Happy Moi day
#21 Posted : Thursday, October 10, 2013 2:11:25 PM

Siringi wrote:
Rink : Tushangilie Kenya

Catch some of those greats - you can preview or buy

@Siringi thank you for the preview, I miss these forks songs! I'm tempted to look for this CD, for sure! Applause Applause
"Ni Bahati Yetu Wakenya" is interesting.
#22 Posted : Thursday, October 10, 2013 2:20:42 PM

That's my guy!
#23 Posted : Thursday, October 10, 2013 2:22:39 PM

Muriel wrote:
Coolio wrote:
Have a wonderful one skerians.

Yes sir, I sure will.

I've also enjoyed!!
#24 Posted : Thursday, October 10, 2013 4:26:44 PM

Is Mo1 Happy? smile
mb'oss
#25 Posted : Thursday, October 10, 2013 4:47:37 PM

butterflyke wrote:
Is Mo1 Happy? smile

Happy? Probably, but grateful he better be.

Life's for the living
#26 Posted : Friday, October 11, 2013 1:06:15 PM

wale walikunywa Moi's School Miok raise up your hands tingisha

Sansa
#27 Posted : Friday, October 11, 2013 7:24:52 PM

mkonomtupu wrote:
The loyalty pledge every Friday

"I pledge my loyalty to the president and the nation of Kenya. My readiness and duty to defend the flag of our republic. My devotion to the words of our national anthem. My life and strength in the task of our nation’s building. In the living spirit embodied in our national motto – Harambee! And perpetuated in the Nyayo philosophy of peace love and unity."

Do people still say the loyalty pledge? I had forgotten most of these words! d'oh! Sad
#28 Posted : Friday, October 11, 2013 7:36:47 PM

Siringi wrote:
wale walikunywa Moi's School Miok raise up your hands tingisha

Kwanza hiyo cream baada ya kupasua karatasi! Wacha tusmile

#29 Posted : Friday, October 11, 2013 7:50:46 PM

butterflyke wrote:
Is Mo1 Happy? smile

Why not and He's harvesting wheat!
Uram
#30 Posted : Friday, October 10, 2014 1:23:31 PM

Happy Moi Day
Wainadi
#31 Posted : Friday, October 10, 2014 1:31:12 PM

Uram wrote:
Happy Moi Day

Happy one to you too.
Its all good.
#32 Posted : Wednesday, November 08, 2017 8:44:04 PM

Ati Judge Odunga has reinstated Moi day. Is that constitutional?

Katiba 2010 wrote:

9. (1) The national symbols of the Republic are––

(a) the national flag;
(b) the national anthem;
(c) the coat of arms; and
(d) the public seal.

(2) The national symbols are as set out in the Second Schedule.

(3) The national days are––

(a) Madaraka Day, to be observed on 1st June;
(b) Mashujaa Day, to be observed on 20th October; and
(c) Jamhuri Day, to be observed on 12th December.
(4) A national day shall be a public holiday.
(5) Parliament may enact legislation prescribing other public holidays, and providing for observance of public holidays.

#33 Posted : Wednesday, November 08, 2017 8:59:52 PM

Katiba 2010 wrote:

(a) the national flag;
(b) the national anthem;
(d) the public seal.

(5) Parliament may enact legislation prescribing other public holidays, and providing for observance of public holidays.

He was relying on Public Holidays Act? If it was never amended, then I think he's right
#34 Posted : Wednesday, November 08, 2017 9:29:45 PM

Kwani these judges are going rogue?

#35 Posted : Thursday, November 09, 2017 9:08:45 AM

Katiba 2010 wrote:

(a) the national flag;
(b) the national anthem;
(d) the public seal.

He was relying on Public Holidays Act? If it was never amended, then I think he's right

Perused it ...Part I has listed the usual holidays twice, separated by a line break. The first one does not list Moi day, while the second one does.
I think this is a simple, clerical or typesetting mistake (proof readers very much asleep at the AG's office).
My common sense interpretation of it arrives at the conclusion that the constitution's explicit exclusion of Moi day as a National Day should trump a confusing and conflicting section of a parliamentary law. In my opinion, the judge should have simply sent the act back to parliament for clarification/correction without issuing reinstatement orders.
But then I could wrong. Cue the winded, Rube Goldberg-esque interpretations the legal fraternity are so fond of ( Laughing out loudly )

Relevant link:
http://kenyalaw.org/lex/...HolidaysAct21of1912.pdf
Iganamagana
#36 Posted : Thursday, November 09, 2017 10:37:26 AM

We have a judiciary that seems to operate in a vacuum. Some rulings make you wonder whether the judges have ever stepped in Kenya. I know there is fidelity to the law and constitution lakini.........
#37 Posted : Sunday, October 07, 2018 12:20:58 PM

The week of confusion. 5 working days or 4? Moi Day iko, haiko?

Katiba 2010 wrote:

(a) the national flag;
(b) the national anthem;
(d) the public seal.

#38 Posted : Sunday, October 07, 2018 9:39:09 PM

Iganamagana wrote:

We have a judiciary that seems to operate in a vacuum. Some rulings make you wonder whether the judges have ever stepped in Kenya. I know there is fidelity to the law and constitution lakini.........

lakini nini? if you don't want it.. toa kwa law... simple things. laws can be changed..
Iganamagana
#39 Posted : Monday, October 08, 2018 8:22:58 AM

Iganamagana wrote:

lakini nini? if you don't want it.. toa kwa law... simple things. laws can be changed..

Kina Duale na Murkomen never saw the need for addressing this issue since November?
#40 Posted : Monday, October 08, 2018 9:29:11 AM

Iganamagana wrote:

Kina Duale na Murkomen never saw the need for addressing this issue since November?

We are waiting for the all important gazette.