Attack at Westgate
McReggae wrote:ecstacy wrote:McReggae wrote:FancyFace wrote:McReggae wrote:Impunity wrote:WHY DID THE ARMY BOMB THE BUILDING?
Excuse my mind is on overdrive!!!! Why did it take so long? Were the terrorist finished by Monday morning, did the delay in the closure of the operation have anything to do with Gold from the casino, cash from banks, super market tills, shops and other businesses there! Just like when the airport was burning, cash from the banks had conveniently left? Was a senior GSU officer killed in the arguments? you are indeed on overdrive....carry on Hehehe.....the safes and vaults had to be broken, the fact that they knew they had killed 5 means that they got the bodies of the attackers before the building collapsed which points to early Monday......he clean up????? One soldier was seriously injured yesterday morning. He may have succumbed later that day. So no, we still have a valid operation then. Remember there were also cases of 'friendly' fire!!!! Use ratio and the number of friendly fire incidents pales into insignificance in comparison with our combat casualties caused by the attackers.
ecstacy wrote:McReggae wrote:ecstacy wrote:McReggae wrote:FancyFace wrote:McReggae wrote:Impunity wrote:WHY DID THE ARMY BOMB THE BUILDING?
Excuse my mind is on overdrive!!!! Why did it take so long? Were the terrorist finished by Monday morning, did the delay in the closure of the operation have anything to do with Gold from the casino, cash from banks, super market tills, shops and other businesses there! Just like when the airport was burning, cash from the banks had conveniently left? Was a senior GSU officer killed in the arguments? you are indeed on overdrive....carry on Hehehe.....the safes and vaults had to be broken, the fact that they knew they had killed 5 means that they got the bodies of the attackers before the building collapsed which points to early Monday......he clean up????? One soldier was seriously injured yesterday morning. He may have succumbed later that day. So no, we still have a valid operation then. Remember there were also cases of 'friendly' fire!!!! Use ratio and the number of friendly fire incidents pales in comparison with our combat casualties caused by the attackers. That possibility still stays!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Magigi wrote:C&P...Facebook Nakumatt employee provided a light moment during the rescue mission. When the Special Forces broke into the beer section of the supermarket, he jumped out from his hiding place, his hands in the air and shouted," mimi ni kulewa tu.." he was rescued.
This guy was at the right place at the right time!!! “Once the last tree is cut and the last river poisoned,you will find you cannot eat your money" Traditional saying.
Magigi wrote:simonkabz wrote:I have gone through the posts but we aint going anywhere till these hard questions are answered. All our doubts will be answered then. The rest is pure noise.
a. What did they achieve n why didn't they finish the job??? (This is the most important question!)
Who...The attackers or the rescuers... I thought the attackers finished their job...caused mayhem and died!!! That was their objective and they achieved it! Ama?[/quote] Go back to the post. Here I was talking of the Recce. I was disputing pound's allegation that KDF messed up the entire operation. I wanted to know why recce never cornered the thugs with all the time they had on their hands, what they achieved and why KDF was called in. Its my opinion that when one measure fails, you move up the ladder to a more superior one. Calling SF was the ultimate measure, and its good to note, these are elite soldiers, their job description is mainly massive violence and destruction. The Ultimate question remains, WHY were they called in, and by WHOM?? TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
McReggae wrote:Impunity wrote:WHY DID THE ARMY BOMB THE BUILDING?
Excuse my mind is on overdrive!!!! Why did it take so long? Were the terrorist finished by Monday morning, did the delay in the closure of the operation have anything to do with Gold from the casino, cash from banks, super market tills, shops and other businesses there! Just like when the airport was burning, cash from the banks had conveniently left? Was a senior GSU officer killed in the arguments? @mcreggae, Isn't it the Army that arrested that police who was stealing inside the mall? Who else? Just a guess, cause nategemea news tu! why would they rob the casino, which i have been to a couple of times, i can't get this gold theory cause i have never seen them take gold, guys use cash and cards leave alone the stories i hear of people playing with log books and title deeds, and casinos open kitu 11am and it's the customers who bring in cash, thats in the evening, the gold could be in the jewelry below the casino, which is ontop of artcaffe intact from the footage, nakumatt is far across, and their stores behind, with a mabati roof, where we were told matresses were being burnt, it all adds up, and the facts will come out, the army is coming out pretty clean on this one, no way they could bomb the building, "the entire army colluding"? You must think badly of peeps men! , the army is ok, maybe just a tired general as mutahi puts it, If there was an explosion, why not consider if it was a timed bomb, for example? So who set up the bomb? al-kebaabs? Let the people bury their dead, let the period of mourning pass before we put on such serious louvres!, for a serious debate behind our respective googles. Ras Kienyeji Man
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/2/2009 Posts: 2,458 Location: Nairobi
KulaRaha wrote:poundfoolish wrote:KulaRaha wrote:simonkabz wrote:KulaRaha wrote:TAZ wrote:simonkabz wrote:KulaRaha wrote:According to me, this is the timeline I remember, based on volunteer and eyewitness feedback:
12.30 pm gunmen started firing in westgate until 3.30 pm situation being managed by civilians, a few plainclothes, and reservists and mystery mzungus that dont exist. 3.30ish a group known as anti terrorism unit arrived and stormed the building. On scene says they confirm to have cleared basement, ground, 2nd and third floors. Many people rescued from here on...most survivors rescued around this time. Most corroborate this saying they were hiding for between 3 and 4 hours. 5.30pm army arrives, atu told to stand down. Army hold positions gained by atu successfully. 11.00 pm volunteers confirm army told to retreat and give up all ground held. 6.00 am army re-enter westgate to find terrorists all over the place. From Sunday morning the place becomes a tragedy.
