Kasarani now Safaricom Stadium
Alba
#21 Posted : Friday, November 29, 2013 5:34:32 PM

A few years back Coca Cola offered 120m for Nyayo. You would think they would offer more for Kasarani.

The big question is : How will this money be used ?
githundi
#22 Posted : Friday, November 29, 2013 6:26:36 PM

Am wrote:
digitek1 wrote:
55m is peanuts

jina kasarani inasaidia nani? i would gladly change my name if safaricom or anyone pays me!!

@Masukuma YAWA..If Proctor & Gamble were to re-brand all their PRODUCTS with your name, you would agree?? Washa Mbesha Ikae..

If they are paying,yes i will agree

but of course!!!

The question here is how much?
If safaricom built the stadium or upgraded it is another matter.
You can't change your children's names to those of the advertiser's for peanuts.
Democracy does not belong to the dead
#23 Posted : Friday, November 29, 2013 6:47:47 PM

I've never heard the British complain about Emirates stadium
githundi
#24 Posted : Friday, November 29, 2013 9:28:58 PM

Shak wrote:

They made a big contribution to it's construction.
Democracy does not belong to the dead
african coloner
#25 Posted : Friday, November 29, 2013 11:20:10 PM

Shak wrote:

Emirates belong to arsenal, just like Karuturi stadium or Mumias sugar complex if latter still exists. Those ones can be branded but Wembley belong to state and source of national pride. The same should be Kasarani.
Money Whisperer
#26 Posted : Saturday, November 30, 2013 5:51:02 AM

Gathige wrote:
Kasarani is much known for political theatrics than sports- Kasarani Kichinjio, Kaa chini profesa, LDP kumezwa na Jogoo etc . Let's Safcoms green at least lighten the place hata bila pesa.

You say Kasarani I see Wacu. There come a time....

....BTW is there an airport at Kasarani?
"Money never sleeps"
#27 Posted : Saturday, November 30, 2013 11:15:51 AM

githundi wrote:
Am wrote:
digitek1 wrote:
55m is peanuts

jina kasarani inasaidia nani? i would gladly change my name if safaricom or anyone pays me!!

@Masukuma YAWA..If Proctor & Gamble were to re-brand all their PRODUCTS with your name, you would agree?? Washa Mbesha Ikae..

but of course!!!

The question here is how much?
If safaricom built the stadium or upgraded it is another matter.
You can't change your children's names to those of the advertiser's for peanuts.

well if there was no competing offer sioni! after all the only pride and traditions that are holding us back both of which are utterly useless. what have we gained by keeping Nyayo national stadium as 'Nyayo'? NOTHING!! if you can sell it and it does not go away why do we fight it? its like renting a place for a name!

if I rent you a house you can call it yours - you don't tell you friends "you guys can come to where I rent" but rather "you guys can come to my digs" it's not YOUR digs it belongs to me but you can call it yours when you are paying for it.
safariant
#28 Posted : Saturday, November 30, 2013 11:39:31 AM

african coloner wrote:
Shak wrote:

Emirates belong to arsenal, just like Karuturi stadium or Mumias sugar complex if latter still exists. Those ones can be branded but Wembley belong to state and source of national pride. The same should be Kasarani.

Soccer City in SA is now FNB Stadium
The greatest act of bravery is chancing a fart while suffering from diarrhoea
#29 Posted : Saturday, November 30, 2013 11:59:12 AM

And why all the hullabaloo about putting some advert on KICC? Why the double standards and yet both Kasarani and KICC belong to govt?
#30 Posted : Monday, December 02, 2013 10:11:55 AM

Money Whisperer wrote:
Gathige wrote:
Kasarani is much known for political theatrics than sports- Kasarani Kichinjio, Kaa chini profesa, LDP kumezwa na Jogoo etc . Let's Safcoms green at least lighten the place hata bila pesa.

You say Kasarani I see Wacu. There come a time....

....BTW is there an airport at Kasarani?

Wacu doesnt have an airport?d'oh! d'oh!
Muriel
#31 Posted : Monday, December 02, 2013 10:17:13 AM

And why all the hullabaloo about putting some advert on KICC? Why the double standards and yet both Kasarani and KICC belong to govt?

When I was younger, I used to play a game called 'Spot The Difference'.

The difference is that 'Samsung' is Korean sijui where while 'Safaricom' is ya huku.

See?

#32 Posted : Monday, December 02, 2013 10:20:09 AM

I still don't get this concept of branding the stadiums. Do they retain their names plus the new name? Are they tactical meaning, will the sponsor take for a stipulated time then it's tendered after the contract is over? Is there a contingency or does it retain it's former name when no sponsor takes it?

#33 Posted : Monday, December 02, 2013 10:36:37 AM

Am wrote:
digitek1 wrote:
55m is peanuts

but of course!!!

Like ALWAYS with wings!

Alba
#34 Posted : Monday, December 02, 2013 4:18:28 PM

I still don't get this concept of branding the stadiums. Do they retain their names plus the new name? Are they tactical meaning, will the sponsor take for a stipulated time then it's tendered after the contract is over? Is there a contingency or does it retain it's former name when no sponsor takes it?

I would much rather have a stadium called Safaricom stadium instead of Moi Sports centre.

All stadiums named after Moi and Kenyatta should be renamed. Kenyatta especially because he never did anything for sports. Kenyatta attended a grand total of one football match.

Moi liked sports but he mostly used it for self promotion.
#35 Posted : Wednesday, December 04, 2013 5:19:36 PM

#36 Posted : Wednesday, December 04, 2013 5:46:03 PM

Bunge now says 55m ni pesa kidogo.They too want the MOI name retained and we may start having those long Chinese names like " Safaricom Moi International Sports Complex Kasarani Thika Superhighway"
#37 Posted : Wednesday, December 04, 2013 5:52:23 PM

Nite View
#38 Posted : Wednesday, December 04, 2013 6:05:15 PM

Yaani the couldn't get the word 'Kasarani' right?
#39 Posted : Wednesday, December 04, 2013 6:22:22 PM

chemos wrote:

Nite View

Nite goggles; nice Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Chemos what were you doing there at night?
Alba
#40 Posted : Wednesday, December 04, 2013 7:50:22 PM

Bunge now says 55m ni pesa kidogo.They too want the MOI name retained and we may start having those long Chinese names like " Safaricom Moi International Sports Complex Kasarani Thika Superhighway"

Idle politicians. They do nothing for sports besides politiciking. This is exactly why the Coca Cola deal fell through. And they offered 120m