictator..
if you compare to the issues the country wanted handled for sustainability.. he is zero..

@ pound,but Rome wasn't built in a day. I respect kibs because his nose wasn't everywhere,He actually gave meaning to the word 'DELEGATION'.
And it's ok to compare, even though we need better yardsticks to measure development.
But let's also be realistic.Kibs restored back our glory after many years of ruin through corruption.
Now that he's raised the platform,I can only expect the new crop to raise it higher and so on and so forth.
Unfortunately we will not be alive to see the Kenya we so desire to see.

#23 Posted : Sunday, August 18, 2013 1:12:19 PM

Like all of us, Kibs had his goods n his bads...Unfortunately in life, each of us is inherently "selfish". We look n evaluate and consequently assign marks to others based on our personal expectation of n experiences with the individual. That is why one individual attracts both love n hate in equal measure. Note that its the same person....thus the difference can only be the evaluators n their standard of evaluation. So all our posts here r largely 'selfish'. That said, n based on what was my expectations of him,I would say

1. On the country's economy n infrastructure he scored a B+. He laid a very strong foundation...private sector can easily access credit n markets for its produce...but still he cud av done better had he sealed corruption dens n some ineffciencies. On this, I like him.

2. On national cohesion, based the euphoria thro which he was elected, he had a perfect opportunity for uniting the country. He failed desperately. He came out as more tribal. On this one, perception is key. He shud av thus done something to make everyone feel included. On this I dislike him.

3. On his personal relationship with his family n friends, I lack jurisdiction to comment coz I got zero relationship with him on a personal basis. Those painting him in whichever way coul be right or wrong....based on their personal biases. Personally, I value friendship n I can I can sacrifice a big deal for friends. Equally, I have seen friends sacrifice a big deal for me. It has happened so many times in lifesuch that I trully believe in true friends. When I hear of Kibs friends who sacrificed for him but he looked the other way when they were in need, I feel bad. However, that is me n my expectation of friends. Others dont invest in friends n they care less about them anyway. On the contrary, I value relationships so very much. Maybe Kibs is just a capitalist who care less about what "loss" others make as long as he makes it somehow, regardless of who made u make it...Based on this, I wouldnt keep him for friend. I would always be suspicious of every move he makes towards me....
Tokyo
#24 Posted : Sunday, August 18, 2013 2:02:22 PM

If His older sister Waitherero isnt expecting Manna from Kibaki, who are those others . I do like his attitude towards other people. I love mkono ngumu people. Many usually say I'm one.
work to prosper
#25 Posted : Sunday, August 18, 2013 2:33:54 PM

I didn't intend for us to go the legacy way. There are older threads on that where we've discussed FPE, roads, economy, politics and appointments etc. What about his character? This definitely affected how he dealt with people as president. Is it true that he could visit Othaya bars to take kamoja, wananchi would join him and order for phobe and expect their MP to pay for them. Then Baks would ask only for his bill for 2 beers...anyone from Othaya?
#26 Posted : Sunday, August 18, 2013 2:43:28 PM

Like all of us, Kibs had his goods n his bads...Unfortunately in life, each of us is inherently "selfish". We look n evaluate and consequently assign marks to others based on our personal expectation of n experiences with the individual. That is why one individual attracts both love n hate in equal measure. Note that its the same person....thus the difference can only be the evaluators n their standard of evaluation. So all our posts here r largely 'selfish'. That said, n based on what was my expectations of him,I would say

1. On the country's economy n infrastructure he scored a B+. He laid a very strong foundation...private sector can easily access credit n markets for its produce...but still he cud av done better had he sealed corruption dens n some ineffciencies. On this, I like him.

2. On national cohesion, based the euphoria thro which he was elected, he had a perfect opportunity for uniting the country. He failed desperately. He came out as more tribal. On this one, perception is key. He shud av thus done something to make everyone feel included. On this I dislike him.

3. On his personal relationship with his family n friends, I lack jurisdiction to comment coz I got zero relationship with him on a personal basis. Those painting him in whichever way coul be right or wrong....based on their personal biases. Personally, I value friendship n I can I can sacrifice a big deal for friends. Equally, I have seen friends sacrifice a big deal for me. It has happened so many times in lifesuch that I trully believe in true friends. When I hear of Kibs friends who sacrificed for him but he looked the other way when they were in need, I feel bad. However, that is me n my expectation of friends. Others dont invest in friends n they care less about them anyway. On the contrary, I value relationships so very much. Maybe Kibs is just a capitalist who care less about what "loss" others make as long as he makes it somehow, regardless of who made u make it...Based on this, I wouldnt keep him for friend. I would always be suspicious of every move he makes towards me....

Well in...
#27 Posted : Sunday, August 18, 2013 3:00:39 PM

I didn't intend for us to go the legacy way. There are older threads on that where we've discussed FPE, roads, economy, politics and appointments etc. What about his character? This definitely affected how he dealt with people as president. Is it true that he could visit Othaya bars to take kamoja, wananchi would join him and order for phobe and expect their MP to pay for them. Then Baks would ask only for his bill for 2 beers...anyone from Othaya?

