wazua Sun, Dec 7, 2025

Noise Ban
Djinn
#21 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 8:41:00 AM

@KulaRaha - fine. I hope the mosque was not built AFTER you moved in....in which case you have the right to ask them to relocate it. @Jangili - madrassa? Madrassa are lessons for kids - the muezzin has NOTHING to do with that. I see your intolerance is firmly rooted in ignorance (just as much as our tribalism in post-2007 was rooted in the same ignorance).

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
Kamaa
#22 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 8:48:00 AM

@ djinn

if the objective is to stop / reduce noise pollution...

believe me even he muezzin will not be an exception!

When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly....
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
#23 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 8:52:00 AM

Djinn,so you are telling me a mosque in a residential area can disturb residents at all odd times of the day,as long as the mosque was there BEFORE the residents?

Give me a break!

Jangwa la Jangili
#24 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 8:53:00 AM

why is it that people that flash the intolerance card when someone does not agree with them? it is the most abused cliche in the world today; maybe only second to 'impunity'.

let me break it down cause it is clear you missed it; my deliberate use of 'madrassa or whatever' was meant to demonstrate that i really do not care to know more about their religion. when i do,i will go to the mosque and ask to be converted.

let's stop treating people with kids gloves for goodness sake. everyone around the world is nowadays afraid of criticizing muslims lest they fall foul to some crazed suicide bombers obsessed with a couple of virgins in the after life.

it will make no sense to ban loud christian keshas (which i support )only to be woken up at 5AM by the muslims.

now that would be intolerance.

noise is noise is noise is noise...

Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
Djinn
#25 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 8:57:00 AM

@Wendz smile our SK voice of reason...Wendz,thing is this,you have heard those moving crusades that come to estates sometimes....you have also heard those evagengelical churches with SCREAMING and SCREECHING preachers amplified by 2000W speakers or semaphores. Now,lets thing of those sounds in relation to 1) the decibels and 2) the quality therein (harmonic/discordant/etc) - now lets think of the muezzin who calls 5 times a day - its only at 0400-0500 that people are asleep. Not a bad sound when you compare it to screaming and screeching of Pastor Doctor James Peter of Redeemed Blood of Christ Half Gospel Church - who sets up a podium in the estate or hires 20,000 Watt speakers to blare outside the church.

I think it should come down to what constitutes NOISE and it should be informed by the GREATER good. I gather people are supposed to be waking up anyway around 0500....

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
#26 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 8:59:00 AM

People,please read the regulations so that we can argue with facts. I have given the NEMA link in an earlier post on this thread.

Specifically look at this section:

PART IV- PROVISIONS RELATING TO LICENSING PROCEDURES FORCERTAIN ACTIVITIES
16. Licence.
(1). Where a sound source is planned,installed or intended to be installed or modified by any person in such a manner that such source shall create or is likely to emit noise or excessive vibrations,or otherwise fail to comply with the provisions of these Regulations,such person shall apply for a licence to the Authority.

(2). No person shall use any sound-amplifying equipment in such a way that such
equipment is or is likely to be heard outside of any building between 9:00 p.m. of any day and 7:30 a.m. of the next day,without a valid license.

(3). Where any person uses or plans to use a public-address system which is likely to emit sound outside of a building,such person shall secure a license under these Regulations.

=====

The mosques will simply apply for licences to make their calls to prayer. NEMA will go and inspect the equipment used and issue the licenses.

====

BTW: I live about 50m from an mosque and I can hear the call. It doesn't bother me because it lasts a very short time and it is predictable...I know when to expect it. In fact,if I don't hear it during the day,I begin wondering whether there is a power shortage.

On the other hand,I live about 5km [straight line] from JKIA. sometimes I hear the roar of the planes as they land....and on a few occasions the sound makes my windows rattle. I am now drafting a complaint to send to NEMA to ask them to ban such planes from JKIA during the night.

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
Djinn
#27 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 9:06:00 AM

@mukiha - I think once they apply,it will be down to the quality of equipment....and this is the point I have been trying to make....a muezzin is supposed to sound melodious though I agree,some mosques have such horrible PA systems it hurts the ears. I think the muezzin,if calling using his own voice or a suitable system,will not be a distrubance. Its the same thing with sound systems - you find some discos have such CRAP sound,while others are really LOUD but easy on the ears - the difference between Carnivore at 100 decibels and Rim Club at 50 decibels - the former would win.

@KulaRaha - I think if you found a mosque,bar,brother then you cannot make it move - rather you should make a decision whether to move in. if it came after,then you can make all the noise you want. I find it rather juvenile to think you can move next to a mosque and then complain about the noise - you might as well move to North Horr to start a fishery....

#28 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 9:09:00 AM

A criteria that is used & should be applied is what cam first?

@mukiha - Tha airport (JKIA) has been in existence for many,many years... one of the reasons it is where it is coz it was 'out' of town...
Just because you chose to move to an area near the airport does not make it sensible to have flights banned at night... You could have moved to Westie,Parklands,Kyuna,Runda,etc...

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
Djinn
#29 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 9:12:00 AM

@VVS - THANK YOU for 'A criteria that is used & should be applied is what cam first?'...

#30 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 9:13:00 AM

Lakini the reason for muezzins was coz they would call people to prayer at a certain time... folks did not have watches... Now u can buy one at 50/-...

Also muezzins did not use speakers so... let them sing/shout lakini bila speakers... especially at 5am...

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#31 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 9:24:00 AM

@VVS/Djinn

hahahahaha... ati criteria of who came first? Can never work..... LOL!!! Look at these scenarios

Imagine if the gvt decides to expand Wilson airport now that it has been grabbed and such airport is allocated land 1km from where i live,should i apply to have it stopped and moved elsewhere... where 'elsewhere' happens to be next to @Djinn who also complains it will be noisy?

Or,if i get to the bus-stop before the matatu,i tell them to stop the noise,if they get before me,they can blast their music all they want doesnt matter if its at 4am?

A neighbour moves into a flat before you,he can blast his music,holds noisy parties till wee hours because he came before you. If he shifts after you have moved in,he cant/no right to. And actually,he has no right to complain of any amount of noise you make - you came first,dint you?.

Newcomer = no right to enjoy some quiet?

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.

sokomjinga
#32 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 9:28:00 AM

Hakuna haja ya siasa.

There are always exceptions to any rules and the Noise ban is no exception.

Even in developed countries where such bans have existed,church bells can be heard everyday.

So,even in Kenya Church bells and Mosque calls will continue to be heard.

What should stop is the unnecessary noise-making,which is really a menace.

All beginnings are difficult ..... ..... everything has an end,only a sausage has two.
Taunet Neelel ..... New Beginning .....
#33 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 9:31:00 AM

@VVS...

Two things:

The JKIA came AFTER my estate was built!! Before that we had only Embakasi
The planes that used to land at Embakasi were smaller than those at JKIA. Thus Emabakasi was not a nuisance to residents on my estate. But JKIA brought with it bigger jets with louder engines

Same reasoning is applicable to what you say about the mosques....'Also muezzins did not use speakers so... let them sing/shout lakini bila speakers... especially at 5am...'

It is the use of louder [and/or noisier] equipment that might make people complain about the call for prayers

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
Djinn
#34 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 9:44:00 AM

@Wendz - tutapigana! You are needlessly trivializing that point. Lets make reference only to 1) fixed places that are known to have noise (bars,discos,mosques,airports etc) - you cannot move next to Carnivore/Pizza Garden/etc and expect them to keep it down - whereas in a flat,you can go and bang on the noisy neighbour's door since its a residential areas and unless he has a permit from the DC .... 2) Noise that should be regulated nonetheless - including Matatus - lets not say that they arrived at the stage after you did. That point has no legs to stand on...its a public service vehicle - next you will say that because the driver and tout were smoking,its OK for them to do so after passengers board the vehicle. The right to tranquility I think is entrenched in the constitution and while mosques may emit noise,the best that can be done is to regulate the equipment and sound levels but not to do away with it. Same with church bells.

Kamaa
#35 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 9:51:00 AM

@ vvs

i concur!

When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly....
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
#36 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 10:18:00 AM

@Djinn

hahahaha... mimi na wewe hatuwezi pigana... ni bug inaleta shida....

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.

Djinn
#37 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 10:42:00 AM

@Wendz - I guess I'm also worked up....when we see statements like 'lest they fall foul to some crazed suicide bombers obsessed with a couple of virgins in the after life' from @Jangili...as thinking,reasoning beings,we have to stop and ask ourselves how low we can go without degenerating into a squabble - how much should we swallow in regard to propaganda about other people's religions - I personally find Islam and Arabic culture/history/architecture/science/philosophy quite fascinating....I guess some of us swallow too much from the west and mindlessly regurgitate it...we might as well give Uncle Sam a collective nationwide blow job....and swallow as well....lets not let outsiders needless antagonise us with propaganda about Islam being a lesser religion and Christianity a better once...

Djinn
#38 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 10:46:00 AM

...also,its bad enough having so many unresolved issues rooted in tribalism and inequality,without raking up religious issues as well....why should one group feel a greater sense of entitlement than the other? Why should it be the Muezzin that is causing sleepless mornings and not the filth broadcast between 1600-1830 everyday on half the TV stations which corrupts yopung minds and starts its own chain of problems - people,really!

Kamaa
#39 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 10:50:00 AM

@ djinn

utamu wa usingizi ni asubuhi....

just thinking aloud...!

#40 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 10:54:00 AM

@djinn - I watch that 'filth' and I love it... LOL... ama I wud have to rent or use valuable bandwidth...

I can always go confess to the muezzin or priest after that...

BTW,si ur TV has a switch?