wazua Thu, Nov 28, 2024

5 Pages123>»
Ken Okoth, Kibra MP -who first slept on a bed in high school I salute you
#1 Posted : Thursday, October 31, 2013 8:48:46 PM

Kibra MP - who first slept on a bed in high school:- inspirational CORDashian ===>

I celebrate you

Thank you Mzee marehemu Dr Geoffrey Griffins

Thank save the Children

and all other philanthropists who in one way or another have helped educate a needy kid

All Stareheans rudisha mkono reach out and help others.

Na nyinyi (sisi) wengine let us do more for the bright needy kids there is plenty to go round. Let us not be greedy.

"๐Ÿ˜–๐Ÿ˜กKQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜ " overheard in Wazua
kamundu
#2 Posted : Thursday, October 31, 2013 9:40:27 PM

They need not be bright to receive help, but needy
Peace in our Homeland.
#3 Posted : Thursday, October 31, 2013 9:52:52 PM

kamundu wrote:

It is an investment and there should be returns . Ask wazuans who have paid fees for siblings and needy guys who end up with Ds google hapana tu.
"๐Ÿ˜–๐Ÿ˜กKQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜ " overheard in Wazua
#4 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 8:22:19 AM

Read===>His Dream for Kibera - as covered by The Standard - Eve Magazine
#5 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 8:28:07 AM

I also did sleep in a bed for the 1st time in high school!!!

.......Ken is a cool guy though can be lethal, detractors say that he was in Starehe yet could not meed the JAB qualification benchmark!!!!

Form Four when I could not take my place at the University of Nairobi to study Law for lack of the mandatory fees on top of the loan from Higher Education Loans Board (Helb).

I know a lie when I see it!!!
#6 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 9:09:50 AM

.......Ken is a cool guy though can be lethal, detractors say that he was in Starehe yet could not meed the JAB qualification benchmark!!!!

Form Four when I could not take my place at the University of Nairobi to study Law for lack of the mandatory fees on top of the loan from Higher Education Loans Board (Helb).

I wonder why these journalists agree to write such lies. At around the time he would have joined university from his age, the fees was around Ksh 8000 per semester and add for accommodation and pay as you eat this was adequately covered by the minimum HELB loan.
#7 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 9:34:58 AM

bkismat wrote:

I wonder why these journalists agree to write such lies. At around the time he would have joined university from his age, the fees was around Ksh 8000 per semester and add for accommodation and pay as you eat this was adequately covered by the minimum HELB loan.

The same journalists didn't go through JAB so hawaelewi, upto today, there are students on HELB alone, wanasakanya CDF, University brusary, HELB bursary na nyingineko and they survive just fine!!!!!
#8 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 9:41:30 AM

bkismat wrote:

The same journalists didn't go through JAB so hawaelewi, upto today, there are students on HELB alone, wanasakanya CDF, University brusary, HELB bursary na nyingineko and they survive just fine!!!!!

#9 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 9:52:32 AM

Siringi wrote:
kamundu wrote:

It is an investment and there should be returns . Ask wazuans who have paid fees for siblings and needy guys who end up with Ds google hapana tu.

helping is not an investment, you do it from your heart - plus it does not mean the guys who score Ds are lesser human beings - well i hope so, I scored something close to that in form 4.
#10 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 11:13:23 AM

I thought you are Corded,why expose our own?
#11 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 11:18:04 AM

smile smile smile smile
I think that the guy is honest once in a while...
Pesa Nane
#12 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 11:37:38 AM

wet bs, if they are so humble and down to earth, why don't they stand up against sinful salaries and perks and evading tax?? Bure Kabisa, myk
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
#13 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 11:40:35 AM

Am wrote:

smile smile smile smile
I think that the guy is honest once in a while...

Hehehehehee @Am, I'm always honest bro, Ken is trying to lie to the whole world yet he didn't qualify for JAB admission na alikuwa Starehe, adnganye wale hawamjui!!!!
#14 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 11:53:15 AM

people see the big picture

This guy's story is an inspiration and what he is doing kurudisha mkono is amazing. I know of many ex Stareheans who are not living up to the spirit
Sample this

'PET DREAM OF EDUCATION'

โ€œTo realize my pet dream of education for the disadvantaged, I started the children of Kibra Foundation or โ€˜watoto wa Kibraโ€™ while still in Europe in 2006. My rich connections came in handy and 10 needy top students from Kibra have benefitted from bursary scholarships every year since 2006. Through my connections, I have raised sh17 million per year for scholarships and school amenities in Kibra.

He says the foundation has built computer labs and secured computers for seven schools among them Olympic, his alma mater that has been supplied with 25 computers.

Kibra Academy has 20 computers from the foundation. Others are Ayany Primary School, PCEA Silanga High School, Shadrack Kimalel Primary School, Mashimoni, Lutheran Academy and Redrose school.

... โ€œNothing gives me greater satisfaction than seeing needy students enjoy the privileges that came my way in spite of my desperate background. 40 students are currently on full scholarships in national and provincial secondary schools.

The foundation has two students at Kenyatta University. Five girls educated through the foundation are working with Zawadi Foundation of Susan Mboya Kidero. Zawadi is preparing them for universities in the United States of America.

Among his dreams for Kibra are a polytechnic, at least two new high schools, one for girls and a Kibra business firm into which various corporates can have an input.

He expects to use sh24 million of the sh97 million Kibra CDF fund on bursaries and scholarships in what he terms: โ€œinvestment on the youthโ€.

#15 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 11:58:12 AM

Hehehe @Siringi, Don't swallow everything Ken is saying my friend. Ken has a foundation which was also his daily bread before he became MP. I know him personally, he is overstating what he has acheived, the quote below just but one them.

Through my connections, I have raised sh17 million per year for scholarships and school amenities in Kibra.

luttz
#16 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 12:15:16 PM

@ McReggae, I also thought the numbers were too good to be true. How come he did not even attempt to join "The University", the fees factor should have come in later. Far from the truth.
"You've never lived until you've almost died; for those who have fought for it, life has a flavour the protected will never know."
#17 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 12:27:59 PM

luttz wrote:
@ McReggae, I also thought the numbers were too good to be true. How come he did not even attempt to join "The University", the fees factor should have come in later. Far from the truth.

This is just like those many stories you see in the papers where editors publish stories where sufferers are portrayed as millionaires!!!.....too overhyped!!!
#18 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 12:29:12 PM

luttz wrote:

This is just like those many stories you see in the papers where editors publish stories where sufferers are portrayed as millionaires!!!.....too overhyped!!!

Draconian media laws!!!!
#19 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 12:40:32 PM

Hehehe @Siringi, Don't swallow everything Ken is saying my friend. Ken has a foundation which was also his daily bread before he became MP. I know him personally, he is overstating what he has acheived, the quote below just but one them.

Through my connections, I have raised sh17 million per year for scholarships and school amenities in Kibra.

I've just remembered you want to plunge into politics?

Could it be he is the man you'd want to dislodge?d'oh!
#20 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 12:58:42 PM

[quote=luttz]

The Journos and editors are facilitated to sanitize or mudsling depending on the objectiveLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

that aside give the guy some credit and reputation points amejaribu ..., more than can be said of other legislators