wazua Mon, Nov 25, 2024

MUSEVENI SAYS LUOS ON MIGINGO ARE MAD.
petro
#41 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 10:46:00 AM

@Obi,

I am 100% Kenyan. What I do not like is our attitude of harassing Uganda Just because we consider that we are stronger than them.

Those things can go for kilometers inside but it does not matter how deep. Even if it is 10 Meters in Uganda Territorry,bado tutakuwa wachokozi.

M7 has no interest in that rock as Ugandans have called it. Migingo is the entry point to Kenyan fishermen into Ugandan waters. Instead of the circus of arresting the fishermen every time they enter Uganda and letting them off when our government pleads,why not block their entry. And since Uganda does not have the resources to keep their security men afloat on water,why not place the security men on the land where the fishermen start their trip to Uganda.

Success is a lousy teacher. It seduces smart people into thinking they can't lose.
Jaina
#42 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 10:52:00 AM

The whole madness is about fish,.......fish,.......and more fish. We all know why its a fight for fish,......

1. Fish is free,if you can manage to catch it
2. Wherever there is free things,...there is always a scramble
3. Luos are very good at scrambling for free things and has outdone the waganda.
4. M7 being the miltant had to stop their madness
5. SOMETHING BECOMES FISHY!
wazamali
#43 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 11:08:00 AM

@ Jaina

Yes Fish is free if you can catch it .... Same as harvesting crops,provided you can harvest...

Chunga mali yako...
#44 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 11:31:00 AM

Jaina,I find that really shallow!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
Pierce
#45 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 11:40:00 AM

jaina

i

n

g

a
#46 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 11:54:00 AM

This MPigs are taking as for a ride.....If this issue is as serious as they keep yapping out here,how comes only a handful MPIgs were in the house when Bonny moved a private motion to discuss Migingo......??....Why did the government side including some 'ministyers' leave the house...?

God gives,mugikuyu takes.
Jaina
#47 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 12:01:00 PM

Fish breeds naturally and anyone with the interest and capability to fish its just catching them. Unlike the crop which you have to plant,palilia,put ferterlizer,....etc.

So,no-one sells the damn fish to the fishermen,.....but they have to sell since they laboured to get the white meat from the lake,.or ocean.

My point: TRUTH HURTS!
Faida Hasara
#48 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 12:22:00 PM

@Jaina

Good point
Mwabili
#49 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 12:53:00 PM

@jaina
u wrote
3. Luos are very good at scrambling for free things and has outdone the waganda.

Who is the lesser evil?the one who scrambles for Free things or the One who stabs you after mugging you/or breaks forcefully into your house and steals your stuff and then rapes your kids... as the Kamaus like doing?u tell me.....

Its the Economy..Stupid!!!!!
Spendthrift
#50 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 1:08:00 PM

Brothers and sisters,

Migingo is a Kenyan issue,just like the gang problems in central Kenya and previously in Mt. Elgon.

The leaders know these are Kenyan problems. But they also know how to do their thing for political reasons.

Now having said that,we at SK are actually dancing to their tunes in a fashion not distant from how marionnetes swing (brainlessly) yet in sync with the machinations of the 'marionater'. Nisamehe kizingu ni kigumu.

Lakini kwa nini iwe hivyo.

If cyber smart people like us turn into cyber goons,what should we expect from that multitude that you will always see snaking into the industrial area every morning...point here is a good proportion of them are not as educated as the better proportion of Skerians.

Let's get tribe out of Migingo. M7 would laugh heartily and probably have an orgasm if he read how tribally whipped we have gotten over this thing called Migingo.

@ Jaina,why say things like luos like free things? Doesn't it occur to you that this could be your marginalised prejudice which may have come from your interaction with one,two or maybe 100 persons who coincidentally happened to be luos?

Doesn't it occur to you that someone else could be harboring a similar or even more marginalised opinion about your tribe or another Kenyan tribe?

If you took your time to understand issues,you will realise that fishing in Lake Victoria is the same as in Uganda,Tanzania,River Sagana,Lake Naivasha or Turkana or if you have travelled Japan,unless the issue of fish farming is in the mix.

