wazua Thu, Dec 4, 2025

Monetary Contribution towards Wedding...Pain or Persecution.
meow
#1 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 10:00:00 AM

Its the month I dread most and I cant help aswering the numerous phone calls and sms from long time friends I thought were lost for ever! Its all about people and colleagues pursuing u relentlessly to help them wed their so called sweet luvs.Is this a sham or an old skul tradition whose tym of extinction was supposed to be yesterday?Why should u help someone wed?Is it an emergency to wed?
#2 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 10:25:00 AM

Those things u cant understand leave to God.

The Hague...or Local Triburnal ama TJRC.

Scar
#3 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 10:28:00 AM

You are nt alone,kwanza somebody forces u to be a cmtee member then goes ahead and dictates the amount u guys shld raise and before u know it u r financing the whole wedding!

To be or not to be is the question
to be or not to be remains the question
waswa
#4 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 10:58:00 AM

i've never believed in weddings..and i will not contribute a cent to help sumbody wed..if he feels that showy(which i believe weddings are for-showing off) to do a wedding,let him/her take a Sacco loan..ati mimi nimsaidie?aende huko..

rather cry inside a lamborgini,than laugh inside a Startlet
#5 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 11:05:00 AM

@waswa........eish,thats so harsh of u.Be considerate.Old habits die hard.

Ati achukue sacco loan?For showing off?

But Ican comfortably show off at the DCs office with a whooooooooping Kes. 2800.

Sigiriri
#6 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 11:38:00 AM

Pain,definitely a pain.

In my humble opinion,if you cant afford something,please dont beg to get/do it. Why do we think weddin ceremonies are excemptions? It is begging whatever name you give it. Imagine begging to get wife?!!!?!!

In life one must do some thing for himself:

Get an education
choose a wife
Get the wife under ur roof
impregnate her
cater for maternity and other bills
cater for ur own funeral

Most of all the other things in life,pple can/will do for you,lakini hizi,tafadhali do for yourself. Hata DC wedding ni wedding pia. Marrying traditionally ni wedding pia.

Baraka za Mungu ni za Ajabu
Pablo
#7 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 11:45:00 AM

For me its the opposite. I take great exception if one of my close friends does a wedding and doesnt call me for his committee.

I say this because when I was doing my wedding,my close friends support almost overwhelmed me. On their own free will they gave me enough to cater for 75% of my wedding budget!!!. That is why i take offense now that I have the uwezo and someone (esp. if they were in my committee) not to call me up.

Want to be a millionaire.... plant a million cabbages and sell them at a bob...
Burning Spear
#8 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 11:46:00 AM

@miau

Last year in October,I received 4 calls from 4 different people and all were planning to wed their loved ones in December of that year.
-Person No. 1 was my relative.
-Person No. 2 was my high school class mate and cant tell where he got my number from.
-Person No. 3 a work mate and very closs associate.
-Person No. 4 a friend we regulary swallow together.

I was torn between the four and here was my badly damaged payslip coz of a plot loan I was servicing.

As much as weddings are good,I think they should be regulated.

For me,when the time will come,I will not do a ceremonial wedding but the AG one if all we want is a certificate,if church one,our church Roman catholic allows a wedding from a minimum of 4 people and thats what I will do.

Disclaimer : This is my opinion and not a recommendation.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
#9 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 11:59:00 AM

Sharp pain,should be dodged at all cost. ha ha ha ha ha haaaaaa..............

bigstuff
#10 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 12:47:00 PM

Think others is total exploitation,...we once contributed to a former college mate,a month didnt isha before she enrolled for her masters degree,n mark u it was not a scholarship
so who funded this?????
#11 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 12:50:00 PM

Its like calling a bash and asking friends and colleagues to contribute towards cost.

Pure rip-off.

Bobb
#12 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 1:44:00 PM

I dont know what to say,I was the chairman and the best man. One year down the line they have separated Kabisa. Better ningenunulia watoto wangu nguo na hizo pesa.

BOBB
wangura
#13 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 2:08:00 PM

I think if one cannot afford it,do not do it! period! I only contribute to emergencies e.g. hospital bills,education fundraisers etc. People need to learn to live within your means in this country
#14 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 2:22:00 PM

@wangura.....its better to live within your means.But with the crop of Nairobians chics,u have to live within their means.Ole u when their means is beyond your reach.

Chaka
#15 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 2:53:00 PM

@bobb,

Since you were the best man,you should try and reconcile the couple.
#16 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 3:53:00 PM

Wedding committees and contributions attached are voluntary. If you feel it’s a rip off simply don’t attend / contribute. Personally I contribute to my close friends/ relatives and consider the contributions as future investments.

Forgive your enemies but never forget their names…
Mkimwa
#17 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 4:02:00 PM

This is a pain..

Over the last 7 months,i have been invited to 8 committees. In one commitee they decided a figure of 8K for everyone..

I can think of 64 better ways of spending my 64K (which i dont even have).

Halafu another one called for a committee for the 'ruracio'.. i contributed knowing it was for the wedding,now,he invites me again for the wedding committee. havent responded yet. will never respond.
so i have vowed.. al be there but not financially. hiyo siwezimek. nitasaidia.. ushering.. gari..security lakini pesa.. sina!
#18 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 6:07:00 PM

As someone said,no one is forcing you to contribute. If you're against it then keep off and stop complaining

RO
#19 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 6:26:00 PM

Wedding committees are just a way of getting things for free. You do not want to fund the expensive wedding but want it anyway.

I am not hijacking the thread :) but of late I am finding all kinds of giving (education,hospital bills etc) enable laziness and lack of proper financial planning. Maybe we should just drop this african 'community' kind of living and embrace 'individualism' - we might just actually be able to reduce poverty.

Disguised Opportunity?
#20 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 5:58:00 AM

@zzze123...future investment in what?to u this is like buying some shares?Please look further;its only investment if u have not wed(ded) and hope that they in turn will contribute towards your course,otherwise its a painful rip-off.If u cant finance a wedding,keep off and live your life.Invite pals to come over and witness and bless u>kwani whats more than blessing?????