8 Pages«<34567>»
FIFA 2014 World Cup Qualifiers
#81 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 1:16:29 PM

I have a feeling Burkinabe will qualify, Algeria are not as strong as they used to be plus the West Africans will probably defend from start to finish, they have the capacity to do just that....in the first leg they were a bit open at the back but they were the home team and had to go for goals. They'll also have Alaine Traore and their all-time leading scorer Moumouni Dagano available for the match, they might also have an impact on the match though their best player is still Pitroipa.

France Vs Ukraine will be a very interesting match, the French can still qualify. Koscielny will miss the match but will probably be replaced by L'pools Sakho. Ukraine will also be without two of their top defenders who are suspended for the match. The French can still qualify but Ribery, Giroud, Benzema and Nasri have to be on top of their game tonight.

The Sweden Vs Portugal match is also mouth-watering, it will be a huge blow for CR7 if Portugal were to miss the WC. He will be 29 yrs next year so this might be he's only realistic chance of making an impact at that level. They go into tonight's match with the smallest of advantages.....IMO i think Sweden will qualify!

The same applies to Ibrahimovic, dude has been in top form this season and it's 2014 or never for him. The winner of the match in Sweden will qualify. Algeria just needs a 1:0 win at home to qualify, I believe they will hack that one. France should be able to overcome Ukraine.
#82 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 1:27:02 PM

Italy - Nigeria match last night was the best international friendly I have watched in recent years!!!
#83 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 1:53:31 PM

Italy - Nigeria match last night was the best international friendly I have watched in recent years!!!

I agree, it was a very good game end to end stuff though I'm still not convinced that Nigeria will go far in Brazil. Last night they played an Italian side without most of their first team players, i think the only player who featured was Balotelli and Pirlo (who was introduced in the 2nd half). The likes of Buffon, Abate, Bonucci, Barzagli, De Rossi and Marchisio (who's arguably their best player) were all rested.....sijui kama ni madharau or the coach just wanted to give the bench players some much needed play time. Anyway back to Nigeria, the last time Nigeria won a match at the World Cup finals was in 1998 against Bulgaria....i really hope this time they'll perform better otherwise i think Africa's hopes will probably be on Ghana and maybe Ivory Coast.

bebeto
#84 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 2:08:26 PM

I agree, it was a very good game end to end stuff though I'm still not convinced that Nigeria will go far in Brazil. Last night they played an Italian side without most of their first team players, i think the only player who featured was Balotelli and Pirlo (who was introduced in the 2nd half). The likes of Buffon, Abate, Bonucci, Barzagli, De Rossi and Marchisio (who's arguably their best player) were all rested.....sijui kama ni madharau or the coach just wanted to give the bench players some much needed play time. Anyway back to Nigeria, the last time Nigeria won a match at the World Cup finals was in 1998 against Bulgaria....i really hope this time they'll perform better otherwise i think Africa's hopes will probably be on Ghana and maybe Ivory Coast.

That was a team as good as they come. i still recall the match vs Spain, the Sunday Oliseh 35-yard screamer. Current Real Madrid sporting director, Zubizareta, the then goalkeeper, remained rooted to his spot all the way through. twas a gem of a goal.
"The chief danger in life is that you may take too many precautions" - Alfred adler
#85 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 2:13:18 PM

bebeto wrote:

That was a team as good as they come. i still recall the match vs Spain, the Sunday Oliseh 35-yard screamer. Current Real Madrid sporting director, Zubizareta, the then goalkeeper, remained rooted to his spot all the way through. twas a gem of a goal.

Nigerian players just need to be paid well, otherwise they will keep taking the hongos and underperforming!!!!
urstill1
#86 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 2:24:40 PM

The same applies to Ibrahimovic, dude has been in top form this season and it's 2014 or never for him. The winer of the match in Sweden will qualify. Algeria just needs a 1:0 win at home to qualify, I believe they will hack that one. France should be able to overcome Ukraine.

I do not agree. If Sweden wins by 2-1 or any other scores with a difference of 1, they do not qualify.
#87 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 2:29:28 PM

urstill1 wrote:
The same applies to Ibrahimovic, dude has been in top form this season and it's 2014 or never for him. The winer of the match in Sweden will qualify. Algeria just needs a 1:0 win at home to qualify, I believe they will hack that one. France should be able to overcome Ukraine.

I do not agree. If Sweden wins by 2-1 or any other scores with a difference of 1, they do not qualify.

Copied!!!!.......though a 1:0 win would lead to penalties where difference of 1 goal could still make a team qualify ama?
#88 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 2:32:51 PM

urstill1 wrote:

Copied!!!!.......though a 1:0 win would lead to penalties where difference of 1 goal could still make a team qualify ama?

