wazua Fri, Nov 29, 2024

My Landlord Is Evicting Me!
#1 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 3:00:44 PM

My landlord just gave me notice to increase rent from KES 17000 to KES 25000 effective Feb 2014. That is a 47% increase in rent! The last increase in Jan 2013 was from 15000 to 17000.

Is this reasonable? Sad

The rent would be double what I was paying in 2011. He has undertaken no capital expenditure on the premises and has done no repairs. He attributes the increase to 'inflation'.

I have been a good well-behaved tenant.

Maka, A4A et al saidia with advice.

Or I just work harder and earn 47% more? Sad
#2 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 3:04:34 PM

@kaigangio, have some mercy on your tenantSad
#3 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 3:06:20 PM

Time to become your own landlord
#4 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 3:09:02 PM

Talk to @Mawinder!!!
#5 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 3:23:34 PM

jguru wrote:
My landlord just gave me notice to increase rent from KES 17000 to KES 25000 effective Feb 2014. That is a 47% increase in rent! The last increase in Jan 2013 was from 15000 to 17000.

Is this reasonable? Sad

The rent would be double what I was paying in 2011. He has undertaken no capital expenditure on the premises and has done no repairs. He attributes the increase to 'inflation'.

Show him this notice
http://www.revenue.go.ke...FORMATIONONLANDLORDS.pdf
XSK
#6 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 3:30:01 PM

Time to become your own landlord

Timely advise! toka misri bro
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
#7 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 3:45:18 PM

@kaigangio, have some mercy on your tenantSad

Ama ni @Mukiha?
#8 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 3:58:40 PM

Pole Doc,Lakini nyumba ni yake. He has given sufficient notice na he actually did not need a reason to hike rent. If that is how much your neighborhood pays( 25K) basi you had your fun. if not, just move out. There is more than meets the eye.
rryyzz
#9 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 4:03:42 PM

jguru wrote:

Is this reasonable? Sad

Wewe pia increase consultation fees, citing inflation
Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
#10 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 4:12:53 PM

[quote=jguru]My landlord just gave me notice to increase rent from KES 17000 to KES 25000 effective Feb 2014. That is a 47% increase in rent! The last increase in Jan 2013 was from 15000 to 17000.

Is this reasonable? Sad

Show him this notice
http://www.revenue.go.ke...ORMATIONONLANDLORDS.pdf[/quote]

Laughing out loudly actually this might make him change his mind.
#11 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 4:24:29 PM

ni kuhama! and somepeople are still talking of bubble bursting..
#12 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 4:43:21 PM

[quote=jguru]My landlord just gave me notice to increase rent from KES 17000 to KES 25000 effective Feb 2014. That is a 47% increase in rent! The last increase in Jan 2013 was from 15000 to 17000.

Is this reasonable? Sad

Show him this notice

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Pole bro but it looks like ni kuhama .
Edyj
#13 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 4:44:51 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
Pole Doc,Lakini nyumba ni yake. He has given sufficient notice na he actually did not need a reason to hike rent. If that is how much your neighborhood pays( 25K) basi you had your fun. if not, just move out. There is more than meets the eye.

Cant be said any better. if the landlord told you that the rent is going up in Dec 2013 that would be unfair. but he has given sufficient notice.... sometimes its better to talk with your feet and move on
"The trouble with not having a goal is that you can spend your life running up and down the field and never score". - Bill Copeland

#14 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 4:45:07 PM

digitek1 wrote:
ni kuhama! and somepeople are still talking of bubble bursting..

Yes when all the tenants become unable to pay for the rent asked.
#15 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 5:02:28 PM

bkismat wrote:

Is this reasonable? Sad

Show him this notice

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Pole bro but it looks like ni kuhama .

Take him to the rent tribunal or obtain a court order maintaining the status quo and when the matter comes up for hearing ask for adjournments and delay the case kabisa.You can appeal all the way to Supreme court and you know the speed of justice in Kenya.
#16 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 5:03:37 PM

At some point, the Rent Restriction Act of 1981 was tobe amended to protect tenants whose rents are upto Ksh 10,000 per month. The Act only makes protected tenancies of rental agreements of only Ksh 2,500 per month

Comparing the value of money then(1981) and now, it is only fair if it goes up to 15,000
#17 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 5:06:35 PM

Take him to the rent tribunal or obtain a court order maintaining the status quo and when the matter comes up for hearing ask for adjournments and delay the case kabisa.You can appeal all the way to Supreme court and you know the speed of justice in Kenya.

Rent tribunal will not admit any case where rent is more than 2,500.

Even if he goes the court route, it would still be risky as case can be dismissed with costs.

Ahame
theman192000
#18 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 5:06:48 PM

The title on your post is misleading. Did the landlord hand you an eviction notice?d'oh!
#19 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 5:35:01 PM

bkismat wrote:

Is this reasonable? Sad

Show him this notice

Maybe he has been caught by the taxman and is simply passing the burden to the consumer... you.

In one year you will have paid him Khs. 300,000.

Time to move on. Hama before February. Look for alternative house.
#20 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 7:34:34 PM

Just accept and move on.