wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

Manual vs Automatic
Fundaah
#21 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 1:33:00 PM

Today and cars ..wow ..... kumbe guys know that much... will save this discussion print it and carry it in my next car shopping.....

Rules of the game here:

Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good

Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
#22 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 1:34:00 PM

Manual car is the king,the altimate car....hiyo ingine ni mfano,made for the lazy....na huo ni ukweli kabisa!!

If you have money that you expect to start using in five years,it now belongs in stocks.
#23 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 1:39:00 PM

And what happens when the battery dies and it is an automatic transmission car? Woooiii!

AKS
extrablessed
#24 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 1:44:00 PM

@mburu: I have both an Auto and a manual,and i prefer using the automatic anytime. There isnt much difference btw the two cars in terms of fuel consumption. To overtake or speed up,just press the thumb knob and press the pendle and voila,the bus is behind you. Remember to reverse this mode as the car will tend to consumes more fuel like a manual car.

When stuck in the mud,place the gear lever at L and the vehicle will just glide through the mud without digging itself deeper.

Automatic any time: smooth drive,less strain/stress on driver,no clutches to be changes,less ware and tare on the machine.

The choice is yours.

All the best

Life is worth living cos God planned it to be so.
Sigiriri
#25 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 1:56:00 PM

For overtaking - if u remove overdrive (O/D) then floor,you get the same effect as changing down a gear. So points gone to manual on that - lost!

For getting stuck - use 'L' drive on toyos,nissans and a couple others- on most recent models,you can lock it at any gear 1,2 mpaka 3. So points gone to manual on that - lost!

For ku-stua,here manual comes clean. But guys,if you can afford a car,you sure can afford a 5K Chloride battery - which will not mess you up.

So you decide.

Bidii yangu
jitetee
#26 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 2:02:00 PM

Love the manual especially when driving out of town. City driving can be irritating when you consider the endless traffic jams. What with shifting between gears,clutch,hand brake,foot brake,balancing the accelerator and clutch on and incline etc. My next car will be auto. But I am glad that the experience means I can drive both manual and auto comfortably. You know what they say about driving a manual. Like riding a bicycle,you never forget.

Time and chance happen to all.
mtaalam
#27 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 2:03:00 PM

@Alphdoti
When the battery dies you buy another. Just like any other car.
Ama you're the guys who stua a car every journey?

ili iwe funzo...
alvaro-1
#28 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 3:29:00 PM

Has anyone ever tried shifting from 'D' to '2' in an auto when attempting to overtake that bus? u wont even need to floor! and a manual will be no match.
kanda
#29 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 6:15:00 PM

@Mburu

I will open by stating categorically that for me,it is automatic any day! I have been driving a premio automatic for the last 8 months and I just cannot imagine driving a manual car ever again!!

The deal you have at hand is good according to me (premio is one of the sturdiest,best features mid size toyota sedans; the AE91 and AE100 of today) but note that the condition of the car is very critical. Have your mechanic check it out. You may also be able to tell a lot by assessing the general condition of the car: paint job,shocks,etc are they worn out? beware if the car has been repainted....it may be an attempt to hide previous abuse. has the car been used as a taxi? be careful there.

Let me also say that it is unbelievable the ignorance of several people who have replied to this post. There is this myth (maybe a macho thing) about having control over a car if it has manual transmission. Nothing can be farther from the truth. I guess the myth came about due to the design of early ATs. Good people,ATs have come of age and unless you are a rally driver,you will not gain one ounce of advantage in terms of performance by driving a manual!! Only strain and arthritis in your left limbs!!! hehe. Remember all the myths about EFI??? This current myth is also dying out albeit too slowly. Anyone still proselytizing about manual is just exhibiting the common flaw in human character called 'resistance to change'.