Wekeni list yenu hapa we compare notes tomorrow not just poking other people's lists....
#89 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 2:37:27 PM

urstill1 wrote:

Wekeni list yenu hapa we compare notes tomorrow not just poking other people's lists....

Heheh:
Mine are Sweden, France, Algeria, Greece & Croatia!!!
urstill1
#90 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 2:40:36 PM

urstill1 wrote:

Only Portugal qualifies outrightly with a difference of 1. Sweden ni mapena ama wabaki Stockholm
urstill1
#91 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 2:44:52 PM

urstill1 wrote:

Heheh:

Portugal, Ukraine, Greece, Croatia, Burkinabes(Though that's a tough one).
githundi
#92 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 2:50:01 PM

bebeto wrote:
Alba wrote:
Yaani in 2004, Kenya destroyed Burkina Faso. See below

http://kenyapage.net/football/matches/anc-04.html

In 1997, Kenya beat Burkina Faso both home and away. Remember when Mike Okoth scored four goals ?

And now the Burkinabe are on the verge of qualifying. Na Kenya tunazubaa tu

The Burkinabe will fall in Algeria!!!

Final day for qualification for Africa & Europe:

18:30 SS3 Egypt v Ghana
20:55 SS5 Romania v Greece
21:00 SS3 Algeria v Burkina Faso
21:10 SS8 Croatia v Iceland
21:40 SS6 Sweden v Portugal
22:55 SS7 France v Ukraine

International friendlies:
G
22:55 SS5 England v Germany
21:30 SS4 South Africa v Spain

Burkinabes are our whipping boys. Have they ever beaten us?

Those ones we nyorosha them any day!!!

My prediction; Burkina Faso, Greece, Ukraine, Portugal, Ghana and Croatia will go through.
Democracy does not belong to the dead
#93 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 2:53:53 PM

My bet is on Sweden, Greece, Burkina Faso, Croatia and France.

@Urstill1.....Very few top European teams lose their home matches, i think Sweden will win tonight just not sure if the goal margin will be enough to see them through.
MADE
#94 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 3:05:55 PM

bebeto wrote:

Nigerian players just need to be paid well, otherwise they will keep taking the hongos and underperforming!!!!

I vividly remember that golden era of Nigerian futbol. i can name the entire squad with nostalgia

Age is transforming me into an Elder;becoz Admin hasn't made me one.
bebeto
#95 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 3:15:52 PM

MADE wrote:
bebeto wrote:

I vividly remember that golden era of Nigerian futbol. i can name the entire squad with nostalgia

Rufai, Babayaro, west, mutiu adepoju, Garba lawal, sunday oliseh, finidi George, Kanu, Ikpeba, amokachi, amunike, okechukwu,yekini....
"The chief danger in life is that you may take too many precautions" - Alfred adler
#96 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 3:17:03 PM

urstill1 wrote:

Only Portugal qualifies outrightly with a difference of 1. Sweden ni mapena ama wabaki Stockholm

Boss a 1:0 win by Sweden after extra time takes the game to penalties where the winner takes it all!!!!
bebeto
#97 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 3:17:54 PM

urstill1 wrote:

Heheh:

Mine Portugal, France, Burkina,Greece and Croatia
urstill1
#98 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 3:18:36 PM

@Urstill1.....Very few top European teams lose their home matches, i think Sweden will win tonight just not sure if the goal margin will be enough to see them through.

I get you but this is a different ball game.
#99 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 3:38:45 PM

urstill1 wrote:

I get you but this is a different ball game.

Portugal have an upper hand tonight because of their one goal advantage which means Sweden have to score. Sweden looked dangerous on the counter in Lisbon but their opponents managed to lock out Zlatan.....can they do the same tonight against a very hostile crowd? At times CR7 totally disappears in such fixtures, lets hope tonight he'll be up for it. Its a shame that he's the only Portugal player who appeared to be determined to win in the first leg, its like the rest were comfortable with a draw.
Alba
#100 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 4:13:30 PM

Stephen Keshi is a good coach. But Naija will likely not go far unless by some miracle they are placed in another easy group. They just do not have the talent they had in the 1990s. That was their golden generation. Morocco had a golden generation around 1986, Algeria in 1982, Cameroun throughout the 1980s, Senegal in 2002,

But Africa as a whole has been falling behind not just Naija. This year there is no team from Africa that you can hang your hat on. I just hope CIV can overcome the disappointment of the last two world cups and pass the group phase.