wazua Thu, Jul 2, 2026

6 Pages<12345>»
Draconian Media Law
#21 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 8:24:08 AM

The time has come for the media to accept and move on!!!
kollabo
#22 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 8:47:28 AM

The time has come for the media to accept and move on!!!

I agree
#23 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 8:54:38 AM

mukiha wrote:
[quote=ecstacy]Draconian according to who?.. someone post the Bill here we read for ourselves.

Here is the Amendment Bill: http://www.cickenya.org/...b04f0abdc0656328a77163f

And this is the original Act that it is amending: http://www.cck.go.ke/reg...ns_Act_xCap-2_411Ax.pdf[/quote]

Applause
#24 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 8:56:19 AM

mukiha wrote:
[quote=ecstacy]Draconian according to who?.. someone post the Bill here we read for ourselves.

Here is the Amendment Bill: http://www.cickenya.org/...b04f0abdc0656328a77163f

And this is the original Act that it is amending: http://www.cck.go.ke/reg...ns_Act_xCap-2_411Ax.pdf[/quote]

Applause

267 pages.Wacha watu wa media waisome.
#25 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 9:09:38 AM

By the way, on a slightly different note, with or without the bill, is our media really, really, really, free? As in a free independent media? Isnt it vested with deep deep interests? Dont the same media parliament they are saying is killing them the same people they cut deals with on what to report and how to report it?
#26 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 10:08:38 AM

By the way, on a slightly different note, with or without the bill, is our media really, really, really, free? As in a free independent media? Isnt it vested with deep deep interests? Dont the same media parliament they are saying is killing them the same people they cut deals with on what to report and how to report it?

too much cowardice within the industry, the journalists are just puppets
#27 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 10:15:36 AM

2013.... back to 1963

and after this, we shall have another MO1...

i like this.

"history does not repeat itself, but it rhymes"
#28 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 10:24:50 AM

too much cowardice within the industry, the journalists are just puppets

Those who arent cowards are deemed to be unpatriotic....
#29 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 10:45:08 AM

I see a lot of side shows from those who are always opposing for the sake of opposing. Just here in wazua we even have a number of threads pertaining to the media painting a not so rosy picture.

Sijiu "oh tumerudi siku za moi" "oh accept and move on" oh sijui cowardice, "unpatriotic" are words and statements being thrown around.

My earlier questions still stand. Draconian in what terms? The media doesn't want to take responsibility for bad journalism and here they've somehow managed to convince idiots who haven't even read the bill.
The media is like a knife, very useful but dangerous when used wrongly. To me if they're hefty fines just to prevent misreporting then why not? The other day there was the amendment to the traffic act which imposed hefty fines for me as a road user, where was the hue and cry?

You see once the media has published a fallacy like they always do the damage is already done. Just last week there was that death tax report in Kiambu, did the reporter who wrote the story bother to confirm all his suspicions with the relevant people ama it was just a juicy story that he never bothered with the truth?

There is the PEV which was hugely fanned by the media. Did they ever own up to their part in it?

#30 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 10:51:48 AM

The government, is once again failing to see that everyone is now a 'reporter' and media is something you can no longer define or restrict. By any chance the bill, will be a most inconvinient contradiction to the desire of 'developing' our country using ICT. It will soon be conviniently pushed aside.

The government seriously needs to restructure itself for the new world. Otherwise, we may all end up destroying ourselves.
6 Pages<12345>»