wazua Sat, Jul 4, 2026

Output of current Parliament is wanting
The Clown
#1 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 10:28:26 AM

Am I the only one who is concerned by the quality of debate, oversight and legislation coming out of the two Houses of Parliament?

The debates have degenerated into shouting matches as alluded to by Phillip Ochieng in the SN and there's hardly any decorum.

It also seems that nobody really bothers to scrutinize the bills and motions brought before the National Assembly.

The fact that there are very many new faces in Parliament may account for this behaviour. Even the Speaker of the NA appears to be suffering from the same disease. For the amount of money we spend on these guys, what we're getting is below the standard required.

Other examples include:

Speaker of the NA ordering the media out of the media room.

Passing the VAT Bill without interrogating its effects on the people who voted them into office, then coming back to try and amend law (very difficult).

Botched 'vetting' of Cabinet and Principal Secretaries.

Summoning the JSC and Mrs. Gladys Shollei to appear before them (separation of powers?)

Newbie MPs skipping induction to attend WSR Hague session and ending up with egg on their faces when DP came back and abandoned them in the Dutch city.
#2 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 10:58:54 AM

First, I like the fact that you correctly noted that we have 2 houses of parliament. The senate and the national assembly. Thus the phrase 'Parliament and Senate' is wrong.

Now to the issue...we do have new MPs. The majority in the expanded national assembly. That could be a reason. Then the constitutional change that removed the executive from parliament. No question time to Ministers and their assistants. Powerful committees step in. Confusion over the role of chairmen vis a vis Secretaries etc.

Senate. We probably don't need it as currently constituted.This should probably meet on a need basis. These fellows are very idle mpaka they're now thinking of taxing harambees. My reading of the constitution is that they're wrong. Their work is DEVOLUTION Legislation not general law making.

Did we make a mistake of passing the katiba? We will need to amend it as we move on I'm sure.

Then the issue of tyranny. Fellows just being told by Duale 'ni hivi' and they follow. The other side isn't much different.
Mr. Sulu
#3 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 11:07:55 AM

A fish rots from the head down. When an organization or state fails, it is the leadership that is the root cause. It is no secret that the current speaker is a featherweight compared to his predecessor. As if that is not enough, majority and minority leaders are bure kabisa.
#4 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 11:13:03 AM

356 is a very huge number for the NA mpaka my friend Ken Obura told me it's very difficult to get noticed the more reason he took on Nyong'o for the ODM sec Gen!!!
The Clown
#5 Posted : Thursday, September 19, 2013 12:36:42 PM

I do agree with some of the other issues brought up here.

One, the very large number of MPs and Senators is causing all sorts of problems in Parliament.

I'm also starting to agree with those who say that removing the Executive from parliament wasn't the correct move. There's a vacuum there and the MPigs have pounced and are making a killing from the numerous committee sittings.

Lolest, I think we made a mistake to pass the katiba in its current form. It has too many omissions and inconsistencies that cannot be dealt with in one referendum or Bill.
#6 Posted : Thursday, September 19, 2013 12:43:45 PM

This Mps are too many for nothing.....I have always thought,why not one parliamentarian per county plus the nominated ones.I have three Mpigs and i can only recognise one.Pray
MKWASI
#7 Posted : Thursday, September 19, 2013 1:54:26 PM

I'm at a loss telling who is who in our Parliament.....They are too many, they hardly take committee work seriously the same cascades to our representatives in the counties. I'm told the COE draft constitution document that was debated and watered down in Naivasha had envisages 14 Counties....No wonder going forward, we must prepare ourselves for higher taxes....
#8 Posted : Thursday, September 19, 2013 2:41:18 PM

You voted for them get used to it.
#9 Posted : Thursday, September 19, 2013 2:54:58 PM

Thanks goodness I EMPHATICALLY voted NO and haven't regretted doing so.

The Clown
#10 Posted : Thursday, September 19, 2013 3:36:19 PM

Was in 'callege' at the time of the referendum but I was in solidarity with the 'NO' camp. Sadly, this constitution affects all of us regardless of our political affiliation; then or now.

Hii document iko na shida nyingi sana but anything conceived by the human mind and made by human hands can be altered.