wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

Safaricom keep an eye on m-pesa agents
#1 Posted : Monday, November 04, 2013 3:12:25 PM

M-pesa agents are key to m-pesa success or failure.
I've noticed that quite a number of agents are not taking deposits and it's not hard to guess that deposits are not earning them any or much money. One located at Uchumi, Ngong rd has even put a sign saying WITHDRAWAL ONLY. NO DEPOSIT. This small matter if not checked could be m-pesa's achilles' heel.

#2 Posted : Monday, November 04, 2013 3:48:40 PM

Noticed the same. Uchumi should realise that we (at least me) transact mpesa as we buy milk and bread. Nowadays I buy these small everyday perishables from Nakumatt Prestige where's a good mpesa agent inside the store. BTW, I have collected my new loyalty card from Nakumatt - I sense that this card will drive Uchumi to the ground.
#3 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 8:55:12 AM

Wazua is really powerful. Uchumi Ngong Rd. m-pesa replaced the no deposits sign with Deposits of up to 25,000/-

#4 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 9:31:07 AM

Individual agents can't afford not to take deposits. It supplies them with the cash to pay withdrawals. Uchumi might have figured that they cash use the cash from regular sales to simply keep paying out withdrawals and collecting the commission. They have a huge cash float from the till. But I wonder what Safaricom would feel about it... It's not fair to customers
#5 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 9:34:00 AM

Wazua is really powerful. Uchumi Ngong Rd. m-pesa replaced the no deposits sign with Deposits of up to 25,000/-

I'm curious does Safaricom allow this?
jerry
#6 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 10:01:59 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Noticed the same. Uchumi should realise that we (at least me) transact mpesa as we buy milk and bread. Nowadays I buy these small everyday perishables from Nakumatt Prestige where's a good mpesa agent inside the store. BTW, I have collected my new loyalty card from Nakumatt - I sense that this card will drive Uchumi to the ground.

How special is the Nakumatt card?
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
symbols
#7 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2013 2:29:03 PM

Wazua is really powerful.

Money,culture,politics as well as other ideologies are discussed and challenged on Wazua in a local context.In this digital age,I have very little doubt the new Kenyan 'elite' will be shaped if not greatly influenced by the discourse on Wazua.The diversity and integration of its members is unique in my eyes because I find it so broad yet so deep.