wazua Fri, Jul 3, 2026

GoK hiring and firing of CEOs eg NSSF, NHIF and JSC vs GBS
#1 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 9:58:31 AM

In the true wazuan spirit we have a duty to debate national issues (inform each other objectively) and hopefully through our discourse drive the reform agenda.

Kenya has made many strides in terms of constitutionalism and governance but have we really reformed our public institutions?

Supposing a wazuan was appointed say CRJ to replace Shollei, or MD at NHIF or NSSF or KEBS add EAPC ltd under the current circumstances will they fair any better?

What is wrong with GoK institutions that we have MD hiring and firing fiascos every other day?

Are there gaps on governance and the various Acts of Parliament and constitutional provisions under which they operate?

what are the roles of the oversight bodies? are they biting hard enough?

Is it our professionals? that are not good enough or the politicians or the business crooks?.

How do we divorce business and service delivery from politics?

I have several other questions but tuanze na hizo... feel free to add others as we debate. and i hope gava is listening

Please no goggles tafadhali this is serious

winston
#2 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 10:08:13 AM

Systemic problem...me thinks you need to burn the system down and build a fresh one.

Every senior official (let alone a CEO) is a potential 'guest of the state' at one of our prisons. These jobs are one mistake away (whether committed by the occupant, their neighbour, juniors in far-flung counties, or even their predecessors) from Jail. I dont envy them one inch.

There was a kenyan magazine two or three years ago which had a front cover of a noose with the invitation tag 'who wants to be a parastatlal ceo?'

I couldnt have put it better.

The system is too rotten for anyone, no matter how honest, to survive.
a4architect.com
#3 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 10:22:44 AM

In the case of shollei, i think the appointing authority needed to do more thorough interviews so as to get people with the necessary experience. Registrar office will also need to be propped up by experts in various fields to advice. Shollei has even quoted cap 525 in her defence for payment to JKUCAT, in a situation where it does not apply, meaning that as a lawyer, she has no one to advice her on kenyan laws.
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
#4 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 10:26:07 AM

winston wrote:
Systemic problem...me thinks you need to burn the system down and build a fresh one.

Every senior official (let alone a CEO) is a potential 'guest of the state' at one of our prisons. These jobs are one mistake away (whether committed by the occupant, their neighbour, juniors in far-flung counties, or even their predecessors) from Jail. I dont envy them one inch.

There was a kenyan magazine two or three years ago which had a front cover of a noose with the invitation tag 'who wants to be a parastatlal ceo?'

yes but we cant give up.

We need to discuss what is the role of a GoK institution CEO Who are they accountable to ?

who do they report to and how frequent?

what should be contained in these reports?

as citizens what is our role ? de we read these reports and what do we do with them?

where are these reports posted?

How do we hire and fire them ? remember these are careers of fellow Kenyans we are discussing here it could be you or me...
#5 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 10:35:22 AM

a4architect.com wrote:
In the case of shollei, i think the appointing authority needed to do more thorough interviews so as to get people with the necessary experience. Registrar office will also need to be propped up by experts in various fields to advice. Shollei has even quoted cap 525 in her defence for payment to JKUCAT, in a situation where it does not apply, meaning that as a lawyer, she has no one to advice her on kenyan laws.

@a4architect i beg to differ if there were any interviews that were done and vetting that was thorough - live on TV it was for the judicial officers

which brings me to my question? were the more qualified and experienced candidates afraid of the murky waters that are GoK to apply for these jobs?

are we saying there are no professionals heading the various departments at Judiciary and other GoK institutions? Yaani Director of Supply Chain ni maembe? what about the Head of HR and the entire Tender Committee?

correction it is JKUAT enterprises the equivalent of UNES (university of Nairobi enterpises) wacha hii story ya JKUCAT that was renamed kitambo when you were in Mamlaka....

anyway as promised am working on a comprehensive response on your thread ...,

The Clown
#6 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 10:46:38 AM

It's the attitude that people come into GoK with that is to blame. Over time, there has been established a culture of nonperformance and lax standards within the public service.

Any new employee (including CEOs) comes in and sees this culture and asks himself/herself: how can I best eat in my short time here. How many relatives can I employ?

As long as we have this mentality around GoK jobs, this problem will not go away.
Pedes
#7 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 10:49:00 AM

winston wrote:

Systems are manned by people who come up with the policies/rules/procedures etc, for those systems to function. So, its the people.
I do believe we have the right people to handle these systems, but, majority of them dare not go near them.
How do we get the right people in the right places to create long lasting credible institutions?
If you stay ready, no need to get ready.
a4architect.com
#8 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 11:04:57 AM

Siringi wrote:
a4architect.com wrote:

@a4architect i beg to differ if there were any interviews that were done and vetting that was thorough - live on TV it was for the judicial officers

which brings me to my question? were the more qualified and experienced candidates afraid of the murky waters that are GoK to apply for these jobs?

are we saying there are no professionals heading the various departments at Judiciary and other GoK institutions? Yaani Director of Supply Chain ni maembe? what about the Head of HR and the entire Tender Committee?

correction it is JKUAT enterprises the equivalent of UNES (university of Nairobi enterpises) wacha hii story ya JKUCAT that was renamed kitambo when you were in Mamlaka....

anyway as promised am working on a comprehensive response on your thread ...,

@Siringi. For shollei to award valuation and architecural contracts to jkucat enterprises, this means there is something terribly wrong. This is such an obvious error. JKUCAT enterprises is not in the list of licenced valuers nor licenced architects.

In other words, kuna advisor hafanyi job yake poa hapo.Either the whole of the tender committee is not up to the task or shollei bossed them into un professionalism.

I was supporting shollei till she gave the response which was too shallow and illogical.
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
#9 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 11:19:11 AM

The Clown wrote:
It's the attitude that people come into GoK with that is to blame. Over time, there has been established a culture of nonperformance and lax standards within the public service.

Any new employee (including CEOs) comes in and sees this culture and asks himself/herself: how can I best eat in my short time here. How many relatives can I employ?

As long as we have this mentality around GoK jobs, this problem will not go away.

Ditto.

Hire and fire, for incompetence, corruption etc. A Kenyan will think twice about applying for post if his intentions are not right, will think twice about sleeping on the job. In any case there is legal re-dress for wrongful terminations. Nobody should be indispensable and untouchable in new Kenya.

#10 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 11:53:19 AM

This takes me some ten years back when, as a young college graduate, I was entrusted with being in charge of a humble gov't dep't in a far flung county. I set about doing my job as spelt out in law and began by setting up the systems.

Little did I know that, by doing my job, I was inadvertently upsetting the apple cart and stepping on some rather huge toes, many toes by the way.

Boss, ile kivumbi nilionyeshwa, is a story for another day. I came face-to-face with corruption proper and all sorts of obstacles, snares, etc were hurled my way, including a good amount of character assassination that bordered on defamation.

Eventually, I had a long, difficult meeting with myself and I took the difficult decision to take a walk. It was the only way I was going to have peace of mind. My colleague, in another county (province at the time), same department who had tried to resist the cartels ultimately met his death in as yet unclear circumstances. The only things stolen from him were the documents which he was handling at the time.