Traffic Management set to go digital
Blackbelt
#41 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:39:25 AM

FundamentAli wrote:
mkeiyd wrote:
Blackbelt wrote:
The 'Kidero lights' are impressive. Can the cops now move away from the road and let the lights function???

I don't think the cops need to move away, what they should be provided with is a control both, to be adjusting the timings accordingly.

There is going to be a central control room. Cops need to be there to nab drivers who jump the lights.

I meant, can the cops stop controlling traffic now that that these lights are in place? It beats logic for the cops to do so...
#42 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:45:02 AM

mukiha wrote:
I am always amazed at the damage that Daniel arap Moi did to this country....

In 1983, I was booked by a cop at the Uhuru/Haile Selassie roundabout for the offence of "attempting to jump a red traffic light". Yes, 30 years ago!

This was the usual booking of you stopped at the lights with the front wheels of your touching or going past the broad white line adjacent to the traffic light pole. Today I see cops encouraging drivers to jump the lights and wonder when the rain started beating us down!

And yes; in the 1980s, all the traffic lights in the city - uhuru highway, Kenyatta avenue, Moi avenue (then known as Government road) and Lusaka road were controlled centrally from a control room at City Hall.

In those very analogue days - there were only 2 computers in Kenya!!!!! - they had dozens of control cables running from City Hall to the traffic lights. The city also had traffic scouts with walkie-talkies observing critical junctions and updating the controllers at City Hall.

Now that's how advanced we were... until Moi came and messed everything up!

Moi was President in 83' so lets just say, untill the coup happened, the man changed.

I like your way of thinking, remember how the man was actively building Kenya through erecting garbions manually?

#43 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 12:06:43 PM

mukiha wrote:

In 1983, I was booked by a cop at the Uhuru/Haile Selassie roundabout for the offence of "attempting to jump a red traffic light". Yes, 30 years ago!

This was the usual booking of you stopped at the lights with the front wheels of your touching or going past the broad white line adjacent to the traffic light pole. Today I see cops encouraging drivers to jump the lights and wonder when the rain started beating us down!

And yes; in the 1980s, all the traffic lights in the city - uhuru highway, Kenyatta avenue, Moi avenue (then known as Government road) and Lusaka road were controlled centrally from a control room at City Hall.

In those very analogue days - there were only 2 computers in Kenya!!!!! - they had dozens of control cables running from City Hall to the traffic lights. The city also had traffic scouts with walkie-talkies observing critical junctions and updating the controllers at City Hall.

Moi was President in 83' so lets just say, untill the coup happened, the man changed.

The attempted coup was in 1982!

What you don't seem to understand is that Moi did not kill our nation in single stroke from August 1978 when he took over from Kenyatta-I. The destruction happened gradually over a period of about ten years. By 1988, the nation was on it's knees and it remained there for another 15 years!

I still remember the first major pothole on a Kenyan road.... it appeared on Thika road, near Muigai Inn... Then people were shocked that after one week it was not being fixed! It was left to grow until 1984 when the second re-building of the highway was done by Solel Boneh....

Any way; this is not a political history thread... it's about traffic management.

Are the roundabouts necessary? I think so

Are the traffic lights necessary? I think so too

Are the cops necessary? I think so, but their duty must be changed to catching those who disobey the lights.

However, at the same time, we must figure out a way of rewarding those who are obedient while punishing the disobedient ones.

The famous Corporal Sang showed us how one low ranking cop can sort out the mess on one of the busiest arteries in the city - Jogoo road. He did so by punishing queue jumpers (confiscating keys and keeping you waiting for 3 hours - after the jam has cleared) and in the same stroke rewarding obedience by making sure that the queue moved faster.

Today's cops are doing the exact opposite. They reward (and encourage) disobedience and in the process punish obedience. How many times have you been kept waiting for 45 minute at a roundabout while those on the other side are encouraged, nay, ordered to jump the red lights?

