I got conned and I need help catching the bastards who conned me....
@Mtu Biz,
How did this loss come about?
Kwani this is a fake story? Xtian where r u? The only reason why some people are still alive is coz its illegal to shoot them!! TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
pole bro... in future when you get an order from a reputable company make sure you call back to verify...na sio kwa mobile or the number on the LPO... go to yellow pages and call from there... or call the bank to verify the bankers cheque before your 'customer' walks away wth the goods... for now let it go!!! the thief has your tel and address he may come back to mess you up if he thinks you are going to far
@limuruboy
I see your point!. I get you loud and clear. Ouch! I put myself in his shoes and typically hang/clung on to the loss - am sure i would have done this in real life before realising am chasing wind.... probably even too late... Another reason to be glad I had another day in SK!
“Money frees you from doing things you dislike. Since I dislike doing nearly everything,money is handy.” ~ Groucho Marx.............
@half_empty
.....or call the bank to verify the bankers cheque before your 'customer' walks away wth the goods...What if the crook has some pals in the bank who will confirm cheque is good when its fake?
@ Chaka. Its a long story but i have 1 piece of advice. Do not be greedy. ..... the sons of Zeruiah .....
@chaka The thought of him having a mate in the bank who could confirm the bankers cheque being genuine while its fake does show how deeply rooted evil and corruption is in kenya. Why be so negative? the guy is already so distressed for losing his 200k.
@limuruboy I do agree the chances are so slim and bleak,the guy did point out he is already on the ground and he doesnt need punching. He is already so stressed and i know in kenya how it is difficult to get the law enforcement to do something without TKK,by the way one of my friend in Kenya told me TKK doesnt stand for Toa Kitu Kidogo anymore,it has undergone some mutation and its Toa Kitu Kikubwa!.
Getting them to move their asses to try and track this muhindi is something that could prove to be even more frustrating for the guy i guess that's why guys do reckon he's better off just giving it up cause chances of him not getting anywhere are like 99%. But this shows how lame the law enforcement is,apart from not having the necessary knowledge to investigate financial crimes,the govt has failed in regulatin the finace sector properly by having proper legislation in place which can help police or CID tackle these kind of crimes. So here we go fingers pointing back again to our politicians who claim to be representing our unfortunate friend here. As it is,the con man does know nothing would come out of it he does try to pursue him in otherwords theres the notion that 99.9% of kenyans who do think the guy is better of leaving the guy alone,he is a victim of the circumstance. But is this really how things ought to be? Govt is failing to pass sound legislation,a judicial system not independent of the govt which is also corrupt. Thats why if such thing does happen to you or me we just have to accept we are victims of a mulfuntioning system but for how long is this going to happen while we just stare, Kenya my mother country is surely something will have to be done cause it wont stop here,its still escalating
Life is like an onion; you peel off one layer at a time and sometimes you weep. Carl Sandburg
Lemme tell you from my own experience.I bought an asset last year and early this year,i realised that it was just air.I took it light,tried to persue it innocently,but with our Kenyan police,who are more corrupted than conmen themeselves,they will have no mercy on you.They wanted me to start the game,toa/nitoe with the conmen whom the policeman knew very well even where he resides,i told him my stand,my faith in God and the fact that i will never compromise it.I had good facts plus witnesses but just to pick up the guy,put in in cell required some more pocket miracle
To make the matter worse,part of the team who were involved in my trxn were the so called Mungikis.So the chances were:-
1.I start a bribing competion and since am not so much loaded,just trying to make ends meet,i will finaly be the loser,loosing my money and faith yet its not worth it
2.It might cost me the sepertion of the head and the body,it was not worth it.
3.I will keep on worrying,and the result would be ulcers which will cost me more than the lost 200k to treat,it might even cost me my life....no that was too expensive.
I decided to forget about everything and i know God will bring back what is lost someday.
I feel you ma friend.Just do the cost/benefit analysis,calculate the risk then make a decision
Jesus Said,'If you abide in Me,and My Words abide in you,you will ask what you desire,and it shsll be done for you' (Jhn 15:7)
Hi all. Am happy for all your advice,
Limuru boy: thanks for all the emotions you have illicited here.
But am not gonna let this go. I just spent the whole at cop station. Got a CID rela there.... Who is not after TKK,he feels my pain and wants to help get this 'mhindi' and co.. So I think my chances of catching these bastards are high,but let's wait and see... And if the cops do not get them,there is an old kikuyu saying: its only hills that will never meet.. And if I ever run into one of these guys,God help them.... Thank you guys and wish me luck God bless you all.
Why??
Boss,pole,however i would prefer the transaction done in the bank after viewing the item,especially that large amount.
All the best!!
more stuff!!
