wazua Sun, Jul 5, 2026

8 Pages«<45678>
Westgate aftermath – What to do
#51 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2013 10:24:26 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Urgently close down ALL the refugee camps in northern Kenya. Let UNHCRassist them from within their own country. Those camps have been fertile recruitment grounds.

Lean really hard on those easich fellows to reveal the bad apples in their midst. Close down their businesses if we must if that's what it'll take to get the info.

Stop dilly-dallying and shuffling around officers who don't perform, simply sack them. I know a fellow, quite senior in the provincial admin. Every single station he head served in, he had had to be transferred due to his connivance in allowing illegal immigrants from Somalia, his most recent posting having been garish. Why we keep transferring such an officer around beats me. Simply sack the damn fool and take him to court to answer for his misdeeds.

Endeleza mjadala...

I'm of the opinion that refugees are much as victims as we are. They who would much rather flee than bandwagon with terrorists. Take for instance PEV, or the Ugandan Kony. Kenyans, victims, chose to flee. Picture yourself fleeing, then having your host(in your suggestion) sending you back to die?

Let's resort to decisions free from emotions. Decisions that we can live with in years to come.

As much as refugees are victims, they should not be refugees for their entire lifetime. The war that led to their circumstances has been significantly scaled back, thanks again in no small part to this truly great nation of Kenya. Therefore, their continued presence within our borders in such vast numbers does not make sense;
Every time Kenya makes moves to relocate refugees it is met with stiff opposition from the West. The West is being disingenous. None of them have such vast numbers of refugees within their borders, neither are they interested in making material, economical and emotional investment to ensure that Somalis are happy and safe back in Somalia. They are happy to make self righteous noises then go back to their pampered existence. We should not be allowed to be left holding the bag on what is a large, shitty international problem. We are a nation of meagre resources still.
This country should set a strict timetable to evacuate refugees to safe zones within Somalia and stick to it. If the USA, Canada, UK or those Western nations feel we are doing wrong, they can airlift them to their own borders - or better still, they can commit to more tangible solutiond to secure Somalia even more instead of dreaming day and night how to divvy it up for its probable oil deposits. Its time to light a fire under their asses. Israel promptly throws out refugees who are security threats, I dont hear much complaining. Our benevolence is being taken advantage of, people are pissing all over us, lets stop this.
#52 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2013 10:24:51 PM

Truth be told.. The military messed this thing up

We have seen photos of ground floor being cleared.. movie goers from the 3rd floor being rescued and at some point we were told the terrorists were cornered in a section of the building (by RECCE squad)...
then today three floors collapsed..
When did we lapse from controlling floors to only one floor.. to collapsing floors.

I personally believe the regular police from Gigiri were keeping the thugs busy.. then the flying squad rescued most people
After that the RECCE force with help from Israelis and British cornered the thugs..

This thing would have been finished by 3pm on Saturday.
We would like to know how it turned into a military spectacle for 4 days.. Why did we allow the military to take over what RECCE was doing well? why did we give them time to bobby trap the place and kill the hostages...?
5 teenagers managed to fell 6 army officers..
SHAME!!!
InnovateGuy
#53 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2013 10:26:24 PM

InnovateGuy wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
I think its time we stopped pointing fingers at others. Trouble lies within our selves, we never report anything, not even anonymously how many times have you walked out of something fishy that you have seen? How many times have you bribed that immigration official to get a passport or even the police? We have to instill a culture within ourselves of being a brothers keeper..these ammunition passed thru someone, someone rented/sold out their car to some people he had doubts about. And the big one MONEY LAUNDERING

I saw a post somewhere online yesterday but nimeitafuta siioni. What the poster was basically saying was that in his neighborhood was a young man he'd known since his childhood days. At some point after high school, the young man had disappeared from the scene for around 4-5yrs and when he reappeared, he seemed to have acquired unexplainable riches, was driving around in expensive cars, bought himself a fleet of matatus and hang out with some questionable characters.

