school boy in Murang'a generates electricity
maligumu
#21 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 1:07:52 PM

InnovateGuy wrote:
mkenyan wrote:
Boy likely suffers from a learning disability like Richard Branson but very gifted in hands on stuff. What he needs is funding, not books and teachers.

funding to do what? to generate more village electricity? when i was in primary school, i read some books and made biogas and electricity from a pit latrine. also made turpentine from waste plastic. other kids i knew also did stuff like that - and even more. and we were not geniuses or anything - that i believe is something kids do all over the world growing up. some wazuans are too easily impressed or had unimaginative childhood.

Ditto.
Peace be with you
#22 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 3:09:37 PM

I missed the story; is it on youtube? RINK Please
Mtu Biz
#23 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 3:27:11 PM

mkenyan wrote:
At least the parents of the young man do not pay for electricity unlike all Wazuans with all their As.

and he may yet burn their house if he fools around with electricity then he can 'invent' a house for them.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Sola Scriptura

#24 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 3:29:47 PM

OK; a little Googling yielded: http://www.ntv.co.ke/new...ectricity-for-his-home/

Listening to his teacher, it easy to establish why he has been scoring poorly in exams: BAD TEACHING!!! Get him some good teachers and he'll shoot to grade A

He is 21 and in form 4. His age mates are in 2nd and 3rd year of college. What happened? Why did he lag so far behind? Especially if he could raise the 60k investment to build the generation system.

My assessment: what he has is not innovation, but determination.

Innovation will get you nowhere; determination is what moves the world.
#25 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 3:32:58 PM

mukiha wrote:
OK; a little Googling yielded: http://www.ntv.co.ke/new...ectricity-for-his-home/

Listening to his teacher, it easy to establish why he has been scoring poorly in exams: BAD TEACHING!!! Get him some good teachers and he'll shoot to grade A

He is 21 and in form 4. His age mates are in 2nd and 3rd year of college. What happened? Why did he lag so far behind? Especially if he could raise the 60k investment to build the generation system.

Those two attributes, you can't take one from the other!!!
#26 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 3:37:16 PM

InnovateGuy wrote:
mkenyan wrote:
Boy likely suffers from a learning disability like Richard Branson but very gifted in hands on stuff. What he needs is funding, not books and teachers.

funding to do what? to generate more village electricity? when i was in primary school, i read some books and made biogas and electricity from a pit latrine. also made turpentine from waste plastic. other kids i knew also did stuff like that - and even more. and we were not geniuses or anything - that i believe is something kids do all over the world growing up. some wazuans are too easily impressed or had unimaginative childhood.

The boy obviously has an aptitude for understanding things mechanical and electrical. All good ideas need to be marketed and monetized for them to be of any value. Where would microsoft, google, apple and facebook be if investors did not throw money at seemingly non-starter projects? What would have happened to prodigous talent like Whitney Houston, Michael Jackson, Tiger Woods, the Williams sisters and Lewis Hamilton if their parents told them "You are wasting your time, we already have singers, golfers, tennis players and motorists, and they are white folk".

Truth be told, not many of our electrical engineering graduates can come up with such a project.
#27 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 3:47:54 PM

mukiha wrote:

Yes you can! This boy is a good example.

He did not innovate anything: dynamos have been around for over 100 years!

Micro-hydros have been in Murang'a district [county] for about a decade now - this is not the first one!!

And look at what he is using: an old working generator.

So, in short - he has not innovated anything!

What he has is the determination to build the contraption! Many of his class mates [if not all] can build something similar, but on he has the determination to actually do it.

#28 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 3:51:19 PM

And by the way; let's stop calling this MAN a boy. A 21-year-old is surely not a boy, even if he is still in school. I never heard anyone call Kimani Maruge a boy!
#29 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 3:57:03 PM

This young man has indeed generated electricity. Imagine the total 'electricity' he has generated upto our nerve cells.

I hope we'll all keep off and let him grow without contamination.
#30 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 4:07:21 PM

mukiha wrote:

Micro-hydros have been in Murang'a district [county] for about a decade now - this is not the first one!!

What he has is the determination to build the contraption! Many of his class mates [if not all] can build something similar, but on he has the determination to actually do it.

My problem is when you say that INNOVATION will get you NOWHERE....that is surely not true!!!
sitaki.kujulikana
#31 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 4:17:01 PM

mkenyan wrote:
At least the parents of the young man do not pay for electricity unlike all Wazuans with all their As.

and he may yet burn their house if he fools around with electricity then he can 'invent' a house for them.

too much negativity
#32 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 4:32:49 PM

mukiha wrote:

My problem is when you say that INNOVATION will get you NOWHERE....that is surely not true!!!

I doubt whether an innovation can come without determination.

And 'nowhere' may yet make a better ending than 'somewhere'.

There's also initiative. The whole set of virtue that one can imagine.

Then I wonder, are we this hungry for the sensational? We seem to be a bored nation.

#33 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 4:37:21 PM

Good Pple, Generating electric current is no news. We do it all the time whether walking, landing, farting etc. The issue is how to commercialize it and distribute to the market. Ever wondered why we pay for water yet 2/3rd of the earth is covered with free water? Its free at source but a premium at your door coz someone had to get it there.
#34 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 5:24:27 PM

mukiha wrote:
And by the way; let's stop calling this MAN a boy. A 21-year-old is surely not a boy, even if he is still in school. I never heard anyone call Kimani Maruge a boy!

Any other heading would have been 'University Student generates electricity by....bla bla bla'

Then start with.. A 21 year old student of...

but "A Boy in Murang'a generates electricity" Only for the boy to turn out to be 21 and in highschool...

I even thought he does it like the coasterian, only his maajabu is beneficial because the community can tap electricity out of it.
Kumbe.....

Hii ni news item ya K24?
#35 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 5:36:03 PM

mukiha wrote:

Any other heading would have been 'University Student generates electricity by....bla bla bla'

Then start with.. A 21 year old student of...

but "A Boy in Murang'a generates electricity" Only for the boy to turn out to be 21 and in highschool...

I even thought he does it like the coasterian, only his maajabu is beneficial because the community can tap electricity out of it.
Kumbe.....

Hii ni news item ya K24?

The sensation stripped.........debunked!!!
#36 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 5:50:18 PM

boy, man - a high school student put up a contraption to get some electricity to his home from a river, its not about debunking or sensationalism - he did something that was noticed by the media and they highlighted the same.

just look at it from a positive side, he did something not just about anyone can do - kudos to him for that.
danas10
#37 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 6:18:41 PM

mukiha wrote:

I doubt whether an innovation can come without determination.

And 'nowhere' may yet make a better ending than 'somewhere'.

There's also initiative. The whole set of virtue that one can imagine.

Then I wonder, are we this hungry for the sensational? We seem to be a bored nation.

Everybody/everything gets boring at some point...after some time tutarudi to the exciting path.

na usianze kuchambua akili yangu...it's rather bored right now smile