I would also like to correct one very common misconception about the feature in ATs called O/D or overdrive in full. The confusion is not unexpected. The term 'overdrive' is a serious misnomer,at least to the lay mind!! To put it very simply,O/D is the highest gear in an AT,equivalent to gear 5 in manual. It does not and cannot give you more power! maybe more speed. You should engage it all the time (to save fuel) unless climbing a v. steep hill,towing or stuck in mud (in which cases you should engage 2 or L,anyway). Those claiming that the car 'vrrooms' when the O/D is engaged either have nil experience with AT or are extremely confused. If you floor an AT car,there is no difference at all whether O/D is engaged or not....the car automatically shifts to low gears and never to O/D. O/D only engages when you are cruising on the highway at a steady speed,not when accelerating.

Now there is even newer technology in transmissions;Just google 'continuous variable transmission'. this is my next frontier. i recently test drove the 2002 model premio which has this feature and immediately regreted buying the 2001 model.
nyangao
#30 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 6:55:00 PM

Jaflog,the engine computer system is linked to the auto gear box and the integration of the two ensures fuel effeciency.when u replace the gear box,u disconnect the integration and the system ir 'confused'.it cannot recognise the gearbox .

hey
nyangao
#31 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2009 6:57:00 PM

Jaflog,the engine computer system is linked to the auto gear box and the integration of the two ensures fuel effeciency.when u replace the gear box,u disconnect the integration and the system ir 'confused'.it cannot recognise the gearbox .

hey
#32 Posted : Wednesday, June 24, 2009 4:07:00 AM

@kanda,u r spot on. Selecting OD OFF while cruising essentially disengages gear no 5 (correctly referred to as the overdrive) n the thing simply shifts downwards to gear no 4. This can also be achieved by simply flooring the accelerator. The effect of the OD is therefore ONLY noticeable at speeds above 80kph. Driving in town with the OD OFF is the height of ignorance,there is no effect as the speeds r low hence lower gears. A simple rule of thumb,when driving any car,ensure the warning panel lights are all off,including the OD light. @mburu,ensure the premio isnt 2000cc /D4 engine.

The only reason why some people are still alive is coz its illegal to shoot them!!
majimaji
#33 Posted : Wednesday, June 24, 2009 6:29:00 AM

@simonkabz

What's wrong with a D4 2000 engine?
I have one and it's superb
Yako ina shida gani?

In man prudence,in woman patience - Jacob Cats
#34 Posted : Wednesday, June 24, 2009 6:36:00 AM

@simonkabz & @kanda; you are both spot on.

The greatest factor in fuel consumption is not the size of the engine,nor the transmission system (auto/manual/4wd/2fwd/2rwd Awd etc)! It is in the way you drive!! Consider this: they who delivered my Mazda Familia 4wd AT from the port to Nairobi consumed 60 litres of fuel on the journey. When I go on holiday to the coast with the car nearly fully laden,I consume about 40 litres on the returm journey.

Same car,same trip and one driver takes 50% more fuel. And dont say that he cheated me. No,he's my buddy and I know how he drive....he imagines he is Shekar Mehta!!!

On this overdrive thing: it is confusing....in some cars it is labelled OD and in others it is labelled LOCK.

If your car is labelled OD:
Engaging the overdrive means that the car will automatically shift up to one gear ABOVE that set on the lever. Thus if you place the lever in position S (1),then the AT will shift up to gear 2....and when the lever is in position D (3),the AT will shift all the way to gear 4 [not labelled on the lever].

Disengaging the overdrive means the car will not exceed the set gear...infact you can drive it like a manual car starting from gear 1-to-2-to-3. However,the gear ratios of an automatic are very different from those of a manual car...gear 1[auto] is equivallent to something like gear 0.7[manual] and gear 3[auto] is equal to approx gear 3.8[manual]!!