All the best christian but tafadhali dont nyonga the muhindi and we end up kamiti like that lord delamare grandson. All you can do is get him done by the police. Good luck once again
Life is like an onion; you peel off one layer at a time and sometimes you weep. Carl Sandburg
pole@christian...whatever has happened has happened and dwelling on the past wont solve your naivity! I guess now you know the saying 'fool me twice and am a fool'...Dust yourself and move on but before that attempt to utilize gsm technology to track the mhindi through tringulation regardless of whether his using a different sim card or fone!Tracking isnt a tall order! Talk to the CID and get an affidavit to impress on the concerned operator to get the job done.
word of caution: the hands will need to be well oiled to get the job done which is 95% certain
The fool folds his arms and consumes his own flesh. Better is one handful with tranquility than two with toil and a chase after wind!
Does this grass eating thing work......this muhindi deserves a mouthful of hard sun dried grass. God for us all.... the rest of you pay cash  "The longer the fuse the mightier the blast!"
did you take details of the office messanger? this might give some lead.
well christian i went though a similar thing last year. a guy brought in a LPO to my shop and i inisited he bring a bankers cheque for payment,thinking they were fail proof. the guy brought a equity bank bankers cheque for a large amount and i was the happiest man on earth. only to get a call from my bank 1 day letter that the cheque was fake and it had been reported to the CID by the bank. too late i had already given the goods,and it turns out the LPO was from a fake company. the guy had called me several times to assure me he was bringing the cheque,so i tried to get the call traced through CID. parted with kshs 40,000 to oil the system to get the mobile phone report. turn outs that the area it pin pointed to was a major builiding in town and it was difficult to pinpoint where exactly. anyway the cops told me that they had other things to focus on and that i should count my losses and move on. moral of the story,dont waste your time and money. u probably wont catch the guys and if u do,its very difficult to prosecute them in our legal system. they will pay bribes and be released so fast!
btw isnt all this mention of 'mhindi' this and that a little bit racist?granted he was a muhindi,but this way ur labelling all of them the same. i would not like it if u said this ka luo thief or that kiuk thug. its just one person,not the whole ethnic community. dont u have the guys name? we r a ethnic sensitive country and such utterances will only lead to our downfall and violence as seen 2 years ago.
@ christian, Realistically the chances of you getting your money back are slim. As it's not a huge amount it will not be an up hill task for the muhin to pay. I can bet you that if you showed up with cops he'll start taking you seriously. I'm sure he'll rather pay you than be on the cop's extortion list. There's a dude who hit my parked car sometime back while reversing outside a club breaking my tail lights and took off - but not before the watchi took down his no. plate. I called the cops the watchi gave evidence. Expecting nothing I fixed my car and forgot about it... Then one day 4 months down I get a call on my cell from a cop - they have the guy at the station,I drove there,the cops suggested he pays me 20k which he did and mpaka today they're still extorting money from him as driving off from the scene had turned a simple accident into a criminal offence. The guy has called me enough times begging me to tell the cops to drop the case and that I'd not appear in court to give evidence - but I'm least bothered.
Bright and interesting people talk about ideas. Those of average intelligence talk about things. Stupid people talk about other people.
@Christian - I have heard of such happening before,though I thought it had died down owing to increased awareness. Here is the thing - assume that they are still conning people - why not set up a 'honey pot' - perhaps in the initial deal you had put up a classified ad in the paper? OK,even if not,put aside a few shilling and run some interesting ads that are likely to catch their attention (perhaps an electronic item that moves very fast in the market and for which a ready market exists) - put your ad and try as best as you can to stall any seemingly genuine buyers and look out for those crooks (the deal will immediately seem too good to be true with such guys - they never give you a hard time asking for details but get you excited abt making a quick sale and sometimes they indicate they need it urgently - so you let your guard down). I think you could still ensnare them but be sure when you are drawing them close,you have access to the police or have the cops handy. I once did that with someone who came with a fake cheque for a Laser Printer (those days low level laser printers cost abt Kshs 40,000). Given what you lost,it must have been a photocopier or something like that. Give it a shot - even if you do not get the exact same person (and same messenger),you will breach their network for they never work alone. I hope they do not read SK - and on that note,I am always wary of the deals I see here (land,cars,jobs,etc) for some might not be for real....and Sorry for the misfortune...they will get paid in kind sooner or later even if you do not catch up with them.
The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
@pauloti - I do not think the usage of 'mhindi' in this context is racist or discriminatory - just that it helps mitigate the issue of how the poster got conned - not that mhindi's are all honest - just that its not expected they would be playing in that field. Like someone pointed out,it may have just been a fake acceent. With many investigations,the cops/detectives would ask about someone's voice since it can help pin point geography,education,etc - for profiling.
The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
Btw are you related to mkristo?
Perspective,perspective is what is needed. Imagine you finally exited a counter at 200k loss. you figure you can recoup this loss by strategic investing rather than wait for the up turn
The money will always come back. The pain is in the way it went leaving you feeling like you ought to have done something- This quite desperation results in a lot of negative energy and like @ limuruboy advises report and move on -to make the next 200k!
Me first,U next
I got conned and I need help catching the bastards who conned me....