safariant
#341 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 11:43:42 AM

Thiong'o wrote:
safariant wrote:
[quote=Um Sayala]Applause Applause Applause GOOONERSApplause .

As it stands Dortmund is ahead of Arsenal on head to head if they tie on points.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly You are still wearing your dark goggles at night?smile...Dortmund is no. 3 on that table.Laughing out loudly

Each team still has 2 games to play, 6 points to play for. Will Dortmund still be 3rd by then?

What are you talking about, going into last night's match all three teams were tied on 6 points but Arsenal were top of the group due to their better head to head record than Dortmund and Napoli, Sasa how can Dortmund be ahead yet we beat them at home? IMO all Arsenal need to do now is win against Marseille and we are through!

@ TAZ, from the analysis here,
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/24747790
Even if the Gunners beat bottom side Marseille at the Emirates on 26 November, they could still need to pick up a point at Napoli in their final group game in order to secure their progress.

Sawa but maybe ni mimi sielewei, if "Arsenal arrived here in Germany top of Group F by the thinnest of margins – Uefa's method of separating sides by their head-to-head record has them leading a trio of teams on six points" and that's after we lost 2-1 at home, why would Dortmund or Napoli be better off now?

@Mc Reggae why don't explain it to me since you seem to understand the head-to-head rule better. Why exactly were we at the top of the group yet were level on points but had lost a home match against Dortmund.

Remember the SA fiasco in AFCON qualifiers?

The reason why Arsenal was top of the group despite losing to Dortmund was because of the head to head result of the 3 tied teams, ie Napoli, Dortmund and Arsenal.

Dortmund and Napoli had won 2-1 vs Arsenal & Dortmund, while Arsenal had won 2-0 vs Napoli. Arsenal was leading on goal difference in a mini league of the 3 tied teams.
Results vs Marseille dont count in such a case.

Arsenal should aim for 4 point to be in control of their destiny.
The greatest act of bravery is chancing a fart while suffering from diarrhoea
#342 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 12:40:07 PM

@ Safariant.....Agreed but Dortmund and Napoli probably have a lot more to do than Arsenal, like i explained in one of my posts if Arsenal beat Marseille and Dortmund win their two remaining fixtures, Napoli would have to beat Arsenal by 3 clear goals to qualify.....not impossible but highly unlikely.

ION, this year we've won away against two of last season's CL finalists smile . Only the second team in 61 matches to keep a clean sheet at the Signal Iduna Park. smile .
#343 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 1:15:10 PM

dossy7 wrote:
bkismat wrote:
Now that Arsenal have finished with the very hard fixtures in November we can start with the easy fixtures starting with Manure on Sunday.

Applause Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause Applause Applause Applause

I hear some are still saying that Arsenal has not been tested.
LMAO

Ati they have not tested any team above them...yet they are above any team.

#344 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 2:19:50 PM

Arsenal will be tested on Sunday...hehe, after that, tutakubali. In such matches, current form does not always count. Mark my words
#345 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 2:28:18 PM

Arsenal will be tested on Sunday...hehe, after that, tutakubali. In such matches, current form does not always count. Mark my words

I have marked your words.

#346 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 3:36:00 PM

Lakini kutakalika kweli mkashinda?
#347 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 3:45:57 PM

Dortmund fans react to Ramsey goal Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

bebeto
#348 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 5:05:14 PM

Thats why am a bit guarded...and in the same breath, dont use it as a measure( googles ama nini?)
"The chief danger in life is that you may take too many precautions" - Alfred adler
chris79
#349 Posted : Friday, November 08, 2013 3:14:43 PM

@ Safariant.....Agreed but Dortmund and Napoli probably have a lot more to do than Arsenal, like i explained in one of my posts if Arsenal beat Marseille and Dortmund win their two remaining fixtures, Napoli would have to beat Arsenal by 3 clear goals to qualify.....not impossible but highly unlikely.

ION, this year we've won away against two of last season's CL finalists smile . Only the second team in 61 matches to keep a clean sheet at the Signal Iduna Park. smile .

@Taz see the full analysis herePermutations

Group F
Remaining fixtures: Arsenal vs. Marseille, Dortmund vs. Napoli; Napoli vs. Arsenal, Marseille vs. Dortmund

Has any team qualified yet? No, though Marseille have been eliminated from Europe altogether.

Who can qualify on Matchday Five? Arsenal, who are at home to Marseille, will qualify if they better Dortmund's result at home to Napoli. Matching results would not be enough as Dortmund lead Arsenal on head-to-head away goals. Napoli will qualify if they draw at the Westfalenstadion, as they would lead Dortmund on head to head.

The group picture: Dortmund have it all to do and their home game with Napoli next time out has suddenly become a must-win. If Arsenal claim the expected home win against Marseille, then Dortmund will face the Europa League if they have not picked up maximum points, too. Napoli have the harder fixtures and must weigh up the danger of playing for a draw in Dortmund. If the three teams all finish on 12 points, and therefore Marseille on zero, the group will come down to a mini-league of head-to-head goal difference with the three teams currently split by just three goals.

#350 Posted : Friday, November 08, 2013 3:29:13 PM

I am surprised at the comments made by Man U fans in this thread this week. Man U can easily find themselves in Europa than Arsenal.
urstill1
#351 Posted : Friday, November 08, 2013 3:43:29 PM

chris79 wrote:

@Taz see the full analysis herePermutations

Group F
Remaining fixtures: Arsenal vs. Marseille, Dortmund vs. Napoli; Napoli vs. Arsenal, Marseille vs. Dortmund

Has any team qualified yet? No, though Marseille have been eliminated from Europe altogether.

