wazua Tue, Feb 25, 2025

5 Pages123>»
Hilarious Origin of Names of Towns and Locations in Kenya
#1 Posted : Monday, November 18, 2013 6:24:05 PM

http://kenyanhistory.wor...-and-locations-in-kenya/
hindi ni riu
#2 Posted : Monday, November 18, 2013 6:34:20 PM

The west of Nairobi has some interesting names: Akina Wanyee, Muringiti, etc. It would be interesting to know how they came about!

“Once the last tree is cut and the last river poisoned,you will find you cannot eat your money" Traditional saying.
#3 Posted : Monday, November 18, 2013 6:42:50 PM

Kiangage...
kamundu
#4 Posted : Monday, November 18, 2013 7:09:20 PM

Dagoretti is not great corner. Its " ndagurite" ( not bought) the land was not legally bought. This was a protest by kikuyu squaters after Karen blixen had grabbed land displaced them internally from Karen to dagorettI area.
Peace in our Homeland.
kamundu
#5 Posted : Monday, November 18, 2013 7:11:43 PM

Riruta satellite is named after Re-router satellite owned by communications dept in the 60s
Peace in our Homeland.
#6 Posted : Monday, November 18, 2013 7:14:17 PM

hindi ni riu wrote:
The west of Nairobi has some interesting names: Akina Wanyee, Muringiti, etc. It would be interesting to know how they came about!

Wanyee is the name of some big family those sides of Dago
#7 Posted : Monday, November 18, 2013 7:28:44 PM

The weirdest is Ituramiro. I hear it's in Gatundu. I heard the explanation like 10yrs back nikachangaa
#8 Posted : Monday, November 18, 2013 7:29:56 PM

The weirdest is Ituramiro. I hear it's in Gatundu. I heard the explanation like 10yrs back nikachangaa

spit it!
#9 Posted : Monday, November 18, 2013 8:02:25 PM

spit it!

some woman was selling uji hapo and was in the 'turama' sitting position. Akina magigi wa huko were regular customers.
#10 Posted : Monday, November 18, 2013 8:07:44 PM

spit it!

some woman was selling uji hapo and was in the 'turama' sitting position. Akina magigi wa huko were regular customers.

@Laughing out loudly...kwani what impressions do you have have of me? I am as harmless as a dove...
#11 Posted : Monday, November 18, 2013 8:22:38 PM

spit it!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
@Laughing out loudly. You think everyone understands what "Turama" means. can you explainsmile smile
#12 Posted : Monday, November 18, 2013 8:26:10 PM

Am wrote:

spit it!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
@Laughing out loudly. You think everyone understands what "Turama" means. can you explainsmile smile

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

#13 Posted : Monday, November 18, 2013 8:42:11 PM

Kuturama is 'kukaa vibaya' kama those shops on market days in small towns
#14 Posted : Monday, November 18, 2013 8:44:43 PM

spit it!

@Laughing out loudly...kwani what impressions do you have have of me? I am as harmless as a dove...

poa...so the fellow who was no. 16 in wote is a fictitious character?
#15 Posted : Monday, November 18, 2013 8:46:16 PM

Kuturama is 'kukaa vibaya'

Yaani, a lady sitting Regs apart when in Skirt.

@Lolest are you shy saying as it is?

#16 Posted : Monday, November 18, 2013 9:12:00 PM

I was looking forward to the sermons you were to share. Two, you said? But now, which thread?

kamundu
#17 Posted : Monday, November 18, 2013 9:24:16 PM

Wacheni ku digress

Ruthigiti in kikuyu area was Rose Gate at some jungus residence

Apparently im told in Kiambu there was a lot of wailings during the war ( mbu) hence the name
Peace in our Homeland.
#18 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 7:52:55 AM

smile Nairobi - Enkare nyirobi = Place of cool waters

Machakos - Masaku

Nakuru - Nakurro - dusty place
majimaji
#19 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 8:49:07 AM

Kirinyaga: God's mountain for the Central Bantu and the Maasai.

named after the ostrich for the white snow capped top and the dark lower reaches comparing to the birds plume.

Ngai (God) also called Mwene Nyaga - literally owner of the Ostrich (mt kenya)
#20 Posted : Tuesday, November 19, 2013 11:08:02 AM

What about Difathas, those sides of Mwea?