Health
Do Wazuans Exercise?
YoungMulla wrote:How much is it to participate in the SCB marathon?
I had planned to go for the Ndaka-ini one but last minute plans re-routed me.
Someone here told me I concentrate too much on upper body work-outs so i have resumed morning runs this week, now my masqwembes are achinG kidogo but I like the challenge.NO PAIN - NO GAIN! He who sweats most during training bleeds less during war...keep up. Ndakaini was tough, the terrains wacha tu. Stanchart shud be easier. It goes for 1k, unless they change this year.
Rank: Member Joined: 3/14/2012 Posts: 577 Location: Nairobi Kenya
@Washiku, asante sana! Before I die - i will touch the sky!!
Rank: Member Joined: 4/14/2010 Posts: 806 Location: Nairobi
washiku wrote:YoungMulla wrote:How much is it to participate in the SCB marathon?
Someone here told me I concentrate too much on upper body work-outs so i have resumed morning runs this week, now my masqwembes are achinG kidogo but I like the challenge.NO PAIN - NO GAIN! He who sweats most during training bleeds less during war...keep up. Ndakaini was tough, the terrains wacha tu. Stanchart shud be easier. It goes for 1k, unless they change this year. It hasn't changed. It is still 1000/=. Registration closes on 21st October 2013.
winston wrote:washiku wrote:YoungMulla wrote:How much is it to participate in the SCB marathon?
Someone here told me I concentrate too much on upper body work-outs so i have resumed morning runs this week, now my masqwembes are achinG kidogo but I like the challenge.NO PAIN - NO GAIN! He who sweats most during training bleeds less during war...keep up. Ndakaini was tough, the terrains wacha tu. Stanchart shud be easier. It goes for 1k, unless they change this year. It hasn't changed. It is still 1000/=. Registration closes on 21st October 2013. Thank you.
2012 wrote:washiku wrote:I saw a quote this morning on a former colleague's FB page "THOSE WHO DO NOT FIND TIME FOR EXERCISE WILL HAVE TO FIND TIME FOR ILLNESS" Earl of Derby.
I then remembered Impunity's jana's (in)famous statement about fat people.
I wondered whether Wazua family takes time to exercise. Do they? How often? How? Where?
Share your experiences, if you dont mind. The best of saving money is staying healthy. In Kenya you have to connect everything with money for someone to understand. And yes, I do exercise but will never join a gym. For most people a gym is just for status. I jog 3 times a week and play soccer with other wazees in a nearby school. Where could this be? Could it be near enough for me? Been looking for one, na sipati. "The chief danger in life is that you may take too many precautions" - Alfred adler
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
ZZE123 wrote:Gathige wrote:masukuma wrote:I decided some weeks back to stop living irresponsibly and take back my body. I started exercising (taking to the rugby pitch) and eating small potions of food. it has worked wonders! 4 weeks down the line - I have lost close to 6kgs in 4 weeks! I have perforated my belt to add an additional hole! my clothes don't fit they are becoming over-sized! I am generally feeling happier. I am at 100kgs but with the same level of activity and intake control I will hit 80kgs in 2-3 months. @Masukuma, Congrats. Can you call Mrs Kanene and demand the the 1m mullah. You have done it behind the cameras kudos and keep it up. Hope you have used a good scale and not a waiganjo one. I hear in some places they ask you how much weight you want to loose and then they get you a scale that will give you the exact results without breaking the sweat. As said elsewhere mwanaume ni effort (na mwanamuke ni sura). @Masukuma congrats you inspired me to start Excising will try wake up early tomorrow for a jog. @ Gathige at 94kgs (last time I weighed myself prior to the Marathon.) All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
I see you are setting targets? Try a Kettlebell. A simple piece of gym equipment that might be all you'll ever need for resistance training. Thinking of trading my dumbbells for a pair.
