wazua Sat, Nov 30, 2024

SAFARICOM END YEAR RESULTS OF 31 /03/09.
sorovi
#41 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 7:32:00 AM

The following are the key highlights of the results:
&bull; The active subscriber numbers have increased to 13.36m from 10.23m,an increase of 30.6%.
&bull; Subscriber market share at 79%
&bull; Revenue market share estimated at 83%
&bull; Turnover increased to Kshs70.48 bn compared to Kshs61.37 bn in the previous year,a growth of 14.8%.
&bull; Blended Average Revenue Per User (ARPU) for PrePay and PostPay was Kshs 475. ARPU reduced in the year as a result of increased penetration and lower average tariffs. This was however compensated by increased average minutes of use per month of 57.5 from 52.8 in the previous year.
&bull; Strong EBITDA of Kshs 27.95bn,including a forex loss of Kshs 679m compared to Kshs 118m in the previous year.
&bull; Operating profit of Kshs 16.18bn impacted by increased depreciation in line with the increased capital investment
&bull; Profit before tax of Kshs 15.30bn impacted by increased depreciation and higher financing costs. The prior year financing costs
included two non trading gains to the value of Kshs 1.76bn.
&bull; Increasingly strong growth in the M-PESA service with 6.18m registered users compared to 2.08m users in the previous year.
&bull; Capital expenditure investment in the year ended 31 March 2009 was Kshs 23.82bn,increasing the total capital investment
since inception to Kshs119.79bn
&bull; Increased 2G sites across the country to 1,899 sites from 1,558 sites.
&bull; Increased data business for corporate,medium sized institutions as well as individual customers. 301 sites have been upgraded to 3G to support this strategy. The number of distinct data users has increased from 0.57m at the beginning of the year to 1.47m reflecting the growth potential in the data market.
&bull; Cash from operations of Kshs30.10bn,remained strong during the year enabling the company to expand the network coverage further and ensure that the core network was enhanced to manage the increased subscriber base.
&bull; Total gross borrowings (excl. cash and cash equivalents) increased to Kshs11.31bn from Kshs9.20bn. Gearing (gross borrowing less cash and cash equivalents) was 12.0% from 8.0% due to a marginal increase in borrowings.
Chaka
#42 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 7:40:00 AM

At this rate SAFCOM is a better buy that CO-OP bank which has same dividend but twice the price of SAFCOM share
mtaalam
#43 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 7:47:00 AM

plus not everyone is on mpesa.

The best time to plant a tree is twenty years ago. The second best time is now.
#44 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 8:00:00 AM

You don't need to be on Mpesa to receive money from it.
#45 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 8:02:00 AM

Si niliwaambia!

The correct DPS should have been five cents,but many would have seen it as an insult,so they settled for ten cents.

Revenue is up 15%,but EPS is down 24%. The financing account moved from a positive 1.6b position to a negative 0.8b

If it was me,I'd have said no dividend this year and save some of that financing expenses.....

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
Evolve
#46 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 8:28:00 AM

@Mukiha,

What will be the likely impact of the dismal performance by Safcom on the market? Is it likely to bring down the market or has our market factored its performance and therefore only minimal impact will be witnessed?
mtaalam
#47 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 8:40:00 AM

@ Gekko,I didn't know you could receive from mpesa without having subscribed to the service. Thanks,now I know

@mukiha,what do you mean no dividend? It would be a disaster if they didn't give something.

Anyway 'ngoch' ni poa. I'm not complaining.

maggiee
#48 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 8:57:00 AM

Dividend is only 10 cents. check NSE site.

invest in shares but be patient
Safaricom Fan
#49 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 9:02:00 AM

I expected responses as put down here. Always knew Kenyans see things differently from most other citizens of the world.
We spent a huge chunk of retained cash to build a massive arsenal to ward off competition in the last financial year. We don't see another war coming in the near future. So cash is abundant.
We did not need to retain cash for loan repayment. We have fought many battles with competiters and after due consideration believe they are not much of a threat and thus our war is as good as won and profits will grow.
Do you know the difference between five and ten cents dividends? That is like increasing dividends paid by 100 percent or double. Think of BAT increasing Dps from 17 to 34 this year. This is why I still love Kenyans,do them good,and they think you are fooling them. Do them bad,they have no problem with that.
MJ

Innovation is the key to staying ahead of competition.
#50 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 9:11:00 AM

@Evolve:

SCOM will NOT pull down the market with it!!!

