wazua Sun, Jul 5, 2026

5 Pages<12345>
Serve And Suffer
faa
#21 Posted : Monday, December 02, 2013 8:22:39 AM

It's quite a shame that whereas an MPIG earns unbelievable sums per month, the state police live in deplorable conditions.

Mombasa Traffic command base is even worse.The building even does'nt have windows
#22 Posted : Monday, December 02, 2013 8:28:34 AM

35k is peanuts? Go to hell! Find out what Ugandans, Ethiopians, Sudanese, Ugandans, Tanzanians, Rwandese, congolese, burundis are paid, before yapping away alongside our pathetic media. Probably LESS THAN HALF! Noisy clueless kenyans!

We are Kenyans not Congolese,Tanzanians,Rwandese etc we are meant to be the financial powerhouse of East Africa we arent looking up or at par with them its the reverse they are looking up to us and want to be at par with us...One of our clients is an ex elite french army commando who has settled in Kenya actually bought a house at riverside (sadly being swindled by an Akinyi) and just his pension is something to write home about...he has cancer and his being treated free of charge by his country...this are the things my country needs to be doing to the people who have served her diligently...comparing Kenya with some nondescript countries is just wrong.....
#23 Posted : Monday, December 02, 2013 8:37:03 AM

35k is peanuts? Go to hell! Find out what Ugandans, Ethiopians, Sudanese, Ugandans, Tanzanians, Rwandese, congolese, burundis are paid, before yapping away alongside our pathetic media. Probably LESS THAN HALF! Noisy clueless kenyans!

Ulinyimwa usiku au nini? That is for your most elite unit Recce who undergo training worth millions per serviceman/woman to guard your Head Of State, foreign VIPs and engage in special Ops just to be poached by private sector organizations or high profile individuals. The Sudanese & Congolese are your yardstick?? Buure kabisa.

Our mcas will soon be earning to the tune of 300k. We have senators and an army of mps who do nothing and are earning so much. The disparity in salaries in Kenya is just crazy. If we are using D.R Congo and Sudan as our yardstick then we have a serious mental problem.
#24 Posted : Monday, December 02, 2013 8:41:29 AM

People should realize that govt pay is based on job groups and depends on ones qualifications and entry point. Thus a police officer in job group 'x' is earning generally the same with a teacher, nurse etc in a similar job group. What people should be calling for is a total review of all public service pay.
#25 Posted : Monday, December 02, 2013 8:49:56 AM

We are Kenyans not Congolese,Tanzanians,Rwandese etc we are meant to be the financial powerhouse of East Africa we arent looking up or at par with them its the reverse they are looking up to us and want to be at par with us...One of our clients is an ex elite french army commando who has settled in Kenya actually bought a house at riverside (sadly being swindled by an Akinyi) and just his pension is something to write home about...he has cancer and his being treated free of charge by his country...this are the things my country needs to be doing to the people who have served her diligently...comparing Kenya with some nondescript countries is just wrong.....

Please dont let that "powerhouse" tag cheat you that we are anything rich. We are still a poor low income country. Stop insulting us by comparing Kenya to the French, the colonial thieves who still plunder west African countries to this date. How many tax-payers does Kenya have? Even those eligible tax payers try their best to evade by using people in your profession.
#26 Posted : Monday, December 02, 2013 8:54:20 AM

Isn't it ironical that we want to give standard ones laptops whereas police officers use TYPEWRITERS. I thought these things were obsolete... so analogue...
#27 Posted : Monday, December 02, 2013 9:01:52 AM

Please dont let that "powerhouse" tag cheat you that we are anything rich. We are still a poor low income country. Stop insulting us by comparing Kenya to the French, the colonial thieves who still plunder west African countries to this date. How many tax-payers does Kenya have? Even those eligible tax payers try their best to evade by using people in your profession.

Then why,(not you) but @Kabz should use Tz,Rwanda,Congo etc as a benchmark...you dont get far in life by comparing yourself to someone who is at par or lower than you...raise the bar and work towards it...@Mukiri raised a very important point why not use people with the relevant skills to build houses for the cops?NYS,prisoners etc give them a stipend for the work they are doing...That french guy was just an example we can look at any "serious" country which is geared to serving its citizenry and ex civil servants well and we will get the same treatment...we need to pull up our socks...
#28 Posted : Monday, December 02, 2013 9:09:54 AM

People should realize that govt pay is based on job groups and depends on ones qualifications and entry point. Thus a police officer in job group 'x' is earning generally the same with a teacher, nurse etc in a similar job group. What people should be calling for is a total review of all public service pay.

Many police constables join the public service at the very bottom of the scale since they are only required to have a D+. The Police service commission wants this revised.

Kavulundi: Police service entry grade to be revised

In my view, the minimum pay that a public servant in the lowest PSC grade should be earning in Nairobi should be 60k, i.e.

Basic pay 30k
House allowance 15k
Commuter allowance 10k
Medical allowance 5k

Total: 60k.

It is sad that many lowly public servants live in the slums due to low pay.
#29 Posted : Monday, December 02, 2013 9:15:29 AM

Then why,(not you) but @Kabz should use Tz,Rwanda,Congo etc as a benchmark...you dont get far in life by comparing yourself to someone who is at par or lower than you...raise the bar and work towards it...@Mukiri raised a very important point why not use people with the relevant skills to build houses for the cops?NYS,prisoners etc give them a stipend for the work they are doing...That french guy was just an example we can look at any "serious" country which is geared to serving its citizenry and ex civil servants well and we will get the same treatment...we need to pull up our socks...

I agree to the point that their living and working conditions should be improved but their salary is in consistence with that of the other civil servants in the same job group. I would rather they lived in the govt civil servant quarters like the others (by the way i understand many do) or rent out like the rest, kwani how do the other civil servants survive?

On the French dude...dont even try to refer france to a serious country...unless you show us who we can steal from so that we can get serious too...we have a long way to go I mean, there are people, citizens of Kenya who still fancy stealing cows and can kill for it...tell that to the french dude and observe the look he's going to give you.
#30 Posted : Monday, December 02, 2013 9:51:35 AM

Let me put stuff in perspective 35k is almost $5,000 a year. Kenya's GDP per capita is $800. What do teachers earn? What do army servicemen earn? My mum and dad both worked for gava and got the handshake their combined salary was less than 20k. I am not justifying low pay but the middle class here and Okari don't seem to realize something i realized when I was in high school - when you are in careers that anyone can do (lot's of people doing the same thing) you end up with unions to negotiate your salary, salary increments are always fought for. however when you are fewer salaries are generally higher and you can get increments easily. I pictured life as a triangle or a pyramid. the fewer you are the more on top you get so I strove to do the difficult things. right now if i don't like what you are paying me...i negotiate if i cannot still get that one then I get someone else who pays me better. ask @ecstacy we have worked together. its a fact of kenyan life.... we have too small a GDP!! just ask around what real kenyans earn!! utangundua a 35k jobo is something that people would kill for!!
5 Pages<12345>