#61 Posted : Saturday, November 23, 2013 9:20:39 AM

It's true the diplomats didn't follow the right protocol. However kenya should stop behaving like those rebelious 16yr olds who think they know more than the mother and even abuse her. Britain is like a grandparent who deserves maximum respect. Kenya owes it's founding/existence to Britain, just like the western civilized world - the US, Canada, Australia etc. which were founded by Britain.

i have beef in the way they did it... should we be grateful that they sat somewhere in berlin and drew up imaginary lines that divided us? should we be grateful that they gave Kilimanjaro to the germans as a birthday present? the creation of african states is a problem that was created by them and will haunt you for years to come.... we speak like 'kenyans' and speak against 'tanzanians' these are just in your heads. Kenya is an idea... there is no physical place called Kenya... its in your heads and on a piece of paper called a map.
Africa on the other hand is a very real place!!

who remembers this? the "The Rhodes Colossus" – cartoon

Of course it was all about the empire. For Britain, Kenya is like a 100th born kid who is throwing tantrums. I have had the opportunity to visit and live in Britain for some time and explore it's history. Visited structures built by Romans in 43AD when Britain was conquered by the Romans and was an outpost of the Roman empire. Saw how England/Britain survived through the Roman, Spanish, ottoman empires to become the supreme world power 'where the sun never sets' with colonies spanning from Hong Kong to Australia to India to Africa to Jamaica to the US to Canada. They colonized Kenya just the other day in 1890 and were here for some 70yrs and gave us independence in the1963. And now 50yrs later in 2013AD some little known deputy governor in one of their former tiny colonies called Kenya has the guts to show them the middle finger? Unbelievable!

What is Kenya supposed to do then?

Prostrate itself and kiss Queen Elizabeth II's feet.

indeed kowtow to her Majesty!! its only by her permission we live and be if she wished she could erase kenya off a piece of paper called a map and we would disappear that instance.

Of course i said that with a light touch. What we should do is engage others with civility.
#62 Posted : Saturday, November 23, 2013 10:03:13 AM

Money Whisperer wrote:
I can never be grateful to the brits for creating Kenya because they didn't do it for my sake but for their own selfish ends. They should have left us to our own means and we would have made it all the same. our forefathers were doing fine

Of course it was all about their interests.....expanding the empire. And while they were doing it, they fast tracked us into the world economy, and also left us with a working nation 50yrs ago. Of course they never knew they would leave one day and thus had invested alot in infrastructure -railways, roads, kilindini port, embakasi airport, founded all our towns which were their administrative units, founded the blue chip companies that are making us millionaires at the NSE today such as EABL, barclays, Williamson tea, BAT etc etc.....even founded our premier schools kina Nairobi sch, Kenya high, UoN, residential estates like Lavington, Muthaiga, Karen etc etc. Infact we are joined with Britain at the hip. Yes colonialism was bad but it was like some kind of shock therapy that transformed our society to a modern one.
Nabwire
#63 Posted : Saturday, November 23, 2013 10:08:49 AM

Money Whisperer wrote:
I can never be grateful to the brits for creating Kenya because they didn't do it for my sake but for their own selfish ends. They should have left us to our own means and we would have made it all the same. our forefathers were doing fine

Of course it was all about their interests.....expanding the empire. And while they were doing it, they fast tracked us into the world economy, and also left us with a working nation 50yrs ago. Of course they never knew they would leave one day and thus had invested alot in infrastructure -railways, roads, kilindini port, embakasi airport, founded all our towns which were their administrative units, founded the blue chip companies that are making us millionaires at the NSE today such as EABL, barclays, Williamson tea, BAT etc etc.....even founded our premier schools kina Nairobi sch, Kenya high, UoN, residential estates like Lavington, Muthaiga, Karen etc etc. Infact we are joined with Britain at the hip.

Damn bro, do you not have any pride whatsoever?! Remember that little thing called colonization, I bet you are the "Colonization was the greatest thing to happen to Africa" kind. Prostrate in private, mimi siwezi kamwe!!! Shame on you Liar
Nandwa
#64 Posted : Saturday, November 23, 2013 10:20:07 AM

If the kicking out had happened elsewhere say in Kakamega or Siaya, would the reasoning here be the same!