Secondly,if you understood the economy of the region around this Migingo,you will realise that agriculture takes place; maize,sorghum,groundnuts,e.t.c but the production can not be compared to Kericho,Trans-Nzoia or Kiambu,mainly because of climatic circumstances but also due to 'political socio-economy'. Now for supplement,the lake exists. Allow me to let you in on figures of Kshs. 2.4 billion which was the value of landed 'lates niloticus' in only one of Kenya's districts bordering Migingo last year. Do you also know that this catch supports fish processing industries in places as far as Thika? And mind you,very little of the money (I don't have the actual figures now) actually remains in the Lake region. (think of the chain from the wooden boat at Luanda Nyamasare or Muhuru to the dinner table in Tel Aviv,Moscow or buffet line up at the Safari Park Hotel.

So just this far,you may or may not appreciate that it isn't a luo problem.

This thing is madness right,But it is not luos who are mad. Rather the madness is about the resources and if we were to assign madness,M7 would score highly,though he would be second to our leaders who are not only joking with the Migingo issue,but are actually the joke itself.

Where would we ( Kenyans represented on SK) rank in the continuum of madness?

Everyday!
B.Timer
#51 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 1:36:00 PM

Museveni didnt need to sound so gross.
Granted he may want to cloud the matter in semantics of 'I didn't hurl any insults' - the tone and context was very telling though.
What he engaged in is not befitting of a head of state to say the least.
Again,that he so belatedly accepts that the Island belongs to Kenya after all,given his earlier posturing as pushed by his officers,leaves me bewildered. Is he selling himself as a mere irritant bent on setting everyone on a world goose chase - just for laughs!!

Having said,that allow me to flip the coin as I wonder if we have contributed to this in any way. Did we stir the Hornets nest!!

In fact I submit that we started it all.
In the height of PEV which was purely a Kenyan problem,we took the war to Museveni by:
-Alleging without any facts,that his army was on Kenyan soil,thereby unnecessarily setting the Kenyan proletariat against him and his country.
-Uprooting the railway,which is Uganda's lifeline.

-Later our very own PM bragging on camera that the Kibera youths did well to uproot the railway,and that as a result Museveni was compelled to plead with him.
-Long after the PEV,we have continued to mess with the Railway line,an action that impacts very negatively to Ugs well being.

In view of the foregoing,did we expect Museveni to pat us on the back while we were stabbing him in the back.
We must own up to our wrongs to him,before we see the speck in his eye.
Unless we do so we shouldnt expects any claps from up west.

B.timer
Dunia ni msongamano..
#52 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 2:11:00 PM

HEY YOU KENYANS,YOU ARE FIGHTING AMONGST YOURSELVES BECAUSE OF YOUR PROPERTY WHICH HAS BEEN TAKEN AWAY FROM YOURSELVES!!!!

No wonder you are giving M7 the ammo to clobber you.....

i am also wondering how many pigs of sty are missing a minute of their nap thinking about the mijingo...

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB
#53 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 2:11:00 PM

HEY YOU KENYANS,YOU ARE FIGHTING AMONGST YOURSELVES BECAUSE OF YOUR PROPERTY WHICH HAS BEEN TAKEN AWAY FROM YOURSELVES!!!!

No wonder you are giving M7 the ammo to clobber you.....

i am also wondering how many pigs of sty are missing a minute of their nap thinking about the mijingo...

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB
wazamali
#54 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 5:16:00 PM

@ Jaina

Fish breeds naturally TRUE! and anyone with the interest and capability to fish its just catching them ( WITH BARE HANDS ? ).

Unlike the crop which you have to plant,palilia,put ferterlizer,....etc. (WHO SAID FISHERMEN'S FOLKS DONT PLANT FOR THE UGALI AND VEGES,OR NYOYO ?)

So,no-one sells the damn fish to the fishermen (WHO SELLS PLANTS TO A FARMER ?).....but they have to sell since they laboured (AND USED NETS,BOATS AND FUEL FOR RUNNING & LIGHTTHE BOATS) to get the white meat from the lake,.or ocean.

My point: YOUR IGNORANCE IS SO VISIBLE...

Chunga mali yako...
Spendthrift
#55 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 7:32:00 AM

Yes,tunaendelea.....

Yes that 6% has been supporting so many more fish processing industries and volumes of fillet export from Kenya than Uganda. I don't know about Tanzania- I have to admit. So naturally Uganda has been suspecting Kenyan fishermen of tresspassing into Ugandan waters to extract the 'mbuta' and some of these have been confirmed when Kenyan fishermen have been arrested by Ugandan authorities. Read Kenya's newspapers (specifically DN) dating as far back as 2000 for evidence. Kenya has all the time negotiated for their release,succesfully. However it is not only tresspass ( euphemism for fish theft,if we want to be precise) that has been responsible for Kenya's huge fish landings. But in any case this stolen fish would account for just about 10% of the total landing. The price of fish in Kenya has been better than Uganda for a long time. At the height of the Migingo debacle,which coincided with reduced fish stocks in The Victoria Nyanza,a kg of lates niloticus fetched up to Kshs. 190 at the major landing sites in Kenya (Muhuru,Mbita Point,Nyandiwa e.t.c) in Kenya,while the same would fetch around 80 bob (Kenyan) in Uganda.

