#1 Posted : Tuesday, November 12, 2013 9:25:53 PM

ati imesemaje?

sorry if repost
#2 Posted : Tuesday, November 12, 2013 9:29:56 PM

kizee1 wrote:
ati imesemaje?

sorry if repost

On divorce the two share as per contribution! Lakini madeni you share equally Laughing out loudly Tyranny of men in parliament! Only PORK can save the day now!
#3 Posted : Tuesday, November 12, 2013 9:30:43 PM

Men diluted the bill.
kizee1
#4 Posted : Tuesday, November 12, 2013 9:44:20 PM

radio wrote:
kizee1 wrote:
ati imesemaje?

sorry if repost

On divorce the two share as per contribution! Lakini madeni you share equally Laughing out loudly Tyranny of men in parliament! Only PORK can save the day now!

so if mzee owns everything ukienda unatoka bila chochote?
githundi
#5 Posted : Tuesday, November 12, 2013 9:58:18 PM

kizee1 wrote:
radio wrote:
kizee1 wrote:
ati imesemaje?

sorry if repost

That's what I got.
They redefined matrimonial property to mean what is owned jointly in marriage.
Democracy does not belong to the dead
#6 Posted : Tuesday, November 12, 2013 11:26:30 PM

kizee1 wrote:
radio wrote:
kizee1 wrote:
ati imesemaje?

sorry if repost

What do you mean by "ukienda"? If you mean mzee dies I think that will be about inheritance... but if you mean divorce, then each takes their contribution. But I am wondering how the contribution will be calculated!
#7 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 12:50:41 AM

Are we not equal, men and women?
I support this and I am unapologetic about it. If there is anything that turns my blood cold its the thought of being turned out to the street after a split in middle age, with your house and investments which you have worked so hard for during your youth handed to your ex-wife. I am not hitched currently, and have a few coins here and there - earned by back breaking effort, blood and sweat; parliament is right to say that whoever I marry keeps hers paws of the stuff I acquired prior- or even those I acquired after out of my own resourcefulness and capital if she didn't put in hard and countable currency.
Hakuna kucheka na watu. Men are bad but so are women. The pragmatist in me tells me that when I marry, there is also a probability of the union failing. What follows from that is cold, hard logic - and the logic is a man can't afford to build his life from scratch over again if he splits from his wife. Some of a man's assets need to be untouchable (for those who are about to tell me about love and its all conquering ways and my own flawed attitude, save your breath - people cant be fully trusted, and that is only constant worth trusting completely these days)
Read European papers. Men over there get cleaned out by gold-digging and scheming wives, especially Britain, where family courts usually strip guys bare leaving them destitute and depressed.
I have no qualms about property that was co-acquired (both names on the deed) being split up. But stuff registered in just one person's name should be theirs. It is up to women to be alert and ensure that their spouses do not con them. When they hand over money to the husband, they should demand to be cosignors in the business/property arrangement. Away with this silly ambiguity that 'husbands make wealth because women are making a stable home'
#8 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 1:06:07 AM

quicksand wrote:
I support this and I am unapologetic about it. If there is anything that turns my blood cold its the thought of being turned out to the street after a split in middle age, with your house and investments which you have worked so hard for during your youth handed to your ex-wife. I am not hitched currently, and have a few coins here and there - earned by back breaking effort, blood and sweat; parliament is right to say that whoever I marry keeps hers paws of the stuff I acquired prior- or even those I acquired after out of my own resourcefulness and capital if she didn't put in hard and countable currency.
Hakuna kucheka na watu. Men are bad but so are women. The pragmatist in me tells me that when I marry, there is also a probability of the union failing. What follows from that is cold, hard logic - and the logic is a man can't afford to build his life from scratch over again if he splits from his wife. Some of a man's assets need to be untouchable (for those who are about to tell me about love and its all conquering ways and my own flawed attitude, save your breath - people cant be fully trusted, and that is only constant worth trusting completely these days)
Read European papers. Men over there get cleaned out by gold-digging and scheming wives, especially Britain, where family courts usually strip guys bare leaving them destitute and depressed.
I have no qualms about property that was co-acquired (both names on the deed) being split up. But stuff registered in just one person's name should be theirs. It is up to women to be alert and ensure that their spouses do not con them. When they hand over money to the husband, they should demand to be cosignors in the business/property arrangement. Away with this silly ambiguity that 'husbands make wealth because women are making a stable home'