This is my recollection. Pls don't shoot me, but try add corrections etc etc.
Lets build a solid timeline and see what really happened.
Recce company? The Israeli special forces (the Sayeret)? I'm convinced they were there.... I'm assuming recce company = atu = radiation squad etc. Volunteers confirm armed forces other than kenyan on scene, but say they didnt go in. Pls dont shoot me, correct me if in wrong. Nope. Recce coy are a GSU sub-unit. ATPU is a regular police unit. Do you recall when each unit arrived on scene? I dont think recce were there. Pls dont shoot me, correct me if im wrong. If you ever saw guys in blue jeans and black bullet proof vests? that is the RECCE squad. they are supposed to be in blue. Infact they at one point had the upper floor in control. anybody remember hearing the 2nd and 4th floor are in control, the 3rd floor was not? That was courtesy of the recce squad Those are the ones I saw. What time was that? Im trying to piece up the time. Ulifikiria hao ni kina nani? If you were there after Cameron met his COBRA(sp) squad you will have noticed the SAS eager to move in as well and had decided, liwe liwalo, you guys can sort your protocols later..
McReggae wrote:ecstacy wrote:McReggae wrote:ecstacy wrote:McReggae wrote:FancyFace wrote:McReggae wrote:Impunity wrote:WHY DID THE ARMY BOMB THE BUILDING?
Excuse my mind is on overdrive!!!! Why did it take so long? Were the terrorist finished by Monday morning, did the delay in the closure of the operation have anything to do with Gold from the casino, cash from banks, super market tills, shops and other businesses there! Just like when the airport was burning, cash from the banks had conveniently left? Was a senior GSU officer killed in the arguments? you are indeed on overdrive....carry on Hehehe.....the safes and vaults had to be broken, the fact that they knew they had killed 5 means that they got the bodies of the attackers before the building collapsed which points to early Monday......he clean up????? One soldier was seriously injured yesterday morning. He may have succumbed later that day. So no, we still have a valid operation then. Remember there were also cases of 'friendly' fire!!!! Use ratio and the number of friendly fire incidents pales in comparison with our combat casualties caused by the attackers. That possibility still stays!!!! Toa goggles a guy. The fact there have been multiple gunfire bursts at #Westgate this morning should make you think beyond this.
Rank: Member Joined: 5/26/2009 Posts: 326 Location: Nairobi
My fingers still trembling as I post this...I had a really close call on the Westgate thing. Observations:
INFORMATION FLOW: Gov need to work on information flow. We had comments/updates from Kimaiyo, Ole Lenku, Karangi, Amb. Amina...Defense, Police, all of them seemingly uncoordinated and factually inconsistent. Hence many people opted to follow @Robert Alai with his fairly balanced twitter updates. Karangi even mentioned that they had 'intel' on the attackers...did he mean 'post implementation report'? Intel is what we did not have Friday before.
THE POLICE:
The popular opinion is to 'overhaul' the police force. Needless. Do like the Transport Ministry is doing to Nissan matatus - start something else and let police service as we know it die naturally. The Asian Community 'reservists' that are reported to have done a good job at Westgate should be the cue. How about private police where recruitment is based not on martial prowess but grey matter. Think of a controlled referral system like they have in secret lodges/ private members clubs. The result will be incorruptible police who are stake holders in the community.
KNEE-JACK REACTION
Any imbecile-terrorist know that we are super alert after Westgate siege. All terrorists have been sent on holiday as...police and over-zealous guards require us to lay an egg to enter malls/ buildings... for the next few days....until a new issue crops up and Westgate is forgotten. Ponder this:
- airport fire investigations report - has it been released? - In Zim poachers have poisoned scores of elephants - is KWS on high alert? - The Maai Mahiu accident - are the recommendations by Eng. Kamau being followed up? Is road safety still a top to-do list for someone?
INTELLIGENCE
During the last US presidential debate Mitt Romney made an accusation that America has less naval ships than in 1917. Obama's response was that they have even fewer horses and bayonets because military changed. Likewise, intelligence gathering has changed and same old ways, same old people will not get us anywhere. The terrorists proved this to Americans during 9/11; and Americans did something about it.
...AND WHEN IT HAPPENS Terrorists took siege of the mall and we had to mix/match several regiments until there were reports of 'friendly fire'. Has KDF considered an ethically acceptable zoological/ etymological squadron? Not once I felt like bringing my beehives to smoke out the terrorists!! Or Safari ants. Or trained honey bangers....
 @ Poundfoolish, I believe you are referring to these guys....RECCE!
Attack at Westgate