At some point, the young man and the poster had gotten into an altercation and he reported to the kenya police station but no action was taken. If anything, the young man now began giving him death threats and fearing for his life, he reported the same to the local A.P station (at the D.O's office) since he figured the A.Ps were supposedly not as corrupt as the K.P. And then the shock hit him.

The officer to whom he was making the report promptly whipped out his phone and called the young 'mysterious' man 'live-live, informing him of the report against him. Shortly afterwards, the young guy and his minions check in and guess who's right on time to receive them? The A.P. commander. While our poster is wondering what's up, the young dude hako hapo nje wanasalimiana na commander zile za niaje? umenitupa sana mtu nguyas...

Shortly, the cops asked the young man to write a statement on the basis of which our poster was accused and locked up for 2 days, all for being daring enough to raise his suspicions.

Put yourself into this poster's shoes and tell me, would you ever bother to report anything to them again? Would you even dare trust a cop, knwing full well at the end of the day, they'll rat you out to the bad guys?

Yes, Doc I would! My Bible tells me that I have not been given a spirit of fear, but of power, of love and a sound mind!

Are you saying that, now that terrorists have staged an attack, we let them have their way? Or do you find it easier hiding in a crowd and cower when its personal?

Missed the message. Our police need to do something in order to gain the trust of the citizens.

Shame on you It might be you who's missing out. Read what @Murchr writes carefully. Ask not what your country can do for you - ask what you can do for your country ~ JFK

Husaidiki.
Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
#54 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2013 10:26:35 PM

CORRUPTION!!! - fix this within the society, police force & immigration and all the problems will go away. if we can analyze the westgate incident critically as an example and look at all the weak points, corruption played some role.

now this begins with you as an individual and could take years to achieve but it's possible.
#55 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2013 10:32:32 PM

InnovateGuy wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
I think its time we stopped pointing fingers at others. Trouble lies within our selves, we never report anything, not even anonymously how many times have you walked out of something fishy that you have seen? How many times have you bribed that immigration official to get a passport or even the police? We have to instill a culture within ourselves of being a brothers keeper..these ammunition passed thru someone, someone rented/sold out their car to some people he had doubts about. And the big one MONEY LAUNDERING

I saw a post somewhere online yesterday but nimeitafuta siioni. What the poster was basically saying was that in his neighborhood was a young man he'd known since his childhood days. At some point after high school, the young man had disappeared from the scene for around 4-5yrs and when he reappeared, he seemed to have acquired unexplainable riches, was driving around in expensive cars, bought himself a fleet of matatus and hang out with some questionable characters.

At some point, the young man and the poster had gotten into an altercation and he reported to the kenya police station but no action was taken. If anything, the young man now began giving him death threats and fearing for his life, he reported the same to the local A.P station (at the D.O's office) since he figured the A.Ps were supposedly not as corrupt as the K.P. And then the shock hit him.

The officer to whom he was making the report promptly whipped out his phone and called the young 'mysterious' man 'live-live, informing him of the report against him. Shortly afterwards, the young guy and his minions check in and guess who's right on time to receive them? The A.P. commander. While our poster is wondering what's up, the young dude hako hapo nje wanasalimiana na commander zile za niaje? umenitupa sana mtu nguyas...

Shortly, the cops asked the young man to write a statement on the basis of which our poster was accused and locked up for 2 days, all for being daring enough to raise his suspicions.

Put yourself into this poster's shoes and tell me, would you ever bother to report anything to them again? Would you even dare trust a cop, knwing full well at the end of the day, they'll rat you out to the bad guys?

Yes, Doc I would! My Bible tells me that I have not been given a spirit of fear, but of power, of love and a sound mind!

Are you saying that, now that terrorists have staged an attack, we let them have their way? Or do you find it easier hiding in a crowd and cower when its personal?

Missed the message. Our police need to do something in order to gain the trust of the citizens.

Shame on you It might be you who's missing out. Read what @Murchr writes carefully. Ask not what your country can do for you - ask what you can do for your country ~ JFK

Husaidiki.