Look at the board very many greens and just a few reds...SCOM is worst loser,second only to TOTAL.

And that will not affect the index by much. Why? because the index is insensitive to the company's mkt cap.

@mtaalam: a disaster for whom? The company,the buyers or the sellers? Think about it,the guy who bought at 2.95 earlier in the morning has just lost his dividend on the latest trading price - 2.85.

Who needs 3.4% dividend yield?

I don't to sound like an ingrate,but I honestly think this dividend was a 'political' move to apeace the 750,000 retail investors who would have flocked to the AGM (I winder where they'll hold it) and taken the board to task. The money would have served the company better if retained in reserves.

I'd gladly trade that dividend for more shares at 2.75.........

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
#51 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 9:23:00 AM

@Mukiha,

I love history. Go back to the prospectus. There was a promise of a minimum dividend payout every year for the next five years. You cannot go back on this.

Fundamentals + Sentiments = Position
Safaricom Fan
#52 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 9:37:00 AM

@ Stockskenya aka SK

You guys are sick. You think MJ would really be offended by this. Go to hell. Leave my name and bye. You have added the name Fan on my name as if you consulted me. Am not a fan.
Djinn
#53 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 9:40:00 AM

' The active subscriber numbers have increased to 13.36m from 10.23m,an increase of 30.6%'......in their IPO prospectus SCOM indicated something like 14 billion subscribers...and in small print....clarified it was SIM cards sold (that includes abt 7-10 I have acquired with handset offers since 2001,another 7-10 my wife acquired with handset offers since 2001,another one for every tourist or visiting biz person who can't roam in Kenya,etc) - so now they come clean and indicate that indeed ACTIVE subscribers were just over 10 million. GOOD but not good enough - even the 13.36 million is not so credible...

while everyone is jostling for a foothold in the data market space,SCOM is still furtively seeking out financing....now after the divident not much is left to play with...

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
mtaalam
#54 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 9:58:00 AM

@Djinn,

What's cutting today?
- a bit off the mark at 25cts dividend....
- 14billion subscribers

I'm beginning to believe Uhuru's 9b typo.... :)

Djinn
#55 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 10:17:00 AM

Specialist - I concede 14 billion is a typo....14 million is what I mean. 25 cents...like I indicated in that other post,this was done in Jan 2008 - did anyone else offer any closer predictions? Or did I miss something?

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
Djinn
#56 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 10:23:00 AM

Also @ Mtaalam....in that other post I said in January

'3) Average revenue per user (ARPU) keeps sliding like a greased penguin on melting ice'

and I also said

'I saw a discussion about the impossibility of even paying out 50 cts per share - with 14 billion they could manage 25 cts dividends and still have some change,but not enough to fund expansion and pay debts.'

Word also is that the acquisition of OneCom was not particularly bright and Wi-Max might not be the way to wage the data war. I see mediocrity in the operator between 2009-2010...see how Equity came from way behind as a building society and caused the so called BIG GUNS (Barclays esp) to return to rural areas and wananchi? Well I think SCOM is what Barclays was 5 years ago - not seeing too far ahead....

The General
#57 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 10:44:00 AM

@ safaricom fan,

It would be wiser to speak directly to the person/s instead of collectively to Kenyan's

Your assuming 'everyone' knows what 'good' is,from 'bad'

The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie.
Chaka
#58 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 10:57:00 AM

@ Safaricom fan

'Safaricom' is a registered trade mark and you cannot use it without permission!
The General
#59 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 11:24:00 AM

@ Chaka,he doesnt need permission,i believe SK had another valid reason

Agra
#60 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 1:39:00 PM

Let say 0.10 dividend is not good enough but it looks like the mkt has factored that and there is no big price movement.

NAMASTE !Don't be unrealistic with your expectations
It's easy for investors to get emotional and prejudiced when trading, but computers don't