Mukiri wrote: I see you are setting targets?Try a Kettlebell. A simple piece of gym equipment that might be all you'll ever need for resistance training. Thinking of trading my dumbbells for a pair. YES, I am 92kgs sasa... tick tock!! uzee si kilema All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:Mukiri wrote: I see you are setting targets?Try a Kettlebell. A simple piece of gym equipment that might be all you'll ever need for resistance training. Thinking of trading my dumbbells for a pair. YES, I am 92kgs sasa... tick tock!! uzee si kilema Hata mimi nilipima last month ikawa exactly that, 92 kilos. I had quit exercising (mainly playing volleyball) a few weeks before and weighed 87 kilos then. Now I am up at 5am every morning running up and down a hill close by my house, a total of 2.6km. Today I entered week 4. Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
Aibu. Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
seppuku wrote:masukuma wrote:Mukiri wrote: I see you are setting targets?Try a Kettlebell. A simple piece of gym equipment that might be all you'll ever need for resistance training. Thinking of trading my dumbbells for a pair. YES, I am 92kgs sasa... tick tock!! uzee si kilema Hata mimi nilipima last month ikawa exactly that, 92 kilos. I had quit exercising (mainly playing volleyball) a few weeks before and weighed 87 kilos then. Now I am up at 5am every morning running up and down a hill close by my house, a total of 2.6km. Today I entered week 4. nice to hear. Has your diet changed? Hapo ndio maneno iko. After getting the nessssary fitness I also went back to the rugby pitch. Vijana wananikimbiza bwana but ISORITE!!! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:seppuku wrote:masukuma wrote:Mukiri wrote: I see you are setting targets?Try a Kettlebell. A simple piece of gym equipment that might be all you'll ever need for resistance training. Thinking of trading my dumbbells for a pair. YES, I am 92kgs sasa... tick tock!! uzee si kilema Hata mimi nilipima last month ikawa exactly that, 92 kilos. I had quit exercising (mainly playing volleyball) a few weeks before and weighed 87 kilos then. Now I am up at 5am every morning running up and down a hill close by my house, a total of 2.6km. Today I entered week 4. nice to hear. Has your diet changed? Hapo ndio maneno iko. After getting the nessssary fitness I also went back to the rugby pitch. Vijana wananikimbiza bwana but ISORITE!!! Well, I eat quite healthy at home. Arrow roots or sweet potatoes most mornings. Pancakes once in a while and bread almost never. Mayai pia napenda sana, but I try to keep that to no more than 4 per week. Dinner, quite healthy too. Shida ni lunch. I eat out all the time and the accessible joints around my workplace mostly serve meats fried in a lot of fat. I try to keep the portions small but I know the food is not healthy. Kubeba chakula ilinishinda. I wonder how tall you are. At 1.83m, my BMI is 27.5. I am aiming for 83 kilos. Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
masukuma wrote:Mukiri wrote: I see you are setting targets?Try a Kettlebell. A simple piece of gym equipment that might be all you'll ever need for resistance training. Thinking of trading my dumbbells for a pair. YES, I am 92kgs sasa... tick tock!! uzee si kilema Well done bro. You are moving very fast...You will hit below 90 very soon. Very encouraging. I want to hit below 80 by 31st Dec.
Rank: Member Joined: 3/25/2013 Posts: 552 Location: Asgard
Anyone happens to know a good Gym near Naivasha Rd.? The area around Equity Kawangware, preferably one that's open by 5 in the morning. Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
seppuku wrote:Anyone happens to know a good Gym near Naivasha Rd.? The area around Equity Kawangware, preferably one that's open by 5 in the morning. Consider taking a Jog from equity to ilri(uthiru)6km back and forth Don't limit your challenges, but challenge your limits
panomaz wrote:seppuku wrote:Anyone happens to know a good Gym near Naivasha Rd.? The area around Equity Kawangware, preferably one that's open by 5 in the morning. Consider taking a Jog from equity to ilri(uthiru)6km back and forth jogging at 5 in that area is an express ticket to Makueni county
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2012 Posts: 3,855 Location: Othumo
willin2learn wrote:panomaz wrote:seppuku wrote:Anyone happens to know a good Gym near Naivasha Rd.? The area around Equity Kawangware, preferably one that's open by 5 in the morning. Consider taking a Jog from equity to ilri(uthiru)6km back and forth jogging at 5 in that area is an express ticket to Makueni county Thieves
Health