wazua Sun, Dec 7, 2025

Noise Ban
#1 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 6:55:00 AM

Is this really a priorityat this time in point? Methinks this is yet another case of dwelling on extraneous issues,kenyan style.

WOULD RATHER DIE FIGHTING 4 MY RIGHTS THAN LIVE FOREVER WITHOUT ANY RIGHTS
Ali Baba
#2 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 6:58:00 AM

Its good. It should have been done long time ago.

Ali Baba
chi20
#3 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 7:08:00 AM

i beg to know,what happens when a mathree suddenly pulls your way in their reckless style. you shut up and give in? by the time you realise you have hooted a million times to these hooligans,and then you have commited an offence.

chi20
#4 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 7:08:00 AM

Does this noise ban also apply to mosques?

There is one in the army barracks on Waiyaki Way which is soooooo frustrating!

#5 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 7:26:00 AM

The rules are formally known as THE ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT AND COORDINATION (NOISE AND EXCESSIVE VIBRATION POLLUTION) (CONTROL) REGULATIONS,2009

You can get a full copy here: http://www.nema.go.ke/in...p;gid=149&Itemid=35

Are they a priority?
YES - there are very many houses and buildings that have been ruined by excessive vibrations arising from machinery operated in neighbouring premises. The rules set out the limits and penalties for those found in default.

Exemptions:.
These Regulations shall not apply to
(a) the emission of noise for the purpose of alerting persons to the existence of an emergency;
(b) the emission of noise in the performance of emergency response;
(c) the emission of noise in connection with the protection of the health and safety of
residents or their property during emergency conditions;
(d) warning devices necessary for the protection of public safety,such as police,fire and ambulance sirens,and train horns; or
(e) Parades and national celebrations.

Therefore,Mosques are not exempt.

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
#6 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 7:28:00 AM

What about those 'tundas' from the lake who am made to understand are fond of wailing during hummering process????One senior SKerians was treated to a sleepless night by one such tunda and he/she thought of caning the hell out of them...I think 30 metres is too long a distance; it should be kitu like 5 meters.

The Hague...or Local Triburnal ama TJRC.

#7 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 7:31:00 AM

@Chi 20:

Regulation 12 (2) states: No person shall at any time sound the horn or other warning device of a vehicle except when necessary to prevent an accident or an incident.

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
#8 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 7:35:00 AM

The mosque on Waiyaki Way was busy wailing away at 5 am this morning!

There are special laws in Kenya for muslims,they have greater rights than the rest of us

Kamaa
#9 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 7:39:00 AM

but i highly doubt if our youth will really adhere to them...

just wait for a weekend and you will know what i mean...

When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly....
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
#10 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 7:52:00 AM

If you find your local mosque annoying,file a complaint with NEMA; they will send investigators with noise meters; if the noise exceeds the legal limits,the mosque will be ordered to reduce it; if it doesn't,they will be taken to court.

So,don't just say that they are given special treatment; got right ahead and report them to the authorities.

#11 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 7:57:00 AM

This law will be impossible to implement especially in areas where sporting events are taking place.

And the imams in mosques?...............This is a no-brainer. Mwadhini ni lazima aadhini.

#12 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 8:02:00 AM

@ Mukiha..............what Kularaha is talking about is not about general noise from the mosque but rather an Imam summoning his flock for prayers................Anybody living several kilometres from a mosque knows the effect of this especially in the morning when sleep is at its sweetest.

Kamaa
#13 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 8:09:00 AM

what about car alarms...?

albeit they protect from theft some motorist just don't respond to them with the urgency that they deserve...

at the end of the day,they make more nuisance than the imams summoning their worshipers!

When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly....
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
Jangwa la Jangili
#14 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 8:11:00 AM

muslims have to make a decision. do they want kadhis courts in the constitution or do they want to make noise. it is either or. you cant have your cake and eat it.

Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
Djinn
#15 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 8:11:00 AM

its not Imam - its Muezzin (pron. muathin). I see no harm with the call to prayer - ironically as a Christian I see A LOT of harm in the racket coming from some churches and street preachers - THAT is disturbing and pretty annoying. Also those pirate music shops along river road and tom mboya street - what a din! Then of course the matatus...in a way Michuki is still tackling the transport sector - the noise inside the matatus and the hustling by touts.

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
Jangwa la Jangili
#16 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 8:21:00 AM

djinn - hivyo ndiyo twasema. christian churches and street preachers are also subject to this law from now henceforth. the law will have to be applied across all faiths.

Djinn
#17 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 8:28:00 AM

@Jangili - it has NEVER been the norm for Christian worship to blare music over 2000W speakers and have cacophonous crusades within estates in the evenings - THAT is noise pollution. The Muezzin calling faithful to prayer has been done for hundreds of years and is done in a melodious fashion (pls see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Muezzin). Muslims do not have noisy crusades,rock gospel music,etc - it is a religion that 'pollutes less' in terms of noise...

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
Jangwa la Jangili
#18 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 8:34:00 AM

@djinn - if it disturbs my sleep and i can hear it clearly from a distance of over 30 metres yet i am not interested in attending madrassa or whatever it is called,believe me it is noise. whether it is at the mosque,temple,church,jeevanjee,uhuru park...it is noise pollution. we are agreed on the churches though.

#19 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 8:35:00 AM

Djinn,when the mosque wakes my kids at 5 am,believe you me it IS NOT melodious in any way!

#20 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 8:40:00 AM

@Djinn

I bet what @Jangili is saying is that,whether its a norm or not,it is still noise. Christians as well as muslim should seek other ways of calling their faithfuls to prayer. for example,if the Gong! Gong! Gong of the Catholics is noise even after being used for centuries and in a systematic way,so is any other..... This is not about which religion is producing the noise and for how long it has - it is whether it disturbs anyone... the fact that people have not complained all these years is because there hasnt been a law governing such pollution.

If you live near a mosque you can understand it is a nuisance especially when you do not need to wake up at 5am or have a small baby.... and worse,if you live in one of those estates where churches are allowed in unfinished residential flats!!!

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.