wazua Sun, Dec 7, 2025

Noise Ban
Djinn
#41 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 11:03:00 AM

@VVS,yes,it has a switch - but I am yet to acquire remotes for all the TVs in public areas like restaurants,supermarkets,shopping centres,schools and the neighbours' houses - but I am sure you have a workable solution for this as well (other than having a citizenry that cares enough to cause a government to regulate broadcasting and a law that defines what is permissible?....).

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
Bashka
#42 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 11:46:00 AM

I see this as a good source of Government Revenue....KRA is trying to reach its targets. I heard that KRA staff got huge salary increments after negotiating with Govt . Their salary is pegged to how much they collect. Performance Appraisal????
#43 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 12:25:00 PM

Good people,

This issue here is not about religion. What Djinn is trying to say is that in Islam,the Muzzain(sp) needs to do his job of calling the believers to prayer. This is Ok and a noble cause. However,Djinn,let us think outside the box here. Does he have to use that technology? I believe that in some countries,the Gracious fellow is given a radio frequency to whch his faithful tune in just before they sleep. At the appointed hour,the Muzzein(sp) broadcasts his call and all his believers get up and offer their prayers. the goal is achieved and no one else is bothered ( for lack of a better term). I also fully agree that street noisemakers in the name of preaching and other names should be banned.

I remember I stopped attending a perticular church because I could not understand why the preacher would start SHOUTING onto an already powerful amplifier system yet I was seated right there not more than 15M and had actually prepared to go and listen to him!!
sokomjinga
#44 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 12:38:00 PM

I have lived in many muslim countries and also non-muslim countries where Islam is practiced and the only way of calling the faithful is the one mentioned below. No new technologies are being used - the louspeaker is the newest.

I do not see why this should bother people so much. It doesn't last long and it is a CALLING. In no way can we compare this with the noisy crusaders,who basically are out to enrich themselves with the COLLECTIONS from the POOR FAITHFUL.

This can only be compared with CHURCH BELLS,which cannot be forbidden.

All beginnings are difficult ..... ..... everything has an end,only a sausage has two.
Taunet Neelel ..... New Beginning .....
Jangwa la Jangili
#45 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 1:15:00 PM

there goes another popular defeatist argument. blaming it on the americans as usual. i am not sure how that came up but suffice it to say that some of us crossed that bridge eons ago.

i also do not recall anyone saying any religion is inferior or superior. another ghost argument.

point is if it does not meet the threshhold,it does not matter whether it is coming from a doctor-bishop or the mu-sneezin,kelele ni kelele.

Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
Jofa
#46 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 1:28:00 PM

I think the deal this government has gone into with the Police and City Council guys is: we can't pay your salos from the national budget,so we create silly laws for you,you catch 'em,you pay yourselves. Coz seriously,30 metres is too short a distance. So if you make a screech on your car brakes,or sneeze too loudly...you can be charged with noise pollution? Shindwe!

'A verbal contract isn't worth the paper it's written on' - Samuel Goldwyn.
#47 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 1:31:00 PM

... The muslim call is not without its advantage. My son knows that he should stop playing outside the house and get inside saa moja,yaani saa ile Muislamu ameanza kulia!!! That's how he puts it...
ispoa
#48 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 1:31:00 PM

My take is Government is really not concerned about reducing noise levels in any way than it is in making sure we have no IDP's in this country. Govt is broke and need to raise money. Yet another new license for existing businesses (bars,restaurants),while casting the net into yet untaxed waters (churches,mosques etc....) in a clever manner.

Take a minute and think how many churches and mosques we have at present.

Noble as it may seem,theres yet another opening for this animal called corruption in Kenya. You dont have the license,you 'tip' the relevant arresting authority. How many bars operate past 11 yet don't have 24 hr licenses and are in estates.

People are now more exposed to info,hence newer ways of 'eating' will be necessitated.

Going by what i read on the regulations i grew curious,if in a wedding procession would one therefore need a license to hoot as its tradition msichana anapochukuliwa. if so is it for all the motii's? Just a thought. hiyo ni pesa ngapi going by number of weddings nowadays!