Who can qualify on Matchday Five? Arsenal, who are at home to Marseille, will qualify if they better Dortmund's result at home to Napoli. Matching results would not be enough as Dortmund lead Arsenal on head-to-head away goals. Napoli will qualify if they draw at the Westfalenstadion, as they would lead Dortmund on head to head.

The group picture: Dortmund have it all to do and their home game with Napoli next time out has suddenly become a must-win. If Arsenal claim the expected home win against Marseille, then Dortmund will face the Europa League if they have not picked up maximum points, too. Napoli have the harder fixtures and must weigh up the danger of playing for a draw in Dortmund. If the three teams all finish on 12 points, and therefore Marseille on zero, the group will come down to a mini-league of head-to-head goal difference with the three teams currently split by just three goals.

Remember BVB can thrash Napoli for a better head to head.
#352 Posted : Friday, November 08, 2013 4:07:26 PM

I am surprised at the comments made by Man U fans in this thread this week. Man U can easily find themselves in Europa than Arsenal.

Stop smoking that stuff you are on!!!
#353 Posted : Friday, November 08, 2013 4:10:38 PM

Dortmund fans react to Ramsey goal Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

kiriita
#354 Posted : Friday, November 08, 2013 8:34:46 PM

Toxicity wrote:

These suckers: TONIGHT:

19:55 SS5 Zenit v Porto
22:00 SS3 Barcelona v AC Milan
22:40 SS5 Borussia Dortmund v Arsenal
22:40 SS6 Chelsea v Schalke
22:40 SS7 Ajax v Celtic
22:40 SS8 Napoli v Marseille

d'oh! Effing wankers! Hio nitaonea kwa bar! What wankers!!!!

Dstv are very silly why did they come up with compact plus in the first plaće wangewacha tu..tuendelee kuonea kwa bar!! compe?

Conmen, the fact is that Kenyans would rather watch any match where an EPL team is involved rather than the top billed matches like Barca/AC Milan!!!

Just seen on BLITZ: Supersport re-awarded broadcast rights for 2015 - 2018 for UCL & EUROPA for Sub-Saharan Africa & nearby islands.....
#355 Posted : Monday, November 11, 2013 11:45:09 AM

jguru wrote:
YES!

Arsenal have won it!

First English team to ever win at Dortmund!

Uram
#356 Posted : Tuesday, November 26, 2013 1:07:41 PM

Tonight Matches

FC Basel vs Chelsea
Steaua Bucuresti vs Schalke 04
Arsenal vs Marseille
Borussia Dortmund vs Napoli
Zenit St Petersburg vs Atletico Madrid
FC Porto vs Austria Vienna
Ajax Amsterdam vs Barcelona
Celtic vs AC Milan
#357 Posted : Tuesday, November 26, 2013 2:41:08 PM

Group of death permutuations

Standing now after 4 matches:
Arsenal 9
Napoli 9
Dortmund 6
Marseille 0

Arsenal win + Napoli wins - Arsenal and Napoli qualify but have to decide in the last game who will win the group.

Arsenal win + Dortmund win - In that case Arsenal is still not 100% sure of qualification for the knockout round as crazy as that may sound. Because Dortmund and Napoli could also come to 12 points if they win their final match. And then the results of the 3 clubs amongst each other will be looked at to decide who will go to the knockout round and who will go to join Tottenham on Thursdays…

If Arsenal win + Napoli and Dortmund draw - Arsenal is then sure of qualification but not sure of the first place in the group.

If we draw + Napoli win - Napoli and Arsenal qualify but have to decide who wins the group at the last day in Napoli.

If we draw + Napoli and Dortmund draw - Dortmund could still get level on points with Arsenal or Napoli. In that case a draw between Arsenal and Napoli on the final day would see them both qualified for the next round.

If we draw + Dormund wins against Napoli - A draw in Napoli would see us to the knock out stages but maybe not as top of the group
#358 Posted : Tuesday, November 26, 2013 3:22:05 PM

Another night of Champions league football!!!!.....who will fall?
#359 Posted : Tuesday, November 26, 2013 4:38:40 PM

Arsenal vs Mersaille on supersport 5. SMH this people took people for a ride with the compact plus package.
No more good champions league game in the house nowadays.
#360 Posted : Tuesday, November 26, 2013 4:42:57 PM

dossy7 wrote:
Arsenal vs Mersaille on supersport 5. SMH this people took people for a ride with the compact plus package.
No more good champions league game in the house nowadays.

NKT:

Tuesday:

19:55 SS5 Zenit v Atletico Madrid
22:00 SS3 Ajax v Barcelona
22:15 SSM Porto v Austria Wien
22:40 SS5 Arsenal v Marseille
22:40 SS6 Basel v Chelsea
22:40 SS7 Celtic v AC Milan
22:40 SS8 Borussia Dortmund v Napoli

Wednesday: At leasy we'll get United:

17:55 SS5 CSKA Moscow v Bayern Munich
22:00 SS3 Bayer Leverkusen v Man Utd
22:15 SSM Anderlecht v Benfica
22:40 SS5 Real Madrid v Galatasaray
22:40 SS6 Man City v Plzen
22:40 SS7 Juventus v Fc Copenhagen
22:45 SS8 PSG v Olympiacos