wazua Tue, Apr 7, 2026

20 Pages«<23456>»
Kikuyus, Please Come (Here)
The Clown
#31 Posted : Wednesday, November 27, 2013 9:02:03 PM

@ Wakanyungi, sorry but I haven't understood your lengthy post.

The original poster (@nesta) asked: "Who came up with the Kikuyu alphabet?".

That's the question that I responded to and I think that's what this discussion is all about- the Gikuyu alphabet. I didn't see the word 'orthography' anywhere.

I studied the language in primary school and that much is clear in my first post. I'm quite happy to parade my ignorance, thank you.

I speak as a user of Gikuyu while you seem to have more of an academic interest in the tongue. So I can't find an appropriate insult in proto-Bantu, whatever that is.

#32 Posted : Wednesday, November 27, 2013 9:25:42 PM

Siringi wrote:
Kikuyu alphabet is fine just the way it is. It only happens to have 2 extra vowel sounds, the ì and the ù. So the vowelsare a, e,i , o, u, ì, ù.

To make it easier for non-kikuyu to pronounce names properly, some kikuyus replace the extra vowels with the "e" for ì and "o" for ù. For sxample, Nderitu for Ndìritù, mureithi for mùrìithi, Thuo for Thuù, etc.

There's no "ch", "sh" in kikuyu. Names such as Macharia are supposed to be spelt as macaria, cege for chege, wacira for wachira, etc. This also has got to do with people wanting to simplify pronunciation for non-kikuyu speakers, imagine one pronouncing macaria as makaria, like in kambas kyalo, most non-kambas will say kyalo instead of chalo.

And this one too. Mark n record. I did vernacular in my formative years.

Why should southern kikuyu(note, not Kiambu but southern as Murang'a does same) pronounce Cege as Shege? It is Sege and Masaria!
#33 Posted: : Wednesday, November 27, 2013 9:27:51 PM

The Clown wrote:
@ Wakanyungi, sorry but I haven't understood your lengthy post.

The original poster (@nesta) asked: "Who came up with the Kikuyu alphabet?".

That's the question that I responded to and I think that's what this discussion is all about- the Gikuyu alphabet. I didn't see the word 'orthography' anywhere.

I studied the language in primary school and that much is clear in my first post. I'm quite happy to parade my ignorance, thank you.

I speak as a user of Gikuyu while you seem to have more of an academic interest in the tongue. So I can't find an appropriate insult in proto-Bantu, whatever that is.

speaking of insults why is ngombe such a bad insult to wasaps
limanika
#34 Posted : Wednesday, November 27, 2013 9:46:05 PM

Siringi wrote:
Kikuyu alphabet is fine just the way it is. It only happens to have 2 extra vowel sounds, the ì and the ù. So the vowelsare a, e,i , o, u, ì, ù.

To make it easier for non-kikuyu to pronounce names properly, some kikuyus replace the extra vowels with the "e" for ì and "o" for ù. For sxample, Nderitu for Ndìritù, mureithi for mùrìithi, Thuo for Thuù, etc.

There's no "ch", "sh" in kikuyu. Names such as Macharia are supposed to be spelt as macaria, cege for chege, wacira for wachira, etc. This also has got to do with people wanting to simplify pronunciation for non-kikuyu speakers, imagine one pronouncing macaria as makaria, like in kambas kyalo, most non-kambas will say kyalo instead of chalo.

Why should southern kikuyu(note, not Kiambu but southern as Murang'a does same) pronounce Cege as Shege? It is Sege and Masaria!

The large separation distance between different Gikuyu groups had some effect on accent. Indeed, when the white man set foot in Kenia around 1840s, the Gikuyu had already grown so large and could not be effectively governed from one center of power due to distance, thick vegetation in between and wild animals, etc thus limiting interaction Hence you hear of gaki, metumi and kabete. These were already growing into splinter sub-tribes just the same way embu, meru and all other Bantu had separated eons earlier. I stand to be collected.
Braza
#35 Posted : Wednesday, November 27, 2013 9:58:31 PM

Pidgin Kikuyu, let Njoro read this for us;
' Muturi alivyoona dog ana-bark, akaamua kubaki nyuma. '
Admin, Luckily; age will one day transform me into an Elder.
urstill1
#36 Posted : Wednesday, November 27, 2013 10:20:02 PM

tresspassing luopean but eager to learn kyuopean.

who speaks the best kyuk?

Eh? That's new to me.
#37 Posted : Wednesday, November 27, 2013 11:12:36 PM

@ still,
kyuopean belongs to the dot.digital,mpesa,mpork,madvd generation.eg
kids be like' we live in 'ga-charage' #read'sharage'in english#
but we all know it 'GACHARAGE'.

Luopean is multiplying/icing/dressing spoken words especially where value is concerned.

sorry i just coined those.

ok lets move on with learning real kyuk.

#38 Posted : Thursday, November 28, 2013 12:31:13 AM

Siringi wrote:

Cege is not pronounced as sege. the c has a distinct pronunciation from s, I don't know how wakanyuhi would describe the sound...maybe dentohiss..he he

B is also not pronounced as an f. In the b the teeth are not involved ,only the lips, but in f, both lips and teeth are involved....

Alphabets that don't exist in kikuyu are: f,l,p,q,s,v,x,z.

Others that don't ever exist on their own are:

D....exists only with n as in "nd"
J.....exists only with n as in "nj"
Hii ndio maana huwa inaleta shinda kwa shida na kushida shinda.

Na kunjaza tumbo ukiwa na jaa.
#39 Posted : Thursday, November 28, 2013 12:32:46 AM

Siringi wrote:

Cege is not pronounced as sege. the c has a distinct pronunciation from s, I don't know how wakanyuhi would describe the sound...maybe dentohiss..he he

B is also not pronounced as an f. In the b the teeth are not involved ,only the lips, but in f, both lips and teeth are involved....

Letters of the Alphabet that don't exist in kikuyu are: f,l,p,q,s,v,x,z.

Others that don't ever exist on their own are:

D....exists only with n as in "nd"
J.....exists only with n as in "nj"
Hii ndio maana huwa inaleta shinda kwa shida na kushida shinda.

Ama in kunjaza tumbo ukiwa na jaa.
Drobos fly
#40 Posted : Thursday, November 28, 2013 1:02:03 AM

@Wakanyuki, it will be worthwhile if you could change the title of this post to "Kenyans please come (here)" and have all communities share their tongue wrenchers/numbing of languages here smile
20 Pages«<23456>»