wazua Thu, Jul 2, 2026

6 Pages«<23456>
Draconian Media Law
#31 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 10:55:31 AM

Kratos wrote:
I see a lot of side shows from those who are always opposing for the sake of opposing. Just here in wazua we even have a number of threads pertaining to the media painting a not so rosy picture.

Sijiu "oh tumerudi siku za moi" "oh accept and move on" oh sijui cowardice, "unpatriotic" are words and statements being thrown around.

My earlier questions still stand. Draconian in what terms? The media doesn't want to take responsibility for bad journalism and here they've somehow managed to convince idiots who haven't even read the bill.
The media is like a knife, very useful but dangerous when used wrongly. To me if they're hefty fines just to prevent misreporting then why not? The other day there was the amendment to the traffic act which imposed hefty fines for me as a road user, where was the hue and cry?

You see once the media has published a fallacy like they always do the damage is already done. Just last week there was that death tax report in Kiambu, did the reporter who wrote the story bother to confirm all his suspicions with the relevant people ama it was just a juicy story that he never bothered with the truth?

There is the PEV which was hugely fanned by the media. Did they ever own up to their part in it?

Laughing out loudly Come srori bro!!!!
#32 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 12:52:21 PM

Kratos wrote:
I see a lot of side shows from those who are always opposing for the sake of opposing. Just here in wazua we even have a number of threads pertaining to the media painting a not so rosy picture.

Sijiu "oh tumerudi siku za moi" "oh accept and move on" oh sijui cowardice, "unpatriotic" are words and statements being thrown around.

My earlier questions still stand. Draconian in what terms? The media doesn't want to take responsibility for bad journalism and here they've somehow managed to convince idiots who haven't even read the bill.
The media is like a knife, very useful but dangerous when used wrongly. To me if they're hefty fines just to prevent misreporting then why not? The other day there was the amendment to the traffic act which imposed hefty fines for me as a road user, where was the hue and cry?

You see once the media has published a fallacy like they always do the damage is already done. Just last week there was that death tax report in Kiambu, did the reporter who wrote the story bother to confirm all his suspicions with the relevant people ama it was just a juicy story that he never bothered with the truth?

There is the PEV which was hugely fanned by the media. Did they ever own up to their part in it?

Laughing out loudly Come srori bro!!!!

hilo tusi limekwama kwa koo - but I will try and swallow it
#33 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 12:56:01 PM

Interesting Debate on twirra...Two sides of a coin

One side screaming murder gagging ---KANU Dictatorship etc - very Cordedsmile smile smile

On the other side guys who support the bill claim Bill is Good. The opponents have not read the Bill waoneshe chida iko wapi? Sad Sad Sad

Whos fooling who?

How do media laws in other civilised countries look like mayuu @kiash??
"πŸ˜–πŸ˜‘KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
#34 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 1:01:48 PM

Kratos wrote:

Mzee Daniel Muthee Ngeera's case should be a light to enlighten folks that don't want a responsible media. People need to take responsibility for their actions.
#35 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 2:26:53 PM

Very queer statistics
with the help of IEBC i have tallied the tweets by the mainstream media on the issue in the last

@theStar = 1 tweet 1 retweet
@the Standard (KTN) = 2 mentions
@Dailynation = i lost count after the 100th tweet Floods of tweet articles and retweets

Kwani hii Bill targets Nation media only? mbona wanafoka hivyo? what are they guilty of?

Hear, hear, hear ...

You think the Kenya media law is harsh? The new media regulation law in the UK has fines of up to one million pound (Sh166M).

Journalism should operate on accurate information in an environment of free expression while protecting the right to others' privacy.

watu waache pang'ang'a, wasome kwanza

"πŸ˜–πŸ˜‘KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
#36 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 2:34:25 PM

Misquoted: you say something, they report something else

What do you call it when they report that you said something yet you never spoke at all...and you weren't even at the venue? It happened to me a few years ago. The [sub]Standard quoted me saying something yet I had never spoken to them...I still have never spoken to any of their reporters. To make matters worse, what they reported is completely the opposite of my opinion on the subject and therefore it turned out to be very embarrassing for me.

I reported the matter to the Media Council and they did absolutely nothing - they didn't even acknowledge my letter! From that time, I realised that the so-called self-regulation is non-existent.

So I will support this legislation because it is trying to put some sense of responsibility on reporters. Time has come for journalism to become a serious activity.

BTW: I have always wondered why Kenyan journalists call themselves "JONALISTS". Don't they understand that the word comes from journal; a journalist is some one who works with journals. Therefore, the word is pronounced as "JANOLIST" not "JONALIST". And what the do is "JANOLISM", not "JONALISM".
#37 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 2:52:10 PM

An interesting departure from the norm:

"102E. (l) The Tribunal may, after hearing the parties to a complaint....
[f] impose a fine of not more than twenty million shillings on any respondent media enterprise and a fine of not more than one million shillings on any journalist adjudged to have violated this Act or the Code of Conduct for the Conduct of Journalism set out in the Media Council Act, where upon such a fine shall be a debt due to the aggrieved party and recoverable as such"

In other words, the fine is paid to the aggrieved party. That is is indeed a big departure. Normally, you expect a fine payable to the state and compensation to the aggrieved party.
#38 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 2:54:14 PM

Seems Nation media house is on full throttle in misrepresentation of facts.

Where is the evidence of that "fact"?

^^^^^ perfect example of misrepesentation of facts. Which Kenyans are united against #GoKMediaGag?

Kenyan media is full of sensationalism and dressing up opinions as facts, as well as pushing their own agendas like is happening now. Truth is a small inconvenience for the media, truth doesn't sell!!

β€œPeople will believe a big lie sooner than a little one, and if you repeat it frequently enough, people will sooner or later believe it.” ― Walter C. Langer
#39 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 3:04:47 PM

mukiha wrote:
An interesting departure from the norm:

"102E. (l) The Tribunal may, after hearing the parties to a complaint....
[f] impose a fine of not more than twenty million shillings on any respondent media enterprise and a fine of not more than one million shillings on any journalist adjudged to have violated this Act or the Code of Conduct for the Conduct of Journalism set out in the Media Council Act, where upon such a fine shall be a debt due to the aggrieved party and recoverable as such"

In other words, the fine is paid to the aggrieved party. That is is indeed a big departure. Normally, you expect a fine payable to the state and compensation to the aggrieved party.

Best thing ever, if you report falsehoods and half truths about an individual or institution then its only fair that they be compensated much as it happens with libel cases!

β€œPeople will believe a big lie sooner than a little one, and if you repeat it frequently enough, people will sooner or later believe it.” ― Walter C. Langer
#40 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 4:06:14 PM

Very Interesting debate. Have not read the document but seems many here are for it to pass.

@alma @Masukuma and @Kratos great views above.

@alma, Yaani there are times you see things with a naked eye, no goggles?smile smile
6 Pages«<23456>