wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

Sachin Tendulkar retires
#1 Posted : Saturday, November 16, 2013 9:54:28 PM

One of the greatest sportsman in history has retired, a very humble man who has touched and is loved by a huge part of the worlds population.
#2 Posted : Saturday, November 16, 2013 10:18:57 PM

One of the greatest sportsman in history has retired, a very humble man who has touched and is loved by a huge part of the worlds population.

Kumbe siko pekee yangu...looking at Sachin's stats! That will be a tough act to emulate. Twenty four year international career. ..200 tests, most centuries, most fifties, most innings,highest score in an ODI,1,000 or more Test runs in a calendar year six times: 1997, 1999, 2001, 2002, 2008, 2010...Good bye little master we bow to your elegance and supremacy...
You remember the banners during the World Cup in India? 'Cricket is our religion, Sachin is our god'
amazing...there will be none other...
Yaani, his career began in 1989. The next oldest guy in the team, M S Dhoni's, international career begun in 2004!

The closest person in runs is Ricky Ponting whom as we all know is retired...
cnn
#3 Posted : Saturday, November 16, 2013 11:50:43 PM

Kumbe siko pekee yangu...looking at Sachin's stats! That will be a tough act to emulate. Twenty four year international career. ..200 tests, most centuries, most fifties, most innings,highest score in an ODI,1,000 or more Test runs in a calendar year six times: 1997, 1999, 2001, 2002, 2008, 2010...Good bye little master we bow to your elegance and supremacy...
You remember the banners during the World Cup in India? 'Cricket is our religion, Sachin is our god'
Yaani, his career began in 1989. The next oldest guy in the team, M S Dhoni's, international career begun in 2004!

Jacques Kallis if he stays fit and in good form could just set get to the one day total ,but watching Sachin has been a joy ,in few years some of my favourites have retired ,Lara ,Gilchrist ,Hayden ....a new generation of entertainers should step up .
#4 Posted : Sunday, November 17, 2013 10:42:29 AM

cnn wrote:

Jacques Kallis if he stays fit and in good form could just set get to the one day total ,but watching Sachin has been a joy ,in few years some of my favourites have retired ,Lara ,Gilchrist ,Hayden ....a new generation of entertainers should step up .

Kallis hatafikia Tendulkar....the closest was Sir Brian Charles Lara...only the two were ever invited for tea by "Don"Bradman...Hayden was a smash the ball kind of batsman who after breaking Lara's highest test score...was it 390?....fizzled out for Lara to reclaim it at 400 not out...Gilchrist had an explosive left handed batting style and being a wicket keeper....made him one of the foremost utility players. .a must have in any side....like the current New Zealander Brendan McCullum....having said the aforesaid...those players would rule the cricket world for aeons to come...there is no one batsman at present of such calibre...in my assessment.....Shane Watson of Australia has skill and youth on his side with a little discipline...who knows.
oltome
#5 Posted : Sunday, November 17, 2013 11:10:12 AM

cnn wrote:

Kallis hatafikia Tendulkar....the closest was Sir Brian Charles Lara...only the two were ever invited for tea by "Don"Bradman...Hayden was a smash the ball kind of batsman who after breaking Lara's highest test score...was it 390?....fizzled out for Lara to reclaim it at 400 not out...Gilchrist had an explosive left handed batting style and being a wicket keeper....made him one of the foremost utility players. .a must have in any side....like the current New Zealander Brendan McCullum....having said the aforesaid...those players would rule the cricket world for aeons to come...there is no one batsman at present of such calibre...in my assessment.....Shane Watson of Australia has skill and youth on his side with a little discipline...who knows.

Ala kumbe tuko wengi ivo smile Sachin's retirement brings down the curtain on Indias golden generation of cricket also retired are vvs laxman, gautam gambhir, virender sehwag and a man who i consider a peer of tendulkar 'the prince of kolkata' sourav ganguly
@Maka the person who i think will get close to sachins record in test matches is the current england captain alastair cook, he has already smashed several british records
#6 Posted : Sunday, November 17, 2013 11:56:24 AM

cricket...would rather watch grass grow.
#7 Posted : Sunday, November 17, 2013 12:34:03 PM

mkenyan wrote:

He he its an interesting game...never used to watch it but it rubbed onto me after hanging around peeps who love it...
#8 Posted : Sunday, November 17, 2013 3:53:20 PM

mkenyan wrote:

He he its an interesting game...never used to watch it but it rubbed onto me after hanging around peeps who love it...

