66 Pages«<1516171819>»
UEFA Champions League 2013/14
#321 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 5:25:18 AM

safariant wrote:
[quote=Um Sayala]Applause Applause Applause GOOONERSApplause .

As it stands Dortmund is ahead of Arsenal on head to head if they tie on points.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly You are still wearing your dark goggles at night?smile...Dortmund is no. 3 on that table.Laughing out loudly

Each team still has 2 games to play, 6 points to play for. Will Dortmund still be 3rd by then?

What are you talking about, going into last night's match all three teams were tied on 6 points but Arsenal were top of the group due to their better head to head record, Sasa how can Dortmund be ahead yet we beat them at home? IMO all Arsenal need to do now is win against Marseille and we are through!
Um Sayala
#322 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 7:49:38 AM

@Taz,
wacha tu armchair analysts waongee. Let them introduce the many IFs in the equation. Mara head to head,mara arsenal have not met their match...bla bla, as if they are students of C++.
Meanwhile am in the bank, Equity. hahahahahahahahahahahhh RAAMSSEYY is all I needed.
"Peace is our profession, War is our business" ...Unknown
bebeto
#323 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 8:23:07 AM

They said Napoli was the first real test,....
then came Dortmund at home,...
then Liverpool,...
then BvB away....

has Arsenal been tested yet?
that belief is slowly coming back...

...and the song, "stand up! stand up!....for the champions...(nostalgic!)
"The chief danger in life is that you may take too many precautions" - Alfred adler
Thiong'o
#324 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 8:31:03 AM

safariant wrote:

As it stands Dortmund is ahead of Arsenal on head to head if they tie on points.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly You are still wearing your dark goggles at night?smile...Dortmund is no. 3 on that table.Laughing out loudly

Each team still has 2 games to play, 6 points to play for. Will Dortmund still be 3rd by then?

What are you talking about, going into last night's match all three teams were tied on 6 points but Arsenal were top of the group due to their better head to head record than Dortmund and Napoli, Sasa how can Dortmund be ahead yet we beat them at home? IMO all Arsenal need to do now is win against Marseille and we are through!

@ TAZ, from the analysis here,
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/24747790
Even if the Gunners beat bottom side Marseille at the Emirates on 26 November, they could still need to pick up a point at Napoli in their final group game in order to secure their progress.
#325 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 8:52:25 AM

Thiong'o wrote:
safariant wrote:

What are you talking about, going into last night's match all three teams were tied on 6 points but Arsenal were top of the group due to their better head to head record than Dortmund and Napoli, Sasa how can Dortmund be ahead yet we beat them at home? IMO all Arsenal need to do now is win against Marseille and we are through!

Even if the Gunners beat bottom side Marseille at the Emirates on 26 November, they could still need to pick up a point at Napoli in their final group game in order to secure their progress.

@Thiongo, I had thought the math was pretty obvious, kumbe it ain't to many!!!!
#326 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 9:00:23 AM

Thiong'o wrote:
safariant wrote:

Sawa but maybe ni mimi sielewei, if "Arsenal arrived here in Germany top of Group F by the thinnest of margins – Uefa's method of separating sides by their head-to-head record has them leading a trio of teams on six points" and that's after we lost 2-1 at home, why would Dortmund or Napoli be better off now?

@Mc Reggae why don't explain it to me since you seem to understand the head-to-head rule better. Why exactly were we at the top of the group yet were level on points but had lost a home match against Dortmund.
#327 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 9:00:35 AM

Now that Arsenal have finished with the very hard fixtures in November we can start with the easy fixtures starting with Manure on Sunday.
#328 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 9:18:20 AM

bkismat wrote:
Now that Arsenal have finished with the very hard fixtures in November we can start with the easy fixtures starting with Manure on Sunday.

Applause Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause Applause Applause Applause

I hear some are still saying that Arsenal has not been tested.
LMAO
#329 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 9:25:07 AM

dossy7 wrote:
bkismat wrote:

Applause Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause Applause Applause Applause

I hear some are still saying that Arsenal has not been tested.
LMAO

Applause Applause Applause Applause Arsenal all the way!

#330 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 9:51:36 AM

"If two sides are even on points at the end of the group stage, then their head-to-head record determines who goes through. If that record is even, the side who has scored more goals away from home in the two matches between the two sides in question progresses."