It suddens me to see the City Fathers spend about sh15m installing modern traffic controllers complete with LED bulbs just for the cops to come and order everyone to ignore the lights.... haki inaudhi!!!
Blackbelt
#44 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 2:54:48 PM

mukiha wrote:

What you don't seem to understand is that Moi did not kill our nation in single stroke from August 1978 when he took over from Kenyatta-I. The destruction happened gradually over a period of about ten years. By 1988, the nation was on it's knees and it remained there for another 15 years!

I still remember the first major pothole on a Kenyan road.... it appeared on Thika road, near Muigai Inn... Then people were shocked that after one week it was not being fixed! It was left to grow until 1984 when the second re-building of the highway was done by Solel Boneh....

Any way; this is not a political history thread... it's about traffic management.

Are the cops necessary? I think so, but their duty must be changed to catching those who disobey the lights.

However, at the same time, we must figure out a way of rewarding those who are obedient while punishing the disobedient ones.

The famous Corporal Sang showed us how one low ranking cop can sort out the mess on one of the busiest arteries in the city - Jogoo road. He did so by punishing queue jumpers (confiscating keys and keeping you waiting for 3 hours - after the jam has cleared) and in the same stroke rewarding obedience by making sure that the queue moved faster.

Today's cops are doing the exact opposite. They reward (and encourage) disobedience and in the process punish obedience. How many times have you been kept waiting for 45 minute at a roundabout while those on the other side are encouraged, nay, ordered to jump the red lights?

It suddens me to see the City Fathers spend about sh15m installing modern traffic controllers complete with LED bulbs just for the cops to come and order everyone to ignore the lights.... haki inaudhi!!!

It also 'suddens" me as well.....
Kweli ilikuja na meli.....
#45 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 3:10:51 PM

Blackbelt wrote:
mukiha wrote:

It also 'suddens" me as well.....
Kweli ilikuja na meli.....

Me it shudrens me!!!

#46 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 8:57:06 PM

mukiha wrote:

aaaiii Mukiha are you this old? assuming you were booked @ around 20 with hot blood trying to jump lights.
#47 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 9:53:54 PM

@Mukiha, are you implying that after the mkoloni went....there improvements over the 15yrs of Kenyatta rule and things only started going down when MO1 took over???
#48 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:31:04 PM

I salute Mukiha. kuishi kwingi ni kuona mengi.
Baba was so keen on kuzuia mumonyoko wa udongo.
#49 Posted : Thursday, August 08, 2013 2:04:15 AM

@lady admin there is need for a new rank for the likes of akina @mukiha eg Grand Moran of the Burning Spear, Lord Chancellor/ Gabbana/Baron etc. There contribution to Wazua is priceless. Wapewe heshima yao.

Now back to traffic lights by show of hands are there traffic lights in the diaspora Kisumu, Nakuru, Eldoret, Mombasa , Nyeri, Kericho, Kisii?
?What is my point! Most drivers especially Matatu, lorry etc learn driving huko mashinani where there are no lights. Hata ile kitabu ya highway code na model town hakuna. DL waliletewa nyumbani. Most ofvthese characters form 90% of the maniacs on our roads.
Hakuna syllabus some drivers are potential customers of New Muthaiga Hospital . . .
Yawa Kenya's 2nd largest City MSA does not have a single working traffic light!

Blackbelt wrote:
The 'Kidero lights' are impressive. Can the cops now move away from the road and let the lights function???

Wekeni piksha ili watu wa machinani wayaone haya lights.

Speculz
#50 Posted : Thursday, August 08, 2013 8:03:45 AM

danas10 wrote:
Blackbelt wrote:

so that number 23 is for what? d'oh! d'oh!

Its for the amount of time you have in seconds before the green light turns to red.
"You can't have everything. Where would you put it?" - Stephen Wright
#51 Posted : Thursday, August 08, 2013 9:04:32 AM

mukiha wrote:

aaaiii Mukiha are you this old? assuming you were booked @ around 20 with hot blood trying to jump lights.