Another fact is that the area around Migingo is rich with the nile perch. Actually most of the nile perch comes from the waters around there. Now this is only about 2 hours from the Kenyan landing sites. Given that most of the fishing is artisanal with wooden vessels lacking cold storage,fish arrives at Kenya's landing sites still fresh ('fres fis'). The nearest landing sites on the Ugandan sites (not the island in Uganda) e.g Bugiri,Jinja are at least 8 hours away by the fastest boats in the hands of fishermen. Now given that most of the processed fillets are meant for European markets,where quality standards are 'extra-judiciously' high (they can reject a banana export because it's curvature is beyond their standards),the amount of fish rejected by the fish processors is significant. So,many Ugandan fishermen would prefer to land their catch in Kenya or some Tanzanian landing sites (mostly Kenya because being paid in Kshs. is like being paid in USD).

At the same time,fish stocks have greatly reduced leading to industry closures accross the E. African region,Kenya included. (mind you nile perch is for Uganda what coffee or tea was for Kenya a few years back). So Uganda had to do all it could to protect it's catch. Given the distance from Ugandan towns like Jinja and Bukiri,most of the Ugandan patrol boats would run out of fuel and the 'mischevious' Kenyans on Migingo or Remba,knowing what the fuel was for,would be reluctant to sell fuel to the Ugandan patrol boats. So the Logistical nightmare was real for Uganda,and that's probably why M7 thought to take over Migingo using his military. Migingo has been rightly stated below by Petro to be a major entry point for Kenyan fishermen tresspassing into Uganda. And by the way,the Ugandan military did not take over from Kenyan police,they took over from the Ugandan local authority guards....makes you wonder but I have a possible explanation.

You see in the early 2000 (if you read the same newspapers),Kenyan fishermen experienced frequence piracy,mainly orchestrated by Tanzanian thieves. The piracy involved theft of boat engines and other fishing gear,which is quite expensve ( I have to state this for Jaina's sake) Our police did very little to protect them and this was the entry point for the Uganda local authority guards,who are usually armed. The cohabitation with Kenyan fishermen started here with the guards being paid kidogo money in appreciation for appreciation. But they grew horns and by the time 2008 was here,they had almost transformed Migingo into Ugandan territory. All this time,Kenyan APs were also present on the island. It is only recently that the EA Standard reported that they were withdrawn (perhaps the Kenyan cowardice that Wetangula thinks of as diplomacy).

M7 knows Migingo is Kenya's territory and he has known this all along. When the survey is about to start,he throw spanners into the works because he knows the would be result of the survey. But he openly discloses that all along it has been about the waters (read the fish).

Now @ Big timer,don't get it wrong,the Kenyans in Kibera got it all right by up rooting the railway- what should an ordinary citizen do if the state is not acting. And don't you wonder why the police only watched them do it? Forget about that story of KPLC going to disconnect illegal power connections. But at the base of my heart,I know that going for the railway was wrong,one because it is private property and two,if they had to do it,they should have moved to Malaba because doing it in NBI enevitably hurts Kenyans in Naivasha,NKU,KSM,Butere & Malaba,Rwanda,Burundi and DRC. Of course not forgetting Kenyan industries (and therefore jobs) like Unilever and Bidco who export to Uganda and beyond. But Uganda felt that pinch......sharply.

Kenya's leaders do not know that we have many no-violent cards to cause M7 many economic (and subsequently political migraines.....) if he insists on being mad. And that beautiful (but yesterday brainless) Millie Odhiambo should know better that the UN Security Council is not one of those cards. Moi would have known better,Kenyatta maybe. We should as a country be constantly be gathering cross-border economic intelligence,like the CIA does. I believe Ugandans do but they gather errors most of the time. And going by M7's actions,they are generally foolish. Stupid even. But we are more foolish by not realising.

That aside,I believe M7 is mischevious,while MK is oblivious. Or is it a 'funny' kind of friendship?

Everyday!
nanfor
#56 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 8:08:00 AM

Museveni is one of the sharpest men I have seen and I am very sorry saying that. His statement was timed to hit below the belt and uncouth to say the least.

