wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

Manual vs Automatic
mburu
#1 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 9:23:00 AM

Hi everyone,am confused on a manual car or Auto one .someone offered the manual a premio for that at a vry fair price but worried about fuel consumption,help me out

follow your inner voice
Eddy
#2 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 9:34:00 AM

Take the automatic,fuel consumption among many things is largely based on your driving style irrespective of whether manual/automatic.

Automatic vehicles remove a lot strain on the drivers especially for urban driving.
Jalofg
#3 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 9:41:00 AM

@ Eddy

Manual cars consume much less compared to auto especially for urban travel.

I changed a 1500 cc auto car for 1500cc Manual car a month ago and the difference in fuel consumption is big.

Jalofg
dexco
#4 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 9:47:00 AM

Sasa ati u r confused??

Everyne has their preference. Now what i can tell you is take a manual car and drive around,then pick an auto car and do the same. And ull know ur preference.

But if u r new to cars buy Auto by all means.

Eddy
#5 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 10:15:00 AM

@jalofg,

Funny you should say that i had a 1295cc manual toyota ee96 and later bought a 1500cc (103) automatic which is extremely kind to my pocket to the fuel.

This issue is debatable as there are too many varuables to consider,just 'bing' the subject.
mkristo
#6 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 10:24:00 AM

It is true that manual cars are relatively economical compared to Auto,however this has got to be within the context of same engine capacity and same engine technology. Otherwise I think the latest versions of Automatic cars are more econmical than the prepvious ones.

If you are talking of Corolla 110 manual vs auto,then the difference in fuel consumption will be that the manual is more economical,but if you were talking of Corolla 110 manual vs the latest Corolla V VTI Auto,then definately the later is more economical.

the voice of reason
mburu
#7 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 11:35:00 AM

The car in question here is a toyota premio,thanks so far,update me more

follow your inner voice
Djinn
#8 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 11:36:00 AM

Personally I am a manual die hard - I keep thinking of those times when you need to overtake a bus that is already doing 100kph and the window of opportunity until visibility of the the road ahead is limited and you need to 'jump' from 100 kph to 120 in order to overtake safely....in an automatic,you will not jump to 120kph in 5 secs - you will creep to 120 in abt 15 secs. In a manual you need only drop down one gear and floor

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
#9 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 11:39:00 AM

@mburu and all....i believe you are inferring HANDLING of the vehicles by (wo)man.

if that is so,then vehicle handling is MANUAL except for a few automated functions in most modern days cars,eg..powered windows and auto-gear selection on drive mode (note any other mode you have to engage manually)....by the way,what other vehicle handling is auto???? You have to turn the knob to open the door (even after pressing the remote button),press on the accelerator & brake pedals,steer the wheels,put on the rights,etc,etc

However,all other systems,especially to do with the engine are AUTO...thats why its called AUTOMOBILE!!

and yes,manual cars (in the sence of human handling) consume less fuel (compare same engines sizes and same fuel systems)

If you have money that you expect to start using in five years,it now belongs in stocks.
Bree
#10 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 11:55:00 AM

Ive done both & actually loves the manual...its kinda fun to spin & engaging
mburu
#11 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 11:58:00 AM

And what do you think on its pricing,he offred me for 490k but says negotiable and its a 1999 one about 120kms mileage

follow your inner voice
se7en
#12 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 12:16:00 PM

in addition to the need to accelarate immediately on ocassion,fuel consumption difference(depending of course on the way the car is being handled),you can also jump start that cat without jacking your battery...and even without the jumper cables *stua* I know you can on an auto but it by and large messes it up... it was NOT built to perform on stua mode...

and in other related news... a 1999 premio,manual??? 490k??? no way jose!! thats a pretty penny!

if you can not be kind,at least have the decency to be vague
speak softly and carry a big stick, you will go far... Theodore Roosevelt
#13 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 12:18:00 PM

@Djinn,

Most auto cars have an O/D button (Safe for my Datsun fairlady,but then it's a 1971 model) on the drive selector stick.When you need power while overtaking,your thumb does a nudge and vroooom,yooff you go.I guess that is much easier than clutching,shifting and then flooring.

Yombo dhier....!!
mburu
#14 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 12:29:00 PM

I swear the 490k offer is real,i've seen it and drove it just that am taking time to finalise.

follow your inner voice
tuvok
#15 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 12:51:00 PM

@djinn....in an automatic,you will not jump to 120kph in 5 secs - you will creep to 120 in abt 15 secs. In a manual you need only drop down one gear and floor #

Kwani which ride is this that does that in 15 sec :).

Generally speaking for an automatic if you want to gain speed,you floor the accelerator (as little or as hard as you'd want depending on the gain you intend) - this will shift gear(s) down. If you really floor it,it is possible to go to the lowest possible one.

I can't test drive a manual of the corona premio I have since it was only produced with a automatic gear box - but 100-120 kph would possibly take less than 5 sec :) - without using the O/D or the ECT power.

> 490k sounds like a deal for that.

> as for manual vs auto - kila mtu na dawa yake. Looking at specs from a few websites,there's a slight benefit in fuel economy (and 0-60mph time). But keep in mind that when manufacturers come up with the specs of cars,the conditions are ideal > (the cars (I'm told) driven electronically,the road has no potholes etc etc ). So in practice,you'd need some serious experience to be able to come close to the specs.
mburu
#16 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 12:51:00 PM

I had a bad experience with an Auto,i went to my rural home and it rained and got stuck,the more i flooored the more power to move it lost as it shifted upwards messing more

follow your inner voice
#17 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 12:59:00 PM

@ mburu

As said earlier,people are different. If you want to 'drive' go for the manual,if you want to 'move' the car,go for automatic. And it is a fact that on average,in similar conditions,a manual car is more economical on fuel that an auto car. I prefer a manual car any day. I love being in control of a moti not having it second guess my mind....smile
#18 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 1:26:00 PM

@Tuvok,

Flooring the gas peddle is equally effective.Infact if you want a roar,pinch the O/D while flooring.

@Mburu,

In a rut or muddy condition,the more you 'rave' (rev),the more you get stuck.In most situations you only need a small nudge and the car moves on.You need to feel a car whether manual or auto once you are stuck.Am surprised too coz it seems the auto cars you've handled are short of many things.Ever seen or used L drive?.....

Yombo dhier....!!
Pirate
#19 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 1:30:00 PM

@mjinn .. u got that totally spot on ... I had an auto rav 4 company car for about 1 year and recently bought an manual x-trail .. the difference is amazing!! the manual gives u so much control and power,especially when overtaking in rural and also urban drive .. Even with the overdrive on the auto,the change in acceleration at high speed is barely noticeable .The manual also gives a driving thrill that is unmatched ... the auto consumes much more fuel and interestingly for the same engine takes longer to accelerate ... check www.parker.co.uk /car/reviews for more detail .....

Knowledge is power but action gets things done...
Knowledge is power , but action gets things done ...
mtaalam
#20 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 1:31:00 PM

Get the automatic most importantly for resale value.

ili iwe funzo...