17 Pages<1234>»
Free to Air TV channels in Kenya
mzeiya411
#21 Posted : Thursday, September 19, 2013 7:19:41 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
[quote=Olu]

See the amazing things guys are achieving with it here

Fantastic link, pleasantly surprised Kenya has a strong FTA community Applause Applause
#22 Posted : Thursday, September 19, 2013 9:46:36 PM

mzeiya411 wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
[quote=Olu]

See the amazing things guys are achieving with it here

Fantastic link, pleasantly surprised Kenya has a strong FTA community Applause Applause

Glad you appreciate, I am a member too. And the community keeps growing day by day.
kollabo
#23 Posted : Friday, September 20, 2013 8:32:24 AM

I hear there is a decoder that catches Ethiopian TV which televises all EPL/La Liga games? Anyone know of this?
#24 Posted : Saturday, September 21, 2013 3:37:03 AM

kollabo wrote:
I hear there is a decoder that catches Ethiopian TV which televises all EPL/La Liga games? Anyone know of this?

You heard right. Any kawaida fta satellite decoder will do that. The tv station you allude to must be Tv Oromiyaa, right? You may also get your EPL on the IRIB channels available on Arabsat 5C.
#25 Posted : Saturday, September 21, 2013 1:01:06 PM

I have seen several diy post about installing the free to air satellite, I would like to take this up as a project, a small challenge that will probably keep me busy for the time being.

where in Nairobi can I get the needed equipments, i.e the right size dish, decoder and the other tu gadgets for checking signal strength and stuff.
kollabo
#26 Posted : Saturday, September 21, 2013 7:21:30 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
kollabo wrote:

You heard right. Any kawaida fta satellite decoder will do that. The tv station you allude to must be Tv Oromiyaa, right? You may also get your EPL on the IRIB channels available on Arabsat 5C.

@Rankaz how can I get this?
#27 Posted : Saturday, September 21, 2013 7:47:11 PM

I have seen several diy post about installing the free to air satellite, I would like to take this up as a project, a small challenge that will probably keep me busy for the time being.

where in Nairobi can I get the needed equipments, i.e the right size dish, decoder and the other tu gadgets for checking signal strength and stuff.

Walk around the general neighborhood of Luthuli Avenue and get into shops such as Riwara, Spikes Spares and Electronics, Mwalimu Communications, Alpha Sounds, etc.

In general, you'd require;
i. Decoder. Strong SRT-4922HD currently going for around 6.5-7k.
ii. Satellite dish. Cost depends on type (whether prime focus or offset) and size.
iii. C-band and Ku-band LNBs. Different brands exist, make sure you buy one right for your dish. In general, the feedhorns for offset and prime-focus type lnbs are different.
iv. Cable. Always aim at grade RG6 cable and above. In general, cable run from lnb to decoder should not exceed 30m or else an in-line amplifier will be necessary. Approx cable cost is 35-45bob/m.
v. DiSEqC switch, generally costing 1-1.5k.
vi. F-connectors. Usually cost around 10bob each.

If you want a satellite signal finder/metre, please go for one that is at least able to decode DVB-S2 signals of at least 32APSK. Unfortunately, such are not available in Nairobi (a good example being SatLink WS-6918P) and one would have to import, preferrably from China, at a general cost of at least US $ 300. Have a look here for general idea on prices.

All the best pal.
#28 Posted : Saturday, September 21, 2013 10:23:00 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:

Walk around the general neighborhood of Luthuli Avenue and get into shops such as Riwara, Spikes Spares and Electronics, Mwalimu Communications, Alpha Sounds, etc.

ii. Satellite dish. Cost depends on type (whether prime focus or offset) and size.
iii. C-band and Ku-band LNBs. Different brands exist, make sure you buy one right for your dish. In general, the feedhorns for offset and prime-focus type lnbs are different.
iv. Cable. Always aim at grade RG6 cable and above. In general, cable run from lnb to decoder should not exceed 30m or else an in-line amplifier will be necessary. Approx cable cost is 35-45bob/m.

If you want a satellite signal finder/metre, please go for one that is at least able to decode DVB-S2 signals of at least 32APSK. Unfortunately, such are not available in Nairobi (a good example being SatLink WS-6918P) and one would have to import, preferrably from China, at a general cost of at least US $ 300. Have a look here for general idea on prices.

All the best pal.

Thanks for the info, I will post my progress - planning on getting the stuff within the week and try the setup over the weekend.
I will have to fiddle about without the metre for now.
#29 Posted : Sunday, September 22, 2013 12:43:26 AM

kollabo wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
kollabo wrote:

@Rankaz how can I get this?