I wish I understood it. What happened to Kenya BTW?
#9 Posted : Sunday, November 17, 2013 6:43:04 PM

mkenyan wrote:

guess the interest faded and lack of major sponsors killed all the energy that had been generated after 2003 world cup.
#10 Posted : Sunday, November 17, 2013 11:51:44 PM

mkenyan wrote:

guess the interest faded and lack of major sponsors killed all the energy that had been generated after 2003 world cup.

rock
#11 Posted : Monday, November 18, 2013 7:23:27 AM

mkenyan wrote:

Would even rather take a video of the growth and watch it again next time a match is on.
#12 Posted : Monday, November 18, 2013 8:05:51 AM

Little Master retires.....cricket loses another legend!
#13 Posted : Monday, November 18, 2013 8:20:29 AM

mkenyan wrote:

same here. I first had interest in cricket when Kenya went to the worldcup. Its quite interesting. I still remember sachin destorying us.
cnn
#14 Posted : Monday, November 18, 2013 11:14:59 AM

oltome wrote:
cnn wrote:

Ala kumbe tuko wengi ivo smile Sachin's retirement brings down the curtain on Indias golden generation of cricket also retired are vvs laxman, gautam gambhir, virender sehwag and a man who i consider a peer of tendulkar 'the prince of kolkata' sourav ganguly
@Maka the person who i think will get close to sachins record in test matches is the current england captain alastair cook, he has already smashed several british records

For me the best English batsman is one who is out and a bowler who is being smashed to the boundaries.Meaning in the last three years i have had to endure some painful matches where England were playing.
#15 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 11:30:05 PM

Us Cricket buffs are being spoilt.SuperSport has launched a 24 hour cricket channel (SS2 & SS2HD) to run from tonight until April 6th, 2014
cnn
#16 Posted : Sunday, November 24, 2013 11:01:17 AM

Aust ralia thrash England by 381 runs in the first Ashes test ,second innings centuries by Clarke and Warner helping Aussies set a big total but it is the bowling that did it for Austalia ,Johnson with a five wicket haul in the second innings ...second test in Adelaide .
#17 Posted : Sunday, November 24, 2013 12:42:35 PM

let me explain cricket to those who don't understand the rules or how it is played. In Cricket you have two sides, one out in the field and one that's in. Each man that's in the side that's in goes out, and when he's out he comes in to bat and the next man goes in until he's out. When they are all out, the side that's out comes in and the side that's been in goes out and tries to get those coming in, out. Sometimes you get men still in and not out.
When a man goes out to go in, the men who are out try to get him out, and when he is out he goes in and the next man in goes out and goes in. There are two men called umpires who stay all out all the time but are in the field and they decide when the men who are in are out. When both sides have been in and all the men have out, and both sides have been out twice after all the men have been in, including those who are not out, that is the end of the game!
#18 Posted : Sunday, November 24, 2013 1:37:53 PM

let me explain cricket to those who don't understand the rules or how it is played. In Cricket you have two sides, one out in the field and one that's in. Each man that's in the side that's in goes out, and when he's out he comes in to bat and the next man goes in until he's out. When they are all out, the side that's out comes in and the side that's been in goes out and tries to get those coming in, out. Sometimes you get men still in and not out.
When a man goes out to go in, the men who are out try to get him out, and when he is out he goes in and the next man in goes out and goes in. There are two men called umpires who stay all out all the time but are in the field and they decide when the men who are in are out. When both sides have been in and all the men have out, and both sides have been out twice after all the men have been in, including those who are not out, that is the end of the game!

You must have had a wonderful nightsmile

cnn
#19 Posted : Sunday, November 24, 2013 4:24:52 PM

When a man goes out to go in, the men who are out try to get him out, and when he is out he goes in and the next man in goes out and goes in. There are two men called umpires who stay all out all the time but are in the field and they decide when the men who are in are out. When both sides have been in and all the men have out, and both sides have been out twice[b] after all the men have been in, including those who are not out, that is the end of the game!

In test cricket (where the match takes place for 3,4 or 5 days )if the second team batting does not get close enough to the total set by the first team it can be forced to bat again immediately after all its men are bowled out (it is forced to follow on ).The difference in runs required to enforce the follow on depends on whether it is a five,four or three day test match.cricket.And if the team forced to follow on still does not get to the first team innings total the match is lost,so the first team does not have to bat a second time.....in limited overs cricket (where the match must be completed in one day)which can be 20 or 50 overs ,the first team batting sets a total for the second batting team to chase.So each team bats only once .
#20 Posted : Sunday, November 24, 2013 4:36:47 PM

Just trying to understand this gives me a headache.