That aside, my take is that whatever the circumstances, the Eld incident was uncalled for. The County Government officers went overboard. Their actions can not objectively be said to be in the best interest of the people of Kenya.

Just as absolute power corrupts leaders, so does absolute fanaticism blind the people from logic
#65 Posted : Saturday, November 23, 2013 10:29:56 AM

Nabwire wrote:
Money Whisperer wrote:

Of course it was all about their interests.....expanding the empire. And while they were doing it, they fast tracked us into the world economy, and also left us with a working nation 50yrs ago. Of course they never knew they would leave one day and thus had invested alot in infrastructure -railways, roads, kilindini port, embakasi airport, founded all our towns which were their administrative units, founded the blue chip companies that are making us millionaires at the NSE today such as EABL, barclays, Williamson tea, BAT etc etc.....even founded our premier schools kina Nairobi sch, Kenya high, UoN, residential estates like Lavington, Muthaiga, Karen etc etc. Infact we are joined with Britain at the hip.

Damn bro, do you not have any pride whatsoever?! Remember that little thing called colonization, I bet you are the "Colonization was the greatest thing to happen to Africa" kind. Prostrate in private, mimi siwezi kamwe!!! Shame on you Liar

As i have said above colonialism was bad, a crime against humanity. However i was just saying the brits laid the foundation of the country and we have built upon that. eg we have founded universities kina Moi, Pwani etc, companies like equity etc, towns like salgaa etc, estates like syokimau, rongai etc. We have even built our 47 county govts from the colonial demarcations.
#66 Posted : Saturday, November 23, 2013 10:30:08 AM

I cannot get enough of the panafricanist, africanist nonsense I hear every time some acts like a buffoon

Chasing the diplomats was exactly how jilted lovers behave. Nothing to do with sovereignty and all that other nonsence being told on this thread.

Ujinga hauna borders

And this time, this was the biggest act of stupidity Kenyans have shown since something personal was made national and the africanist led by one matsanga decided that the whole world must suffer their personal problems.
#67 Posted : Saturday, November 23, 2013 10:53:17 AM

It's true the diplomats didn't follow the right protocol. However kenya should stop behaving like those rebelious 16yr olds who think they know more than the mother and even abuse her. Britain is like a grandparent who deserves maximum respect. Kenya owes it's founding/existence to Britain, just like the western civilized world - the US, Canada, Australia etc. which were founded by Britain.

i have beef in the way they did it... should we be grateful that they sat somewhere in berlin and drew up imaginary lines that divided us? should we be grateful that they gave Kilimanjaro to the germans as a birthday present? the creation of african states is a problem that was created by them and will haunt you for years to come.... we speak like 'kenyans' and speak against 'tanzanians' these are just in your heads. Kenya is an idea... there is no physical place called Kenya... its in your heads and on a piece of paper called a map.

Of course it was all about the empire. For Britain, Kenya is like a 100th born kid who is throwing tantrums. I have had the opportunity to visit and live in Britain for some time and explore it's history. Visited structures built by Romans in 43AD when Britain was conquered by the Romans and was an outpost of the Roman empire. Saw how England/Britain survived through the Roman, Spanish, ottoman empires to become the supreme world power 'where the sun never sets' with colonies spanning from Hong Kong to Australia to India to Africa to Jamaica to Ireland to the US to Canada. They colonized Kenya just the other day in 1890 and were here for some 70yrs and gave us independence in the1963. And now 50yrs later in 2013AD some little known deputy governor in one of their former tiny colonies called Kenya has the guts to show them the middle finger? Unbelievable!

It is NOT Kenya doing that, its TWO people using us as pawns. First they kill 1000 of us with PEV, now they want us economically broke and an international laughing stock.

boss get this through your thick skull... the very fact that you are black makes you a laughing stock... hata ikiwa kenya itakuw the best run country in the world hata if we beat the rest of the world.... Africa is a laughing stock - why? because we live in an imperfect world. they will not start laughing at you now.... they have been. my advice is to use your own ruler to measure your progress - wacha kujaribu ku'fit' in - it will never work in the current setting the best you can become is a spectacle.

Mboss, from this statement you wish so much to be like the people you detest. Why have you only picked on 'Laughing stock' and whom is it that you presume to laugh at us?