What of mourning.....

When you do the common things in life in an uncommon way,you will command the attention of the world.

Indecision and delays are the parents of failure.

extrablessed
#49 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 1:42:00 PM

@Djinn: that kind of rage is the kind of material that make suicide bombers!!!

@wendz: chunga.... or else, kaaaabum!! %$^##$&***?!!

Life is worth living cos God planned it to be so.
kamatakamata
#50 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 2:30:00 PM

nothing like a good old rumble to brighten up an otherwise dull monday.round one to djinn for tenacity.
B.Timer
#51 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 2:41:00 PM

@Jangwa

May I support you on this unreservedly!

There should be only one criteria to determine what passes muster and what doesnt. So far we understand the yardstick is - any sound heard beyond 30m.

Double standards could compell one to challenge the law as discriminatory.

B.timer
Dunia ni msongamano..
Nijjo
#52 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 4:28:00 PM

Kusema ukweli this ban imetokea wapi? I mean arent we accustomed to the noise the mwadhini makes in the cox.. mat na hewa,pia personal vehicles na noise?? Tafadhali Tafuteni njaro ingine ya kumanga doh.. this is 2 obvious!!!!

Taking it slow is a wise cautious move.
#53 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 4:57:00 PM

...what will happen to those blacksmiths who do their work in the open to feed their families.
#54 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 6:22:00 PM

The better approach would have been to create noise free zones. Certain functions eg industries,airports must emit noise otherwise how else will they function. Residential areas,schools and hospitals can be declared as noise free zones. Certain parts of the cbd like parliament should also be noise free

#55 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 6:30:00 PM

Can a woman who is defending herself from being raped be arrested for shouting RAPE at the top of her voice?

Or shouting MWIZI when a thief (probably in cahoots with CCN askari) tries to grab your purse/wallet?

Or calling a politician PUMBAVU...

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#56 Posted : Tuesday, November 24, 2009 4:06:00 AM

@All....I urge you yet again to get a copy of the regulations and read them. All the issues causing concern here are well taken care of in the regulations.

For example,@VVS,section 7 talks about Exemptions,and says:

'These Regulations shall not apply to
(a) the emission of noise for the purpose of alerting persons to the existence of an
emergency;
(b) the emission of noise in the performance of emergency response;
(c) the emission of noise in connection with the protection of the health and safety of
residents or their property during emergency conditions;
(d) warning devices necessary for the protection of public safety,such as police,fire and ambulance sirens,and train horns; or
(e) Parades and national celebrations.

Please get your free copy here and read it:
http://www.nema.go.ke/in...p;gid=149&Itemid=35

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
Kamaa
#57 Posted : Tuesday, November 24, 2009 5:43:00 AM

@ magigi

yesterday i happened to pass through gikomba market and i didn't believe it...

it was not like it..!

no more 'koroga koroga mali yote ni ya kumi...'

i mean there has to be exceptions lest they become hooligans...

When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly....
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
#58 Posted : Tuesday, December 29, 2009 9:51:00 AM

Now Matatus want to go on strike because they have been asked to lower the volumes of their music systems!
#59 Posted : Tuesday, December 29, 2009 10:17:35 AM

I really do not understand what this fuss is all about.

This is Kenya. Let us just comply with the law, it is already a law, for a couple of years and then go back to making "Noise".

Hon Michuki is not going to last in this Environment back water Ministry for ever. He will soon be posted to Energy and have his energies fully utilized enforcing all motor vehicles be switched off while refuelling at Petrol Stations.

So folks. Relax. Do not blow a vein.

My penny thougts.
#60 Posted : Tuesday, December 29, 2009 1:01:33 PM

Finally a hubby-frindly law- hata ukiingia nyumbani in those odd hours when it is not clear whether the night is ending or when the day is beginning, bibi asikupigie kelele na sauti >30 db.

Very nice, this NEMA law.