Is this @mukiha the mzee at mzee 7 who came from DRC???

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

#52 Posted : Thursday, August 08, 2013 9:06:25 AM

Speculz wrote:
danas10 wrote:
Blackbelt wrote:

so that number 23 is for what? d'oh! d'oh!

Its for the amount of time you have in seconds before the green light turns to red.

The cops just ignore these lights...how is a system supposed to work if not even given a chance?
mkeiyd
#53 Posted : Thursday, August 08, 2013 9:28:49 AM

FundamentAli wrote:
mkeiyd wrote:
Blackbelt wrote:

I don't think the cops need to move away, what they should be provided with is a control both, to be adjusting the timings accordingly.

There is going to be a central control room. Cops need to be there to nab drivers who jump the lights.

Where i've seen the system work, the cops have a control booth for adjusting timings during peak hours and incases of incidents/accidents or events, depending on traffic volumes.

Offpeak hours and during the night, the control room does its thing.

#54 Posted : Thursday, August 08, 2013 10:52:06 AM

In 2006, I was involved in the rehabilitation of traffic lights at one of the roundabouts on Uhuru highway. It was frustrating when testing the timing and sequence.

The cops would come and order vehicles to stop and go completely ignoring our work. We politely requested them to give us time to finish and they did...for three days, they'd come and just watch as we refined the system. Once the job was done, they moved in in full gear and continued directing the cars!

Even though we were paid for the work, I felt cheated and abused!

During that time, I got a chance to talk with the cops and I realised that they have very little knowledge about traffic flow and even about driving!

And to think that directing traffic has very little opportunity for taking bribes, it makes me wonder why they appear so interested in this job
#55 Posted : Thursday, August 08, 2013 11:02:35 AM

mukiha wrote:
In 2006, I was involved in the rehabilitation of traffic lights at one of the roundabouts on Uhuru highway. It was frustrating when testing the timing and sequence.

The cops would come and order vehicles to stop and go completely ignoring our work. We politely requested them to give us time to finish and they did...for three days, they'd come and just watch as we refined the system. Once the job was done, they moved in in full gear and continued directing the cars!

During that time, I got a chance to talk with the cops and I realised that they have very little knowledge about traffic flow and even about driving!

And to think that directing traffic has very little opportunity for taking bribes, it makes me wonder why they appear so interested in this job

When the alternative is getting shot at, and probably maimed or killed, by a better armed thug....
#56 Posted : Thursday, August 08, 2013 11:13:28 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
mukiha wrote:

When the alternative is getting shot at, and probably maimed or killed, by a better armed thug....

Traffi police decide when to make....and when they do they make it without a sweat.
#57 Posted : Thursday, August 08, 2013 12:07:09 PM

mukiha wrote:

Is this @mukiha the mzee at mzee 7 who came from DRC???

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

ilikuja na mbuzi.
webish
#58 Posted : Wednesday, November 06, 2013 3:49:20 PM

Anyone has an idea when they will let the lights manage traffic?

I know most drivers may not be disciplined, but we have to start from somewhere. Surely.

Then, I've also seen the mail doing rounds from someone at Deloitte saying the Cameras "have" been activated...

Intelligence please..

Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
#59 Posted : Wednesday, November 06, 2013 3:57:26 PM

webish wrote:

I know most drivers may not be disciplined, but we have to start from somewhere. Surely.

Then, I've also seen the mail doing rounds from someone at Deloitte saying the Cameras "have" been activated...

Intelligence please..

If you are a regular to city centre you will realize that most of them have been installed, hopefully they start soon. May be waiting for xmas season thats when we have more offenders than travelers
#60 Posted : Wednesday, November 06, 2013 4:30:16 PM

freiks wrote:
webish wrote:

Intelligence please..

If you are a regular to city centre you will realize that most of them have been installed, hopefully they start soon. May be waiting for xmas season thats when we have more offenders than travelers

Yeah...I have seen them too. Big brother...