Sports
UEFA Champions League 2013/14
@Smano....We've been there before and still managed to get a point. Anyway we now only need to secure 7 points from our three home games and we are through to the knock-out stage. I wouldn't be surprised if both Napoli and Dortmund lost to Marseille, they are not as easy as most people think....before Walcott scores i was actually willing to settle for a point. Like i said this is the CL, all that matters is form and experience the rest ni kelele tu. Most of these so called top contenders might be kicked out in the group stages.
Btw last night's win over Marseille was a club record 10th straight away win in all competitions.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
@TAZ Arsenal ve no problem winning away matches. Real challenge will be at Emirates where the pressure on the young lads is too much. Recall losses to Schalke, Bayern and recently to A.villa? Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
TAZ wrote:@Smano....We've been there before and still managed to get a point. Anyway we now only need to secure 7 points from our three home games and we are through to the knock-out stage. I wouldn't be surprised if both Napoli and Dortmund lost to Marseille, they are not as easy as most people think....before Walcott scores i was actually willing to settle for a point. Like i said this is the CL, all that matters is form and experience the rest ni kelele tu. Most of these so called top contenders might be kicked out in the group stages.
Btw last night's win over Marseille was a club record 10th straight away win in all competitions.
Not atomatic my friend! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
McReggae wrote:TAZ wrote:@Smano....We've been there before and still managed to get a point. Anyway we now only need to secure 7 points from our three home games and we are through to the knock-out stage. I wouldn't be surprised if both Napoli and Dortmund lost to Marseille, they are not as easy as most people think....before Walcott scores i was actually willing to settle for a point. Like i said this is the CL, all that matters is form and experience the rest ni kelele tu. Most of these so called top contenders might be kicked out in the group stages.
Not atomatic my friend! 10 points is the magic number, ukipata hizo you are through. It doesn't not guarantee progression but it puts you in a very strong position. Pressure is now on Dortmund and Napoli to win some of their away matches, the Marseille game was a must win for us. @ kaka2za......What "young lads" are you talking about, Arsenal is no longer a team of inexperienced players. Last season Bayern were just too strong for us at home while the defeat against Schalke was blamed on the wayward positioning of Andre Santos who really was our weakest link kama kawaida.....Wenger was also suspended for that match. Actually that was Arsenal's first defeat in the CL to a non-English side at home since 2003, our home record in the CL has always been impressive. As for A. Villa well everything was going according to plan until the ref decided to make some ridiculous calls, 2 controversial penalties and a red card. I'm not saying Emirates is a fortress but it will take something really special from those three teams to get maximum points against us. Don't also forget that at the moment we are playing with an injury-depleted squad (Carzola, Podolski, Arteta, Ox, Rosicky, etc) so the team will only get better as some of our top players recover.
TAZ wrote:McReggae wrote:TAZ wrote:@Smano....We've been there before and still managed to get a point. Anyway we now only need to secure 7 points from our three home games and we are through to the knock-out stage. I wouldn't be surprised if both Napoli and Dortmund lost to Marseille, they are not as easy as most people think....before Walcott scores i was actually willing to settle for a point. Like i said this is the CL, all that matters is form and experience the rest ni kelele tu. Most of these so called top contenders might be kicked out in the group stages.
Not atomatic my friend! 10 points is the magic number, ukipata hizo you are through. Pressure is now on Dortmund and Napoli to win some of their away matches, the Marseille game was a must win for us. No need for long arguements over that, just last season: Group H Man Utd 6 4 0 2 9 6 +3 12 Galatasaray 6 3 1 2 7 6 +1 10 CFR Cluj 6 3 1 2 9 7 +2 10 Braga 6 1 0 5 7 13 −6 3 Group E Juventus 6 3 3 0 12 4 +8 12 Shakhtar Donetsk 6 3 1 2 12 8 +4 10 Chelsea 6 3 1 2 16 10 +6 10 Nordsjælland ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
@ Mc Reggae.....I didn't mean to state that you'll definitely go through but as already stated by Wenger, on average you need 10 pts to qualify for the knock-out stage. Arsenal have just gained 3 valuable points away from home, if we get at least 7 points at home then it means Dortmund and Napoli would have to win all their home matches and get all 3 points away to Marseille to finish on top of Arsenal. Its not impossible but highly unlikely, like i said the French team are no push-overs....they thrashed Dortmund home and away 2 season's back.
@ TAZ. Akpom 17 yrs, Zalalem 16 years, Sanogo 19 yrs, Ox 20, Wilshere 21 yrs. Experienced? Show me another team with more babies in the first team. Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
kaka2za wrote:@ TAZ. Akpom 17 yrs, Zalalem 16 years, Sanogo 19 yrs, Ox 20, Wilshere 21 yrs. Experienced? Show me another team with more babies in the first team. Sasa wewe nani alikwambia those three players are first team players, the fact that they were named in our CL squad doesn't mean they'll play any crucial part. The other two players are full England internationals who have now played so many PL & CL matches, what other experience do they need.
