• I have been thinking of getting married
• My dad thinks am too young for marriage
• That I should enjoy myself before I settle down with a man
• That men can be bad or good
• But to be sure,I need to grow up a little bit more
• Me thinks getting married when am young gives me an upper hand in terms of
a. Men like young women
b. Men enjoy under age girls more
c. Men prefer a lady who will be fertile in the marriage longest ie,18 plus 20 yrs giving birth equals 38 yrs
d. Men don’t like very clever women or more educated than them
e. Men prefer ……..
f. Why the hell should I be doing things simply to impress …………..?

Stay young,keep your wheels in motion.
>>>>>>
A thing of beauty is a joy for ever:
Its loveliness increases;
It will never pass into nothingness;
But still will keep a bower quiet for us,
and a sleep full of sweet dreams,
and health, and quiet breathing. - Keats

>>>>>>>In life,there are three classes of people,
1. Those who make things happen,
2. Those who watch things happen
3. And those who ask what happened.

Where do you fall?
enigma
#2 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 10:56:00 AM

men shud be atleast 30yrs..women atleast 18.

top cat
#3 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 10:57:00 AM

Pretty,mimi ni yule yule....

The only reason why some people are still alive is coz its illegal to shoot them!!
Sasha
#4 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 11:02:00 AM

d. Men don’t like very clever women or more educated than them

He he he! What are you trying to say?

Immorality: The morality of those who are having a better time!
Pretty
#5 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 11:03:00 AM

@ Simo
• I saw you post elsewhere
• You want a ‘pass me remnant’ from Kongowea
• So what do you mean by ‘ni Yule yule’

>>>>>>

Where do you fall?
#6 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 11:04:00 AM

Enigma..30!!!! wewe wacha..by the time my two sons are thate with the kind of life we are living..they will have dipped in to every 'well' in nairobi..including $%^7..

and whats with ple and qualities,perfect..bra blah.................ni baridi imezidi ama?

wishes to inform the citizens of Kenya,in the light of your failure to elect a competent President for the past 46 years,and thus failure to govern yourselves,I hereby give notice of the revocation of your independence...
Noble
#7 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 11:07:00 AM

Get married when u are still pretty b4 u become f^%&&^p
Pretty
#8 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 11:07:00 AM

@ Sasha
• d. Men don’t like very clever women or more educated than them
• Dad’s car develops mechanical problem
• He goes under the hood
• Attempts repair
• Gives up
• Goes for mechanic
• Mum gets under the hood
• Repairs car
• Drives to work
• Dad is mad and sends mum away for a year
• You get the gist
• Mum earns more than dad
• They are always at logger heads
• Sasha,assist a sister in need

>>>>>>

Where do you fall?
Sasha
#9 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 11:14:00 AM

@Pretty: As far as I'm concerned age should not be a prerequisite to marriage . Of course you have to have attained the age that allows you legally to make your own decisions i.e. 18. If you've met someone you want to be with, then it shouldn't matter whether you are 21 or 50.

On the issue of men do not like clever women, that is the biggest load of crap I've ever heard. Kwani it's the man who gives you intelligence? Nonsense! What happens if you are always tops in everything you do? What happens if you fall in love with a wazzock? Unless your man will be regulating your intelligence, then it should not matter whether you are more intelligent/clever/better paid than your man! End of!

Poggie
#10 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 11:15:00 AM

The ass of a law allows you to tie the knot at 16 as long as your dad consents to it. The rest I am sure you can deal on your own.

Marriage is an honorable thing,and,like all honorable things has its bitter sweet symphony [to borrow from the group 'The Verve'] and its costs. Go for it.

As a man thinketh so is he
As A Man Thinketh So is He
#11 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 11:17:00 AM

Obviously there is nothing like a perfect age,does not exist,marry when you are ready and with the one you consider your soulmate!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
#12 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 11:19:00 AM

@pretty...am 32,and u?

The Hague...or Local Triburnal ama TJRC.

Pablo
#13 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 11:19:00 AM

@Sasha.