If all three teams in group F end up with 12 pts then the head to head rule will be used on all three and not two teams. Yes Dortmund scored more goals away to Arsenal and would finish above us if we are level on points but what about our record against Napoli, its quite healthy.

For Napoli to have a better head to head record against Arsenal they have to win by a margin of 3 clear goals. As for Dortmund well they have to defeat Napoli at home and Marseille away first before tuongee mambo ya head to head! As i said Arsenal just need to win against Marseille, the other two have more work to do than Arsenal in the next two fixtures. A point in our final group match will only ensure we finish at the top.
Thiong'o
#331 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 10:20:50 AM

Thiong'o wrote:
safariant wrote:

Sawa but maybe ni mimi sielewei, if "Arsenal arrived here in Germany top of Group F by the thinnest of margins – Uefa's method of separating sides by their head-to-head record has them leading a trio of teams on six points" and that's after we lost 2-1 at home, why would Dortmund or Napoli be better off now?

@Mc Reggae why don't explain it to me since you seem to understand the head-to-head rule better. Why exactly were we at the top of the group yet were level on points but had lost a home match against Dortmund.

@TAZ, This from Wenger on progression..
on where this game ranks Arsenal in Europe…
I don't know, we won against a very good team tonight. I have a lot of respect for Dortmund because they are a very good side. Unfortunately this group is a very strong group, and one of the big teams will have to pay a heavy price. I hope it will not be us, but of course this is a huge result.
http://www.arsenal.com/n...-in-dortmund-and-ramsey

and...
Borussia Dortmund boss Jurgen Klopp believes Arsenal can win the Champions League, but only if they avoid fellow German side Bayern Munich in the draw.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/24845918
#332 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 10:24:22 AM

Which brings me back to my point - Marseille will eventually determine who exits this group to join Europa. I have a feeling Marseille will refuse to be beaten by all teams in this group and will get a point somewhere, could be at the Emirates or at BVB on final match day. If it doesn't happen, then it will be very interesting. But in all fairness all the three teams deserve to go through and were unlucky to be drawn in the same group. Some groups will have useless teams progressing to knockout stage.
#333 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 10:57:20 AM

it will be very interesting if Dortmund beat Napoli at Der Signal Iduna Park
#334 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 11:08:13 AM

it will be very interesting if Dortmund beat Napoli at Der Signal Iduna Park

I think they will Napoli is a bit shaky...
btw Klopp has said this...

"Sometimes they seemed like they were defending with. four legs".

and this....

"They won a clever game tonight and could go to the final and win it, as long as they don't play against Bayern Munich".
#335 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 11:20:44 AM

Which brings me back to my point - Marseille will eventually determine who exits this group to join Europa. I have a feeling Marseille will refuse to be beaten by all teams in this group and will get a point somewhere, could be at the Emirates or at BVB on final match day. If it doesn't happen, then it will be very interesting. But in all fairness all the three teams deserve to go through and were unlucky to be drawn in the same group. Some groups will have useless teams progressing to knockout stage.

I can't remember the last time Wenger lost a match against a French team in Europe but we drew with Marseille last time we met at the Emirates (11-12 season).....Dortmund on the other hand lost at home to Marseille same season. Interesting stuff but like i said, the most important game for us is against Marseille.
qooler
#336 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 11:25:30 AM

Dortmund fans be like ... until some welsh guy spoils the party

safariant
#337 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 11:27:26 AM

qooler wrote:

The T-Shirts read Wembley, this was in the Finals vs Bayern Munich in Wembley
The greatest act of bravery is chancing a fart while suffering from diarrhoea
qooler
#338 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 11:29:57 AM

safariant wrote:
qooler wrote:

The T-Shirts read Wembley, this was in the Finals vs Bayern Munich in Wembley

true. Still find it quite funny though.
kangi
#339 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 11:32:35 AM

Thiong'o wrote:
safariant wrote:

@Thiongo, I had thought the math was pretty obvious, kumbe it ain't to many!!!!

@Mc why belabor on the maths weka scenario analysis then you see how things turn out. There are points to be lost when Napoli go to BVB remember
Accept no one's definition of your life; define your life.
safariant
#340 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 11:39:39 AM

rpt
The greatest act of bravery is chancing a fart while suffering from diarrhoea