wazua Fri, Jul 3, 2026

Uhuru's tough talk on "imperialism"
#11 Posted : Monday, October 21, 2013 10:19:01 PM

blah blah blah... kenya is a talk shop!

Small deeds work better than big talk
Thiong'o
#12 Posted : Monday, October 21, 2013 10:42:59 PM

Obama paid a visit to Tanzania, Tanzania is now having issues in EAC. Kenya has just discovered oil and other 'goodies'. If we are not careful, we might now become 'darlings' of people who shunned us, who might be after our 'goodies'.

But then again, what happens to Wanjiku when power is unchecked?

Tanzanian government officially renounces ‘coalition of the willing’
http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/idhkgiz/-/index.html
#13 Posted : Monday, October 21, 2013 11:07:21 PM

Rollout wrote:
Thiong'o wrote:
Lessons from Singapore.. How did it do it?

Singapore is one of only a handful of countries to have managed it in the past half century. A colonial outpost now has the third highest average income in the world. How did it do it? And why are social tensions now showing?
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-24606989

Even Chinease are preaching nationist agenda without mentioning imperialism. We all know that the most tranformed countries of the past 50 yrs came from a strong relationship with the West and the opposite can be said for those claiming to be fighting imperialism!

Infact fight against imperialism have always been sold by oppressive regimes in order to diverge attention from internal problems, it is an imaginary enemy people can rally against.

Kwani unaogopa utafukuzwa kwa wenyewe....the guy knows what he's talking about...when he became president he was of the opinion that we're done with the fight its time we moved on...am sure there's enough he now knows that he dint know then hence his stance. Are we still paying mkoloni his pension? Do you believe its just a coincidence that the Brits are now very friendly?
Rollout
#14 Posted : Tuesday, October 22, 2013 12:40:02 AM

Rollout wrote:
Thiong'o wrote:

Singapore is one of only a handful of countries to have managed it in the past half century. A colonial outpost now has the third highest average income in the world. How did it do it? And why are social tensions now showing?

Even Chinease are preaching nationist agenda without mentioning imperialism. We all know that the most tranformed countries of the past 50 yrs came from a strong relationship with the West and the opposite can be said for those claiming to be fighting imperialism!

Infact fight against imperialism have always been sold by oppressive regimes in order to diverge attention from internal problems, it is an imaginary enemy people can rally against.

Kwani unaogopa utafukuzwa kwa wenyewe....the guy knows what he's talking about...when he became president he was of the opinion that we're done with the fight its time we moved on...am sure there's enough he now knows that he dint know then hence his stance. Are we still paying mkoloni his pension? Do you believe its just a coincidence that the Brits are now very friendly?

Let's be honest, the only reason why most western countries are interested in Kenya is because of shared interest in fight against terror, let us not be fool by the few wealth we might think we have into thinking that people are interested in us because we're the new rich kids in the block

I don't think Uhuru knows better on this, I think Uhuru is being selfish in trying to protect his interest not necessary the interest of Kenya but again like north Koreans a big number of Kenyans will go down with their dear Leader.

My worry right now is a situation where Uhuru decide not to honor ICC orders and the unintended consequence would be Uhuru ensuring that as long as he is still alive any future president must be someone who can shield him from ICC, what will Kenyans do?
#15 Posted : Tuesday, October 22, 2013 12:55:40 AM

Rollout wrote:
Thiong'o wrote:

Let's be honest, the only reason why most western countries are interested in Kenya is because of shared interest in fight against terror, let us not be fool by the few wealth we might think we have into thinking that people are interested in us because we're the new rich kids in the block

I don't think Uhuru knows better on this, I think Uhuru is being selfish in trying to protect his interest not necessary the interest of Kenya but again like north Koreans a big number of Kenyans will go down with their dear Leader.

My worry right now is a situation where Uhuru decide not to honor ICC orders and the unintended consequence would be Uhuru ensuring that as long as he is still alive any future president must be someone who can shield him from ICC, what will Kenyans do?

We will do nothing ...life sucks most of the time then you die.
#16 Posted : Tuesday, October 22, 2013 3:28:21 AM

Rollout wrote:
Thiong'o wrote:

Where have you been hibernating ha ha....Uhuru will not attend all proceedings but some go read the news and get informed, he thanked the court and said he will co-operate fully. Yes it pays to be tough sometimes when you see things happening.

Ati fighting terrorism ha ha....this war that started in 2011 is the one your quoting? Kwani mzungu alikuja Kenya 2012? Believe me there are many things you don't know u people who were born yesterday.

"Egypt, Sudan, Ethiopia, Somalia, Kenya ... these are all ancient lands, interconnected through the threads of history, not to be taken lightly. The Greek historian Herodotus sang their praises in the fifth century B.C. Legend has it that the Ethiopian monarchy—today's Emperor Haile Selassie— was founded by the son of Israel's King Solomon and the Queen of Sheba. This entire region is an amazing place.
Not to be taken lightly. He shook his head solemnly. "No, sir, not to be taken lightly at all." He stared at the map for another
long moment. Then he came back to me. "You know there's one hell of a lot of oil in that region too. I'm certain of it. I've spent a lifetime studying geology and I can tell you that during your life Africa will become a battleground over oil." He sat down. "So go ahead and mind the words of Mr. U-S-A-I-D, go off to Egypt and
use it as a staging ground for subjugating the Middle East. And also, recognize what few people are talking about today ..."
"

Make google your friend. Although he needs to cool down kidogo, even the great emperor when he tried to talk about it he was finished....atulie tu kidogo
#17 Posted : Tuesday, October 22, 2013 8:16:43 AM

Rollout wrote:
Thiong'o wrote:

Plus he knows a lot that all the noise makers and Wazua Judges do not know. These Mzungu Colonialist needs to be told as it is, lest the pee on you in the 21st century.
#18 Posted : Tuesday, October 22, 2013 8:24:36 AM

As much as i support UMK,i am also getting uncomfortable with his stance which i believe is driven by his handlers rather than himself.You can be tough without thumping your chest and here he can borrow from Muhaamad Ali's famous quote,"If you do not raise your fists,your enemy will not know what to do with you"....SIMPLE!

Iko nini mzee? Stop drinking the mcreggae. He uses witchcraft.

Please elaborate a little bit. And I will In Person Initiate and Conduct a Commission of enquiry to Investigate this man @McReggae right here in Wazua.
Pedes
#19 Posted : Tuesday, October 22, 2013 8:48:54 AM

Merriam-webster dictionary defines imperialism as:
im·pe·ri·al·ism. noun \im-ˈpir-ē-ə-ˌli-zəm\. : a policy or practice by which a country increases its power by gaining control over other areas of the world.

Siku hizi I think it is institutions/corporations/societies etc more than countries that practice imperialism.

e.g. Isn't IMF the architects of VAT law?

So what PORK talk on imperialism is to excite his base and appear tough. But when told to put his money where his mouth/talk is......
If you stay ready, no need to get ready.
#20 Posted : Tuesday, October 22, 2013 9:00:56 AM

As much as i support UMK,i am also getting uncomfortable with his stance which i believe is driven by his handlers rather than himself.You can be tough without thumping your chest and here he can borrow from Muhaamad Ali's famous quote,"If you do not raise your fists,your enemy will not know what to do with you"....SIMPLE!

Agreed, he needs to put more weight on reason and perhaps "intellectualism" to fight this case, i believe it is possible if he uses a "think tank" rather than political advisers and lawyers to expose the weaknesses and disenfranchisement of his sovereign. Even one well thought out line will melt this case.