There is nothing wrong with a woman being intelligent. But flaunting it to the mzee is a problem. If you as a woman is intelligent you should use that to make your man feel as if the decisions are his. Otherwise youll be that Prof (Miss) xxxx.

And yess its a mans world.

Want to be a millionaire.... plant a million cabbages and sell them at a bob...
enigma
#14 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 11:31:00 AM

@mlefu..nani aqmekushow marriage cures the 'dipping' disease?

n infact ur supporting me....wacha watu watumbukize vilivyo b4 marriage..maybe that will reduce adultery...but it cant eliminate it.

i say 30 yrs becoz,on average most jamaaz under 30 bado wana utoto..plus they r not on sound financial footing...

top cat
#15 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 11:32:00 AM

@mc....and u believe soulmates still exist?Forget...

The Hague...or Local Triburnal ama TJRC.

jaribu
#16 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 11:35:00 AM

funny question just like the famous... 'how long is a piece of string?' or 'why did the chicken cross the road?' one could give a million answers to these sort of questions. to answer you,there's no definite 'magic' age of when to get married. you just have to be ready financially,mentally and emotionally. the relationship has to have matured and you should not have those lingering doubts. these qualities will differ from person to person! and please note: there's no perfect marrige,actually- that's when reality sinks in and real life begins! but if after 5+ years she/he is still that beautiful and caring person you met many years ago,you 'may' just be on the right path.

bY aNy MeAns NecEsSaRy.....
akowally
#17 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 11:39:00 AM

I DENY the underage part totally.

Age is nothing but a number. The best thing that is needed is maturity. I am a living example of that. I got married when I was 22 without much..

Of course there was opposition,but look at me now,still happily married.

Just make sure that you find a person who loves and respects you and you can never go wrong on that. The best way to ensure success is to make sure that you always put GOD in the picture.

There is power in positive attitude

'The greatest discovery of my generation is that a human being can alter his life by altering his attitudes.” William James
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
#18 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 11:43:00 AM

I once befriended one absolutely beautiful queen a few years back....game yake ilikuwa juu tu sana,n we had loads of fun n a marriage icon popped in ma f***ed up mind....Just then,s*** hit the proverbial fan n mimi huyooo mpaka nanyuki. Some older married SOB took advantage,lied 2her that he was more single than the sun n promised her marriage....Now she is back 2square 1,a bit older but looks beat up....so pretty,mimi ni yule yule...

The only reason why some people are still alive is coz its illegal to shoot them!!
Sasha
#19 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 11:44:00 AM

@Pablo: What you've written there is a tad ironic! Why would an intelligent woman flaunt her intelligence to a man or to anyone for that matter? Surely ..... ! There is no intelligent woman who would agree with you that its a man's world.

#20 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 11:48:00 AM

@pretty

All you said is good. some of it out of either innocence and/or lack of experience. some are very misplaced. For example,i dont have to be more educated than my spouse for me to earn more. I just need to be alittle bit lucky. Example,I have many of my workmates(ladies) who earn more than their spouses and they are not necessarily more educated than them. Assuming you meet a guy who you fall in love,you happen to be an intelligent woman - so what do you do? hide your intelligent and start behaving like a blonde? most men i believe want an intelligent woman who they can hold a conversation with.

Some like 'men like younger women' are relative. some prefer the 'maturity' in a woman not necessarily the number of years. A woman can be 'mature' at 20 while another still be 'immature'at 40 - you get it? if yo liten to me,i will tell you that you can wait till you are 50 and you will not be sure if the man is bad or good.... there are some signs that could alert you but 'being sure'? that i cant guarantee you.

If you have someone who you believe is good for you,you can live with for the rest of your life,if you know you can take care of a family,then go for it! You seem so attached to your dad and as a parent,your dad will worry for you till his time to leave this world even if you will be 90 at the time coz you will always be his 'little angel daughter' to him. So go ahead gal,make your own decision that is good for you.

One last thing,the problems that your parents experienced or are experiencing in their marriage life do not constitute a standard model of a marriage life. they have unique challenges just like any other family. you cant build your family like your parents because they are different people. if theirs was not perfect,try making yours perfect (perfection is never attained but you could land somewhere comfortable if you seek it)

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.