TAZ wrote:@ Mc Reggae.....I didn't mean to state that you'll definitely go through but as already stated by Wenger, on average you need 10 pts to qualify for the knock-out stage. Arsenal have just gained 3 valuable points away from home, if we get at least 7 points at home then it means Dortmund and Napoli would have to win all their home matches and get all 3 points away to Marseille to finish on top of Arsenal. Its not impossible but highly unlikely, like i said the French team are no push-overs....they thrashed Dortmund home and away 2 season's back. ....so you have ammended your post, what you wrote can be seen in my post.....you didn't talk of 'puts you in a strong position' .....honesty my broda!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
McReggae wrote:TAZ wrote:@ Mc Reggae.....I didn't mean to state that you'll definitely go through but as already stated by Wenger, on average you need 10 pts to qualify for the knock-out stage. Arsenal have just gained 3 valuable points away from home, if we get at least 7 points at home then it means Dortmund and Napoli would have to win all their home matches and get all 3 points away to Marseille to finish on top of Arsenal. Its not impossible but highly unlikely, like i said the French team are no push-overs....they thrashed Dortmund home and away 2 season's back. ....so you have ammended your post, what you wrote can be seen in my post.....you didn't talk of 'puts you in a strong position' .....honesty my broda!!! I had not seen your post, just decided to ammend ndio tukuwe on the same page. All i meant to say was that, what we need is 7 pts from our 3 home games and we are through. That's the average number of points required to progress especially if you've won a game away from home. Do you dispute what i mentioned earlier on Dortmund and Napoli's chances of progression?
@TAZ I am sure you know each team has s squad of first team (not starting eleven) and the reserves. Who replaced G-rude on Sato? How did Zalalem get injured? Was he training with reserves? Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
TAZ wrote:McReggae wrote:TAZ wrote:@ Mc Reggae.....I didn't mean to state that you'll definitely go through but as already stated by Wenger, on average you need 10 pts to qualify for the knock-out stage. Arsenal have just gained 3 valuable points away from home, if we get at least 7 points at home then it means Dortmund and Napoli would have to win all their home matches and get all 3 points away to Marseille to finish on top of Arsenal. Its not impossible but highly unlikely, like i said the French team are no push-overs....they thrashed Dortmund home and away 2 season's back. ....so you have ammended your post, what you wrote can be seen in my post.....you didn't talk of 'puts you in a strong position' .....honesty my broda!!! I had not seen your post, just decided to ammend ndio tukuwe on the same page. All i meant to say was that, what we need is 7 pts from our 3 home games and we are through. That's the average number of points required to progress especially if you've won a game away from home. Do you dispute what i mentioned earlier on Dortmund and Napoli's chances of progression? Mine was a simple reaction to your 1st post nikasema it's not automatic na wewe sasa ukakuja na story miiingi!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
kaka2za wrote:@TAZ I am sure you know each team has s squad of first team (not starting eleven) and the reserves. Who replaced G-rude on Sato? How did Zalalem get injured? Was he training with reserves? That's where you are wrong, they are NOT first team players, they are usually called upon to give the team some options on the bench when certain key players get injured or to gain experience kiasi. They play in the Barclays Under 21 Premier League each week. Zelalem & Akpom were promoted when Ox and Poldi got injured but has any of them made any meaningful contribution so far....Akpom replaced Giroud in the 90th minute on Sato, Sanogo has so far not played for more than 10 min. If the squad remains they way it is i don't expect any of them to start a CL game so i really don't get it when you say "the pressure on the young lads" will be too much at the Emirates. Besides Wenger confirmed that incase Giroud got injured Walcott would play as a forward but even so that doesn't mean you shouldn't have players on the bench just because they are young.
Arsenal's first real test of the season today, though Higuain and Albiol face late fitness tests. Spurs should have been the first real test for Arsenal but seems like Spurs hadn't gelled well at the time. For me this is the stand out match today, Ajax vs Milan is a match of teams with a glorious past but that's it. Celtic should look to capitalize on Barca's defensive frailties, only Pique and Alvez are fit and Messi is absent but then again that has never stopped Barca BEER IS LIVING PROOF THAT GOD LOVES US AND WANTS US TO BE HAPPY!
In the CL curtain raiser tonight the little known Austria Wien has managed an upset by getting a point at the backyard of money bags Zenith Petersburg. Bloody football. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
What a goal to open his account? Take a bow Ozil! "The chief danger in life is that you may take too many precautions" - Alfred adler
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/17/2010 Posts: 1,163 Location: Sudan
The armoury is empty. all the big guns are out at the Emirates and Napoli is facing the barrel. Artillery pieces being delivered as and when the queen needs them. So far 2-0 and only 15mins gone. "Peace is our profession, War is our business" ...Unknown
smano wrote:Arsenal's first real test of the season today, though Higuain and Albiol face late fitness tests. Spurs should have been the first real test for Arsenal but seems like Spurs hadn't gelled well at the time.
For me this is the stand out match today, Ajax vs Milan is a match of teams with a glorious past but that's it. Celtic should look to capitalize on Barca's defensive frailties, only Pique and Alvez are fit and Messi is absent but then again that has never stopped Barca Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
Ahem ahem... possunt quia posse videntur
smano wrote:I was also surprised the way Barca have not been mentioned as being possible winners, though if you watched the match against Sevilla the other day and see how they were helped to that last gasp 3-2 win (past added time) then you can see why they're no longer viewed as unbeatable.
I honestly think Bayern have what it takes to be the first to retain the title in the CL era, both defensively and offensively.
@Taz that was Dortmund's first foray into the CL after some years in the wilderness. People thought they've lost the edge after losing Goetze but Mkhitaryan has fitted seamlessly and they look stronger than last season!(5 wins in 5 in Bundesliga. Napoli are also strong despite Cavani's exit so probably the reason most of the pundits think Arsenal could be edged out, and I tend to agree with them. Of course since it is your team huwezi ona hivyo.
Real are always strong offensively but weak at the back. Diego Lopez single handedly earned them a point at Villareal over the weekend.
I think Juve will be stronger this season, last season they met an unstoppable Bayern who just wouldn't let them play.
For me it is too early to make predictions. CL is not just about being the best, a little bit of luck or favourtism goes a long way and a bad draw can see a very good team exit early. Wacha tumalize group stages kwanza. aka KELELE!!!! Arsenal 2-0 Napoli
Sports
UEFA Champions League 2013/14