wazua Thu, Dec 4, 2025

Monetary Contribution towards Wedding...Pain or Persecution.
gogeta
#21 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 7:07:00 AM

i agree with the person who said weddings are just another show-off thing.why would you budget for somthing you dont have-in this case a wedding beyond your earnings? if one wants a big wedding,a 5 year savings plan would be a good idea or better yet go get a sacco loan then pay with the money you will get from the wedding gifts.

a bigger rip-off are the dowry stuff...i mean this is a gal one wants to make his wife so why should you ask for help from buddies i mean let them support you if they can but dont go asking for it..!!

A little Blindness is necessary when you undertake Risk.
Think the unthinkable but wear a dark suit
#22 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 7:13:00 AM

........so many kenyans not planning to wed soon....huh!!!!

I am yet to find anybody who has ever been forced to pay!!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
#23 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 7:22:00 AM

@mc.....'say u r not planning to wed soon if u cant get the support from pals'

U will be surprised sooner than later when u will be invited for a wedding party to celebrate and witness;but not to help in monetary contribution.

The BIG Q is;why should someone help u do a wedding.especially during this tough economic period of our lifetime?

The Hague...or Local Triburnal ama TJRC.

tamtam
#24 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 7:30:00 AM

Before the wedding committee assembles there is already a budget which needs to be finances. I think this has bn copied from govt (looking for money to finance a budget)

Precious
The shifts of Fortune test the reliability of friends
#25 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 8:10:00 AM

Impunity wacha wewe,that will not happen soon,si najua hivo!!!!

Picture this,you refuse to be part of a wedding committee of any of your friends or relatives and then at some point in time you will need to clear massive hospital bills which will then be crirical.......you start calling your friends and relatives and your guesse is as well as mine,kwani mbona wewe unakuwa mgonjwa when you dint have enough money to clear your hospital bills.......these things are embedded and related,wembe utakuwa ni ule ule!!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
semasema
#26 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 8:15:00 AM

McReggae,umeongea kwa wingi wa busara. Mtu alazimishwi walakini kuna manufaa kwako kusaidia.
#27 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 8:25:00 AM

@mc.......I will support any of my pals and 'strangers' in serious need to clear hospital bill or seek further medical assistance;I will even go further to buy pampers for a pal's new kid;I can also assist him pay the school fees when a fundraising party is organised.

But I will be highly (re-read HIGHLY) relactant to contribute more than 5 cent to help him/her wed.WHY???There is no justification at all.Pure exploitation of poor me...

The Hague...or Local Triburnal ama TJRC.

#28 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 8:33:00 AM

It's actually something worth thinking about. I know several couples who've planned small weddings to fit their means only for them to fall out with many friends and relatives who were not invited. Maybe it's best to get an Ag's certificate to legalize the union then budget for a wedding party much later. I think we're still stuck in an old mind set

#29 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 8:33:00 AM

It's actually something worth thinking about. I know several couples who've planned small weddings to fit their means only for them to fall out with many friends and relatives who were not invited. Maybe it's best to get an Ag's certificate to legalize the union then budget for a wedding party much later. I think we're still stuck in an old mind set

#30 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 8:33:00 AM

Impunity........most people commenting here are assumming that it is only them who will be asked to contribute............flip the coin!!!!!

mukene
#31 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 8:57:00 AM

the whole idea is just a rip off!! why cant people use what they have? I financed my wedding from my pocket. I never asked anyone for a cent because if they help you marry will they maintain the wife for you??????. Its not about money coz I didnt spend much ...( ok I know thats relative..) but its possible to do a simple wedding with 100K.

I am in one committee now and they are even calling you to pay the pledges. its like a debt.. Its meant to be voluntary.

Hi there!
#32 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 9:22:00 AM

I have a circle of close friends who would offend me if they didn't inform me they were planning a wedding,In this group I will offer to help with something,say like hire/provide a car to carry his pops during the ceremony etc.

Outside this group,I really would rather nobody asked me to contribute to a wedding,I have insurance to pay my hosi bills etc,so I don't see the investment point here.

When asked by a colleagues,acquintances and pub friends for mchango for whatever causes,I am always happy to part with a lose 200 to 1,000,no strings. I also don't join their committees.

I've noticed the youth in particular coming in to a workplace with a completely outsized notion of their own value and importance... just a thinly-veiled arrogance. May be the credit crunch induced recession is whats needed to remind us all about the value of hard work.... By Anonymous
Mainat
#33 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 9:28:00 AM

Classic example,a pal invited me to be in his brother-in-law's wedding committee. 2nd meeting,dude chomoa's a budget of 1metre which included everything ata his and her's underwear. I discovered I had some outstanding 'work' on my house and dropped out of the committee.

Lets not mix needs and wants. A wedding is something that should pay for from your pocket unless you want others to help you with other 'services' once you are married.

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba