wazua Thu, Feb 27, 2025

Gift for Colleagues
webish
#21 Posted : Thursday, October 03, 2013 7:46:51 AM

radio wrote:
Canned Tusker.

I actually have colleagues who really love our Tusker. If only it was easy to carry "enough".. smile

Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
mchuuzi
#22 Posted : Thursday, October 03, 2013 8:12:20 AM

The shop at the Hilton the one directly opposite Ken com has some very good souvenirs and it is very cheap the first shop as you enter the arcade.
We bought staff for a Mzungu colleague who was gong back to France for 3000 we got so much stuff.
#23 Posted : Thursday, October 03, 2013 8:18:55 AM

mchuuzi wrote:
The shop at the Hilton the one directly opposite Ken com has some very good souvenirs and it is very cheap the first shop as you enter the arcade.
We bought staff for a Mzungu colleague who was gong back to France for 3000 we got so much stuff.

For that 3K you'd have taken the mzungu to Ukambani for an even better experience and much more stuff.

Pesa Nane
#24 Posted : Thursday, October 03, 2013 8:53:12 AM

Yeah...they cud vary. Pia ngwaci, nduma n such others cud be awesome for some. They seem to enjoy them very much when they come overLaughing out loudly

'where-I-come-from goggles Laughing out loudly
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
Pesa Nane
#25 Posted : Thursday, October 03, 2013 8:55:03 AM

Pia miraa if not illegal

my-people goggles
majimaji
#26 Posted : Thursday, October 03, 2013 9:21:50 AM

radio wrote:
Canned Tusker.

Do they allow canned liquids in planes?
#27 Posted : Thursday, October 03, 2013 9:24:06 AM

Zanze wrote:
Lakini avoid those batik hangings if they are not framed. I know quite a number of people who still have them rolled up waiting to be framed years and years later. I would avoid sandals since you dont know sizes and jewelry for for the women since tastes vary. I would do things like masks, candle holders, place mats and fabric (lessos, kitenge, kikoi), letter openers, paper weights, key chains, picture frames.

Be careful not to pack any metallic or liquids items in your hand luggage, they'll be screen and thrown into the waste bin. They are safe to put them in the checkin luggage.

I would recommend the Maasai shukas... It's unisex.
#28 Posted : Thursday, October 03, 2013 9:27:37 AM

majimaji wrote:
radio wrote:
Canned Tusker.

Tuck them away in the checkin luggage, that should be fine. Not allowed on board with your hand luggage.
CLK
#29 Posted : Thursday, October 03, 2013 9:48:18 AM

majimaji wrote:
radio wrote:
Canned Tusker.

Tuck them away in the checkin luggage, that should be fine. Not allowed on board with your hand luggage.

Some countries do not allow 'food from outside' so careful how much you carry.
#30 Posted : Thursday, October 03, 2013 9:54:15 AM

@webish, Good luck in your shopping. I have nothing to add but one caution; in case a "naija" friend sends you to hand carry a small gift to a friend, courteously decline.
webish
#31 Posted : Thursday, October 03, 2013 10:06:18 AM

CLK wrote:
majimaji wrote:
radio wrote:
Canned Tusker.

Some countries do not allow 'food from outside' so careful how much you carry.

True. But for liquids, safer to buy at Duty Free so they wrap on those bags (i forget the correct name)..and they will always advise you on country limitations. I have seen them before, crashing perfumes and liquor.

O'wise , Tuskers would be a good bet.

#32 Posted : Thursday, October 03, 2013 10:11:30 AM

CLK wrote:
I always carry Kenyan tea and coffee for my jungu colleagues, especially the men, Necklaces and kikois for the ladies, T-shirts branded Kenya, hakuna matata etc for my African colleagues. Chocolates and sweets from abroad for my Kenyan colleagues, hand lotions for my close galfriends.

gani hizi?
webish
#33 Posted : Thursday, October 03, 2013 10:12:40 AM

Gathige wrote:
@webish, Good luck in your shopping. I have nothing to add but one caution; in case a "naija" friend sends you to hand carry a small gift to a friend, courteously decline.

Haha. Asante.
Took advice from another thread last time.. for this place, i never check-in luggage, and limit my conversations with Authorities. they confuse me with their own, on average. smile

#34 Posted : Thursday, October 03, 2013 10:23:33 AM

Pesa Nane wrote:

Yeah...they cud vary. Pia ngwaci, nduma n such others cud be awesome for some. They seem to enjoy them very much when they come overLaughing out loudly

'where-I-come-from goggles Laughing out loudly

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Wewe wacha. Goggles huwa tunavaa for politics threads. In threads like this we say: WeAreOnesmile
#35 Posted : Thursday, October 03, 2013 11:17:18 AM

mchuuzi wrote:

I disagree a bit if it is the shop near bata.The finishing is not very good.
Masai market is the best bet- nice stuff,great bargains
I am in and out too often to buy gifts for people all the time,so i buy stuff that can be shared( coffee,tea),not individual gifts,siwesmake.
webish
#36 Posted : Thursday, October 03, 2013 11:23:04 AM

Amores wrote:
mchuuzi wrote:

I disagree a bit if it is the shop near bata.The finishing is not very good.
Masai market is the best bet- nice stuff,great bargains
I am in and out too often to buy gifts for people all the time,so i buy stuff that can be shared( coffee,tea),not individual gifts,siwesmake.

Definitely, but there are those you closely work with (1 or 2 from same team/dept.), then there's "the other guys".. (stuff like macadamia, tea/coffe would be good for them).

CLK
#37 Posted : Thursday, October 03, 2013 12:05:12 PM

willin2learn wrote:
CLK wrote:
I always carry Kenyan tea and coffee for my jungu colleagues, especially the men, Necklaces and kikois for the ladies, T-shirts branded Kenya, hakuna matata etc for my African colleagues. Chocolates and sweets from abroad for my Kenyan colleagues, hand lotions for my close galfriends.

gani hizi?

Kwani wewe ni socket?
VS plus Bath and bodyworks.
Pesa Nane
#38 Posted : Thursday, October 03, 2013 5:34:27 PM

Long term friend, Original Safari Boots.
#39 Posted : Thursday, October 03, 2013 5:43:19 PM

CLK wrote:
willin2learn wrote:
CLK wrote:

gani hizi?

Kwani wewe ni socket?
VS plus Bath and bodyworks.

@Willin, these are great additional gifts for your better half....taunting the nostrils!
#40 Posted : Thursday, October 03, 2013 6:53:06 PM

webish wrote:
radio wrote:
Canned Tusker.

I actually have colleagues who really love our Tusker. If only it was easy to carry "enough".. smile

Then buy them the Tusker tshirts...they are a favorite