Sirikwa hotel, Eldoret, Kibz is the VP.....drinks with an entourage mpaka chee.......hata bill yake halipi.

.......people call Kibz visionery coz they compare him to Moi.......who would fail?
#28 Posted : Sunday, August 18, 2013 3:02:41 PM

Is it true that he could visit Othaya bars to take kamoja, wananchi would join him and order for phobe and expect their MP to pay for them. Then Baks would ask only for his bill for 2 beers

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Sorry,but lol. can imagine a bar full of stranded murmuring walevis.

I was told that he prefers people to jitegemea, sort themselves out,use their own heads and not ride on his.
He will set the environment right to make it productive for you, but that is as far as he will go!
Dishing out freebies is not his trade cz it makes people lazy and reliant on outside help and dude hates laziness with a passion.

But then such trivial things don't bother him at all cz come next day,he will be helping build a coffee mill/road for the same people.
You know people who sort you out from the source and not surface? that's kibs - we complain hapa juu cz we do not want to work had and buy our own beers.
I fully support him cz those who dish out anyhow use state money mostly stolen,our taxes.
Braza
#29 Posted : Sunday, August 18, 2013 3:20:55 PM

Dismissing Kihoro, Ntimama or Koigi is akin to some 'Kenyan'. (I know of couch potatoes who whine on why Balotelli should be celebrated.)
Well...for those whose ID reads 'post Kibs' or 'just pre-Kibs', Nakumart stocks Hilary's 'The making of a nation'
Admin, Luckily; age will one day transform me into an Elder.
#30 Posted : Monday, December 02, 2013 1:28:41 PM

Trending on twirra
#KibakiPublicLecture at The University of Narobi

teaching the shundrens Practical Econometrics proper
"πŸ˜–πŸ˜‘KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
#31 Posted : Monday, December 02, 2013 1:44:04 PM

Siringi, good or bad?
#32 Posted : Monday, December 02, 2013 1:57:23 PM

Siringi, good or bad?

Exciting piece a walk through a bit of history, Nationalism and the need to works hard etc ..

He did his bit handed over the baton. Sees under current leadership the future is very bright.smile

"πŸ˜–πŸ˜‘KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
#33 Posted : Monday, December 02, 2013 4:07:46 PM

Catch the speech verbatim here ==>
#34 Posted : Monday, December 02, 2013 4:28:20 PM

Kenya is uniquely also a land of consensus. It is the place where the avowed bitter-most political rivals find ways of accommodating each other and working together for the benefit of moving the nation forward. Oftentimes, this quest for a political middle ground is driven by the love of the country though one cannot completely rule out other factors including the pursuit of selfish interests based on political realism and the possibility of postponing the battle to another day. Nothing illustrates this reality better than the circumstances that led to the merger of KANU and KADU in the 1960s, the spirit that gave birth to the inter-parties forum of the early 1990s, the short-lived political marriage of KANU and NDP in the late 1990s and early 2000s. But perhaps the most instructive example of this phenomenon is the 2008 formation of the Coalition Government formed at the brink of an artificial apocalypse.
#35 Posted : Saturday, December 14, 2013 9:51:38 PM

Maina Wanjigi who was Kibaki's collegemate at Makerere thinks the man is too introverted and has few friends. You drink with him up to 3am and the guy is all quiet throughout. Maina thinks Mwai should've been more pro-active.
#36 Posted : Saturday, December 14, 2013 11:26:43 PM

I would love to read his autobiography
#37 Posted : Saturday, December 14, 2013 11:37:10 PM

I heard (meaning it is a rumor)that when his son Jimmy was starting out in business,he asked him for a loan and Baks directed him to the banks but he later helped him out but after he had shown resolve..So all these people talking ill of the man,people like muite and ntimama,what exactly did they do that sets them apart with Kibaki in terms of giving back to friends and society?
Watu wajitegemee,hiyo styro ya kufikiria that another man should foot your bills is so last century
#38 Posted : Sunday, December 15, 2013 6:34:01 AM

Maina Wanjigi who was Kibaki's collegemate at Makerere thinks the man is too introverted and has few friends. You drink with him up to 3am and the guy is all quiet throughout. Maina thinks Mwai should've been more pro-active.

the thought that came to my mind when i read this was even as an introvert, kibs made it to be the 3rd PORK. then we got an extrovert for 4th PORK.
#39 Posted : Sunday, December 15, 2013 7:49:05 AM

butterflyke wrote:

the thought that came to my mind when i read this was even as an introvert, kibs made it to be the 3rd PORK. then we got an extrovert for 4th PORK.

I just like the way UK is extroverted,he has made the Presidency seem like just another jobo.
#40 Posted : Sunday, December 15, 2013 7:51:11 AM

Shak wrote:
I would love to read his autobiography

He owes us one. Or someone should get the story and do a biography.