However,he knows Kenyans remove railways first,then think later.

Kenyans have fallen into his trap of having a survey done. When journalists in Kenya were becoming all white with fury about how obvious Migingo was in Kenya,he was salivating at the end game. Not only are Kenyan journalists pathetic,they obviously have never played chess.

All Museveni wanted was a demarcation of the border in that area. Going for the railway,writing stupid columns etc was just falling into his trap.

After the end of the survey,woe unto any fisherman who is caught in Ugandan waters. I keep wondering if the politician will come and save the poor fisherman who doesn't have a clue where Uganda starts or Kenya ends.

Kenyans should also understand that these leaders are not stupid either. They realise that the railway passing through Kenya and Kibera in particular is a security risk. As Kenyans continue 'no Migingoing,no eating',Ugandans,Tanzanians and the Banyarwanda are busy building roads and a railway network to that region.

I wonder who will have the last laugh. Bravado and self importance has never solved any issue and this one will bite Kenyan fishermen at Migingo very very hard when it is over.
Spendthrift
#57 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 8:44:00 AM

@ nanfor,

I would have waited till later to hear what others think but now is sooner. If you are a lady,sometime we can meet over a beer or a jar of busaa.

Still if you a man,I would like to be buried next to you,when that time comes,so that we can continue exchanging great thoughts. Kidding.

Yesterday,I was interfacing with a friend who 'understands' this fish thing. Your points were exactly what I offered to the discussion. I believe that particularly M7,kiwete..... oops Kikwete,and Kagame are always raking their brains over their country's economies,unlike our own version of elected vegetables who ponder over nothing other than suppressing each other (or better still,suppressing 'rival' communities). But given our strategic position,if we only focused,just a little,we would make them (i single out M7 because of his quest for regional supremacy) have even more migraines.

Mind you the road networks to this resource called Lake Victoria were well planned and Vision 2030 (if you have read it) anticipates the upgrade of Kisumu airport to handle freighters (at least Boieng 767 size of planes). The slow implemnatation is the problem. (for instance the bituminization of class C roads from Kisumu to Luanda K'Otieno is due for completion in a month's time. Another class C road from Kendu Bay to Homa Bay has started and is later to be looped with yet another class C road from Homa Bay to Mbita Point (the advert was in the newspapers recently). Other loops are also planned,but the speed is very slow. I can assure nanfor that if the 'European disease of el maintanino' (case in mind is the Kisumu-Busia and Nakuru-Eldoret-Bungoma-Malaba highways) and can be transmitted to us Kenyans,and if the leaders know what to push for in parliament,the current strategic position (and other advantages such as human resources) of Kenya will ensure we remain an envy of the other E.A states. Better still,it may serve as an engine for greater economic development of the Great Lakes region.

Take out the politics and tribalism and we are there. Otherwise the threat of becoming irrelevant in the region is not only real but like you said,is being implemented.

Everyday!
nanfor
#58 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 9:30:00 AM

@Spendthrift,I prefer uji.

That is what bothers me about Kenyan politics and their supporters. Someone lied to them that life is all about the luo,kikuyu and the Kalenjin. Even the posts here are in that vein.

What we forget is that the world will go on even if Kenyans go from door to door killing each other or making love to each other. The question is,do we still want to remain relevant in the world?

I hope they build these roads they keep on 'visioning 2030'. I don't think that will happen though since some Luo elder will call all ugandans stupid,a Kikuyu elder will call all other tribes stupid,a Kalenjin leader will call everyone else in the world 'doadoa'. As all this is going on,A railway is in its advanced stage.

Irrelevance does not come in one day. It comes over many years spent on silly arguments and issues. Then one day you discover that those Ugandans and Tanzanians you were abusing before,don't use Kenya for anything other than sleeping with prostitutes at the border.
murenj
#59 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 9:46:00 AM

I fear that we are crediting m7 with too much intelligence than he deserves. How can he send his team of experts for consultations without maps and documentation? He reminds me of my illiterate neighbour who kept on moving the boundary on the strenght of folk lore. No amount of negotiations could change his mind. So I brought in the surveyors protected by the administration police. Work,no words,except for a not so friendly knock on his door by the AP's. The boundary still stands to date. Question to consider: is kenya ready to use proportional force to enforce her territorial integrity?

The cunning of the Buffalo
wazamali
#60 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 11:04:00 AM

!!!!!!

Chunga mali yako...