If your car is labelled LOCK
When you engage the LOCK,you lock the car in the gear sellected on the lever...it will not shift up or down.....a very useful function when driving in heavy traffic,up steep hills,when stuck in the mud etc

When you disengage the LOCK,you release the gears and the car will shift up to one gear above that set on the lever [this is equivallent to engaging the OD]

======

When driving an AT in normal conditions (no heavy traffic,no steep hills etc),you can save a lot of fuel by 'forcing' it to shift upwards earlier. You do this by releasing the accelerator momentariry and then pressing it down gently [not to the floor!!!!!!]. That way,you get it to gear 4 at about 50km/h instead of the 100km/h if you leave it to decide.

But; if you love your speed and quick accellerations,then you shouldn't be discussing fuel efficiency - whether the car is MT or AT!!!

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
#35 Posted : Wednesday, June 24, 2009 7:01:00 AM

@majimaji,I have a way of doing ma thing. If at least 5pple complain about sth,I dont touch it. This goes 4the engine in question and the shameful GDI mubishi engines. Same for any chinese vehicle of whatever make. Im also keen on consumption coz I wouldnt wanna drive with one eye on the fuel gauge-very dangerous! I admire subarus from a distance as i know numerous facts about them that i dnt like. Do it ua way my brother,its the best thing!

The only reason why some people are still alive is coz its illegal to shoot them!!
#36 Posted : Wednesday, June 24, 2009 8:43:00 AM

@Kanda,

We are essentially saying the same thing.Taking off O/D simply means that you are shifting the car to the next lower gear thus giving yourself more power at hand (or is it foot?).

@Mukiha,

True most A/T GBs have four levels .,but there are models with higher levels.The highest this far would be the Merc G7 A/T gearbox with 7 levels

Yombo dhier....!!
tuvok
#37 Posted : Wednesday, June 24, 2009 9:11:00 AM

O/D

Very useful conversations going on.. To add on.

For a 4 speed AT:
O/D Off - prevents shift into 4th gear - greater accl (lights up on the dash)
O/D On - lower engine revs at higher gears - greater fuel economy

Some good link here:

On fuel economy. I came across this : - i think there's loads of such tips online.

Perhaps someone should do a study for our unique driving conditions.

++++

From my reading up online,the GDI/D4 engines can be troublesome especially if you don't take care of them.

I also drive the D4 2000cc corona premio ... So far (almost 2 years) no problems at all. I have pal with a similar car which he's had for &gt; 18 months. I also have a pal whose driven a Mitsubishi GDI for nearly 5 years .. so far - no problem with the engine. The common factor is that the cars are serviced on time and well taken care of.

I've kept stats since I imported the car and the average mileage is 10.89 km/litre over the last 20 months,that's not including the small error of ~ -3% due to the non-standard tyre profile. This i'd think is not bad for a 2000cc vehicle. I've done ~15km/l when going to coast too.

I guess selling it off later will be a challenge due to the perceptions and experiences out there with the engine - so I intend to milk max value out of it,before selling it and getting one of the TDi vehicles out there... But so far I know what i need to do to keep it running well.

It has sufficient power when needed (142bhp; subaru 2002 TX has 134bhp,the subaru 2002 TS-R has 152bhp,mitsubishi VR-G 2002 142bhp).
I've actually never needed to O/D it when a boost of power is needed. But i'm not the shekhar mehta type.

As for torque I'm still getting my head round the concept. All I know max torque at low RPM is good.

++++

And lastly,why call it mileage when it is in kilometres per litre :)
Djinn
#38 Posted : Wednesday, June 24, 2009 10:15:00 AM

@Njunge and Tuvok - then how come I have been able to outrun an Toyota Carib (travelling together),plus various other automatic cars (i.e. men under the influence naturally behaving badly) - esp from a standing start - ok I agree most times I have had a few cc on them but sometimes its dead even. Maybe I am burning fuel too rich?

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
#39 Posted : Wednesday, June 24, 2009 10:33:00 AM

Kanda,O/D will only bring fuel effeciency at speeds above 60km/hr and that is a fact you can take to a bank!!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
Chaka
#40 Posted : Wednesday, June 24, 2009 10:54:00 AM

What is the optimum engine RPM for good fuel efficiency?