Will it be a marriage or a business agreement?
Sansa
#9 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 1:14:22 AM

This woman goes to work, or (if she is lucky or unlucky depending on how you look at it) to the biashara you have opened for her, works her butt off all day, comes home to deal with the kids and then when you finally get home she treats you like a small god (because she knows you expect it) and you want her to walk away with only what she contributed? How do you even start calculating that?
seppuku
#10 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 5:09:45 AM

Hii kitu haitaki sheria moja. Case by case basis I say. Take the following 2 examples:

1) Relationship A: Man A marries Woman A. Man A is the sole breadwinner. Woman A is a stay at home mum. She takes care of the kids and puts the house in order. Man A, out of the cheekiness of his loins, decides to take off with some random femme fatale. Their relationship ends on that basis. It is fair to split their wealth right through the middle regardless of who actually made what.

2) Relationship B: Man B marries Woman B. Man B is the sole breadwinner. Woman B is a stay at home gossip. She does nothing but idle in the neighborhood and propagate whichever rumor happens to be in the air. Her home and children are poorly managed and Man B ends the relationship on that basis. Fairness dictates that she leaves only with the dirty smelly weave and fake buttocks that she showed up with at his door the day he miscalculated and decided to marry her.

My 2 thedis.
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
#11 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 6:04:20 AM

A positive step towards the end of 'marriage'.
#12 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 7:07:36 AM

I think the bill is OK. The equal share rule can be misused by both desparate men and women. You marry a lonely person in their 50s who have spent their entire life killing themselves with work. One year later, you divorce them and marry someone of your age. Should you really have equal share? Nooo hapanaaa!
Pedes
#13 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 7:54:33 AM

So, if you get married and have kids, does it mean you'll share the upkeep 50/50 when you divorce?

If you stay ready, no need to get ready.
#14 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 8:34:18 AM

I think the courts should be given flexibility on this matter...as said above, let the judge look at the facts on each case and make a fair judgement...this will resolve the matter of husband A and B . what we need are general guidelines not hard and fast rules ...as it is, the law is unfair to women
#15 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 8:46:20 AM

quicksand wrote:

Sad Some men should (unapologetically) be married to their property.

Does the bill consider her invaluable contributions, when she cuts short her sleep to make you breakfast, hustles with the kids(punishes her body to get your kids in the first place), cleans your house, comforts you in grief, encourages you, sh@gs you when not in the mood etc

Id happily give my property to my wife and start from scratch. All these material things are straws. Shackles that bind us. And when we die we leave them papa hapa.

Pedes
#16 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 9:13:55 AM

quicksand wrote:

Does the bill consider her invaluable contributions, when she cuts short her sleep to make you breakfast, hustles with the kids(punishes her body to get your kids in the first place), cleans your house, comforts you in grief, encourages you, sh@gs you when not in the mood etc

Id happily give my property to my wife and start from scratch. All these material things are straws. Shackles that bind us. And when we die we leave them papa hapa.

She might say that hiyo church plot should be shared equallysmile
If you stay ready, no need to get ready.
#17 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 9:20:43 AM

Pedes wrote:
quicksand wrote:

She might say that hiyo church plot should be shared equallysmile

So be it

nesta
#18 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 9:28:07 AM

Sansa wrote:
This woman goes to work, or (if she is lucky or unlucky depending on how you look at it) to the biashara you have opened for her, works her butt off all day, comes home to deal with the kids and then when you finally get home she treats you like a small god (because she knows you expect it) and you want her to walk away with only what she contributed? How do you even start calculating that?

This argument doesn't fly....what if you have a househelp who treats you like a small god? And a shopkeeper whom you have employed? If that's the case the the woman should demand the salary of a househelp and that of a shopkeeper.
On Christ Alone
nesta
#19 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 9:32:03 AM

And this argument of "taking care of the children," are those our children or MY children? And who will pay me for the effort that i put in taking care of them? And if those are our children, why is it that courts will give custody to the woman?
On Christ Alone
#20 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2013 9:36:47 AM

nesta wrote:
Sansa wrote:

This argument doesn't fly....what if you have a househelp who treats you like a small god? And a shopkeeper whom you have employed? If that's the case the the woman should demand the salary of a househelp and that of a shopkeeper.

Equating a wife to househelp or an employee - the latter 2 do it for the agreed terms.