Case in point is Nigeria.. A Nigerian in Kenya is viewed with suspicious eyes. If someone had the option of doing business with any other country, and Nigeria(all things constant) they'd opt other countries. Why? Reputation of its people. Chinese goods are suspect, why? Reputation.

We do international business, seek employment outside, travel for leisure, medical treatments etc now imagine with all these debacles how others view us. It is no wonder Tanzanians are apprehensive of us. 40+ Million Kenyans are being held hostage by 2 people. Not fair!

i don't detest them..... i have said this over and over again. secondly - reputation is a good thing to have however the better thing to have is a good reputation and a good product. reputation of being 'good people' is only useful if you have a competing product!! Nigerians seem to be doing so well with their bad reputation. Lagos has an economy 2 times the size of Kenya! Chinese goods are suspect but people buy them anyway - why? bad reputation but a tangiable product. We kenyans are protecting our reputation and yet we have no product to sell bwana. do you think a country will deny you a visa in your personal capacity to do business because UK chased some diplomats?

disclaimer - THIS IS NOT TO CONDONE THE ACTIONS THAT TOOK PLACE IN ELD.
#68 Posted : Saturday, November 23, 2013 11:39:44 AM

Enyewe we should know people UK is one of the countries that we have a +ve balance of trade with. We are not being good business men when we pull moves like this.
#69 Posted : Saturday, November 23, 2013 11:44:33 AM

At least during campaigns those who kicked out the wabeberus in Eldoret will be popular with their people.I would like to hear the opinion of Kaleos on the matter.
Pedes
#70 Posted : Saturday, November 23, 2013 12:22:32 PM

Of course it was all about the empire. For Britain, Kenya is like a 100th born kid who is throwing tantrums. I have had the opportunity to visit and live in Britain for some time and explore it's history. Visited structures built by Romans in 43AD when Britain was conquered by the Romans and was an outpost of the Roman empire. Saw how England/Britain survived through the Roman, Spanish, ottoman empires to become the supreme world power 'where the sun never sets' with colonies spanning from Hong Kong to Australia to India to Africa to Jamaica to Ireland to the US to Canada. They colonized Kenya just the other day in 1890 and were here for some 70yrs and gave us independence in the1963. And now 50yrs later in 2013AD some little known deputy governor in one of their former tiny colonies called Kenya has the guts to show them the middle finger? Unbelievable!

It is NOT Kenya doing that, its TWO people using us as pawns. First they kill 1000 of us with PEV, now they want us economically broke and an international laughing stock.

boss get this through your thick skull... the very fact that you are black makes you a laughing stock... hata ikiwa kenya itakuw the best run country in the world hata if we beat the rest of the world.... Africa is a laughing stock - why? because we live in an imperfect world. they will not start laughing at you now.... they have been. my advice is to use your own ruler to measure your progress - wacha kujaribu ku'fit' in - it will never work in the current setting the best you can become is a spectacle.

Mboss, from this statement you wish so much to be like the people you detest. Why have you only picked on 'Laughing stock' and whom is it that you presume to laugh at us?

Case in point is Nigeria.. A Nigerian in Kenya is viewed with suspicious eyes. If someone had the option of doing business with any other country, and Nigeria(all things constant) they'd opt other countries. Why? Reputation of its people. Chinese goods are suspect, why? Reputation.

We do international business, seek employment outside, travel for leisure, medical treatments etc now imagine with all these debacles how others view us. It is no wonder Tanzanians are apprehensive of us. 40+ Million Kenyans are being held hostage by 2 people. Not fair!

i don't detest them..... i have said this over and over again. secondly - reputation is a good thing to have however the better thing to have is a good reputation and a good product. reputation of being 'good people' is only useful if you have a competing product!! Nigerians seem to be doing so well with their bad reputation. Lagos has an economy 2 times the size of Kenya! Chinese goods are suspect but people buy them anyway - why? bad reputation but a tangiable product. We kenyans are protecting our reputation and yet we have no product to sell bwana. do you think a country will deny you a visa in your personal capacity to do business because UK chased some diplomats?

disclaimer - THIS IS NOT TO CONDONE THE ACTIONS THAT TOOK PLACE IN ELD.

Has this hotel-ejection issue even registered in the UK?
If you stay ready, no need to get ready.
13 Pages«<56789>»