Sawa sawa. Wewe ngoja tu hapo polisi wafanye kitu ndio uwaamini.

I have confidence in our mboyz despite the many challenges.

#56 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2013 10:40:42 PM

CORRUPTION!!! - fix this within the society, police force & immigration and all the problems will go away. if we can analyze the westgate incident critically as an example and look at all the weak points, corruption played some role.

now this begins with you as an individual and could take years to achieve but it's possible.

GREED is the word...I believe!
kiash
#57 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2013 11:27:33 PM

1.Having numbered homes in such way you know who lives where + letter boxes with names its ongoing i guess but should be made in a way that when you move , confirm with a KPLC bill or something more precise.

2. Comb Eastleigh
3. Stop this idiotic attitude this is Kenya this is how things are done the Kenyan way , these police officers are our brothers and sisters , guess so far no one will come and say these terrorists are our bro and sisters
4. Stop forgetting too fast, we have forgotten 1998,Kikambala, road accidents that have killed more people

5. We should introduce money for denouncement if the word does exist. If you have evidence on something , report to the authorities with evidence and get paid i saw a documentary of such a thing in Korea and
since Kenyans love money and do anything for it, this would be a good way to end corruption, insecurity and other vices. Film polisi akichukua hongo , peleka filamu pata pesa, jamaa akiiba road protective guards and signs , lipwa .

Sorry to say this now but we saw the overwhelming support from the ambulances and other medics
but if this happened somewhere down town Nai, apart from The red cross there would have been
some few NHIF ambulances + zile za city council if there are any.
People came together, it was the first time we saw wahindi out there offering food and drinks just because it touched a lot of them
#58 Posted : Wednesday, September 25, 2013 12:02:45 AM

Tulale sasa...
#59 Posted : Wednesday, September 25, 2013 12:14:04 AM

KDF should move to Eastleigh and comb the place door to door for illegal immigrants and weapons.

Kenya Defence forces should not have a bearing presence at home or over fellow citizens, that is very good policy, actually the ideal is KDF should never have to use force/be deployed inside Kenya, this should be the very last time we should see them in action inside the country if we are really serious about security, it is total and absolute nonsense to start asking/begging KDF to continue playing policing roles within the country, absolute nonsense! It should be an abomination, even advanced countries like US have a national guard who cannot really mix with the army, they even have F18 and and other advanced jets for internal jobs, but as a rule, a countries defense forces should not mix in raia issues, except under extreme and unimaginable/terrible circumstances like we found ourselves in, internal affairs need a different force/service, call it police.

@Muchknow in Kenya's current situation (irrespective of the unfortunate westgate attack) who do you trust more on matters security - KDF or Police?
mkeiyd
#60 Posted : Wednesday, September 25, 2013 12:25:25 PM

urstill1 wrote:
First things first! Heads must roll!!! Send some cops packing n some immigration follows to the cooler. Then we can start talking!

No high ranking official will go. I can bet on that

With the President losing someone, i would think heads will roll.
If the terrorists continue hitting high-prof locations, heads will roll.
How many Asians make donations when Easich gets bombed?
1.Sack Kimaiyo ASAP,even his juniors know he's anti-police reforms.
2.Ole Lenku should also follow,we need somebody with expertise on security matters.
3.Establish clear operational command in situations like @westgate. Get Recce company distinctive clad and comm. gadgets.That will shorten response time.
4.Never let anyone free walking from a hostage situation. Modus operandi should be "guilty till proven otherwise". Le the individual prove their innocence.
5.Have a fully integrated immigration information system. We should know who let who in by a click of button.
6.Never call KDF on matters homeland. They never take instructions from anyone and that's how it should remain.
7.Give limited space to the media houses,they will always mess things up in such delicate times.
8.Get rid of all ILLEGAL immigrants, legally or otherwise.
9.No more court bail for known terrorists. By the time one is on the interpol list,they can't be "watu wa Mungu".

8 Pages«<45678>