Just check my reply above.
mwasjd
#30 Posted : Wednesday, September 25, 2013 1:23:40 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
kollabo wrote:

Rankaz13, I use openbox but the neighbourhood (apartment block) dish only shikas intelsat 36 E. Do I need to get a different dish for Arabsat 5C which is 20E?
#31 Posted : Wednesday, September 25, 2013 8:14:17 PM

mwasjd wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
kollabo wrote:

Rankaz13, I use openbox but the neighbourhood (apartment block) dish only shikas intelsat 36 E. Do I need to get a different dish for Arabsat 5C which is 20E?

What kind of dish (offset or prime focus) is it and what is its size? If it's at least 180cm prime focus, you can have the Arabsat as focal LNB and offset the 36A/B LNB, reason being that the latter has a very strong signal that is very easily received locally. You may check out the beams on satbeams.com
#32 Posted : Monday, October 14, 2013 10:42:05 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:

All the best pal.

Ahsante sana, managed to complete the set up with a 90cm offset dish, srt 4922 receiver and inverto single lnb, currently pointed to the 7w nilesats.
holycow
#33 Posted : Monday, October 14, 2013 1:49:32 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:

Ahsante sana, managed to complete the set up with a 90cm offset dish, srt 4922 receiver and inverto single lnb, currently pointed to the 7w nilesats.

From Lyngsat charts, getting Nilesat 7W from Kenya on Ku band looks a challenge or did you mean 7E and Astra 4A?

#34 Posted : Monday, October 14, 2013 2:07:51 PM

holycow wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:

From Lyngsat charts, getting Nilesat 7W from Kenya on Ku band looks a challenge or did you mean 7E and Astra 4A?

nops,
Hii hapa

at least I can get the MENA (Ku band), the middle east has proved hard for now - but I have a feeling if I tried with a 120cm dish I might get.

but for now with a 90cm offset I get the the mbc channels, fox and fox movies, kanal4, bahrain sports 1,2 , ad sports (though ina break kiasi), jsc sports 1,2. the others are mostly channels in arabic.
holycow
#35 Posted : Monday, October 14, 2013 2:34:37 PM

holycow wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:

nops,
Hii hapa

at least I can get the MENA (Ku band), the middle east has proved hard for now - but I have a feeling if I tried with a 120cm dish I might get.

but for now with a 90cm offset I get the the mbc channels, fox and fox movies, kanal4, bahrain sports 1,2 , ad sports (though ina break kiasi), jsc sports 1,2. the others are mostly channels in arabic.

I only get the MBC1, guess i have to go much much lower, i use a 90cm offset dish. I had once received the BBC Arabic channel but upon rescanning, i lost it, so i assumed it was a transponder error. Will scan preferably in the weekend.
ekagwamba
#36 Posted : Monday, October 14, 2013 3:37:11 PM

do you get local channels as well
#37 Posted : Monday, October 14, 2013 9:33:44 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:

All the best pal.

You're most welcome pal. Are you able to get the CNN/Bloomberg tp (11977v) and the EuroNews tp (12015v)?
#38 Posted : Monday, October 14, 2013 9:39:06 PM

holycow wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:

Nope, I meant NileSat 201 @ 7West and EutelSat 7 West A @ 7.3West. We're able to receive them as fringe reception, which means one must deploy the best equipment in terms of cable quality, LNB type and dish size.

Ni vile sijui kuweka mbisha hapa ningekuwekea ya set-up yangu.
#39 Posted : Monday, October 14, 2013 9:45:30 PM

holycow wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:

nops,
Hii hapa

I only get the MBC1, guess i have to go much much lower, i use a 90cm offset dish. I had once received the BBC Arabic channel but upon rescanning, i lost it, so i assumed it was a transponder error. Will scan preferably in the weekend.

As I've hinted above, what you need in order to pull in all the TPs is a bigger dish, preferably a 120-130cm offset or 180cm prime-focus dish. The smaller dishes will not get you all the tps and signal is unstable e.g during rainy or cloudy weather. Use a good quality LNB too such as EuroStar ESKD QP4 Gold, Samson, StarGold Fuji or Samson.

All the best.
#40 Posted : Tuesday, October 15, 2013 9:44:54 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:

All the best pal.

You're most welcome pal. Are you able to get the CNN/Bloomberg tp (11977v) and the EuroNews tp (12015v)?

no, those two tps proved hard to get - I got a flicker of green on (11977v) but could not get it at a stable point, guess i will need a bigger dish than my 90cm